We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pompaii Pizzeria

Pompaii Pizzeria
315 Jackson Ave Nw, Elk River, MN 55330
763 633 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Elk River
Restaurant details
Monticello, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Sampled this at Rotary function and tried Pompeii there. Decided to try it and were not disappointed. We had generic pizzas (picky kids) but am guessing the specialty pizza are the way to go. Chopped salad was great, we split a small and that was perfect. Quaint atmosphere, decent service, really good food. Worth a try if you are in the area and want a nice quiet dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great pizzeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a great little place. Everything from classic style pizza ingredients to eccentric options and combination created by the owner himself. The mozzarella cheese is made fresh every day which gets placed on top of the perfect sauces and crust. To complement dinner you can choose from micro brew beers or a nice little collection of great wines. Definitely worth checking out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Pizza Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pompeii Pizza is a cute little restaurant in Elk River, MN. You are going to pay more than you would at your pizza chain restaurants, but you know all of the ingredients are fresh and the pizza is delicious! They have great salads too! This would be a great stop on date night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Missed an exit and found true Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We missed our exit and the girls heard us say pizza so we were stuck. This place was a fabulous find. The cheese pizza was great for the girls and the homemade mozzarella caprese was outstanding. I highly recommend this little gem. So must a lot of the locals because it was hoping on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Little Find in Elk River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were going to an outdoor concert on the banks of Elk River and were a bit pressed for time however the service was fantastic and wait until you try their extensive options with make your own options as well. I had the fresh chard with a delicate white sauce and a beautiful presentation. I had a glass of cupcake moscato ( I believe the brand was cupcake?) it was perfect. Only wish we had more time however we will definitely be back. I disagree with the review that it was a tad spendy as you are getting fresh and unique options so not fair to compare to a Pizza Hut or chain eatery. I loved the review regarding buying handmade mozzerella and then a loaf of bread from Diamond Bakery. Will have to do that soon as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompaii Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Pompaii Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompaii Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.