We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun Package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9200 Quaday Ave. NE, Elk River, MN 55330   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elk River
Grey Eagle, Minnesota
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun Package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We though it would be fun to take our 4 young grandchildren to a water park we had not been to yet. We took their "Family Fun Package" and stayed two days. Included in the package was a two room mini suite that all six of us were very comfortable in. Also, 4 water park passes, pizza, pitcher of pop for each day and game room tokens. This hotel is super clean and an equally clean and fun water park. Lots to do for all ages. Inside the park the snack bar has lots to choose from wine. dip n' dots, smoothies etc. We ate the pizzas poolside. The lifeguards were attentive which we appreciated and life jackets were also provided if you wanted one. The only restaurant attached to the hotel was more for adults but the kids did just fine--the kids under 12 eat free--a great plus for our family. They offer very good food and a wonderful waite staff. All smiled and really wanted you to have an enjoyable dining experience.

Room Tip: The elevator is always busy. So with kids we requested the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear minneapol,

Thank you very much for your awesome review of our facilities! The pictures you posted are great also. I will be sure to share your comments with the team so that they can see that their tremendous efforts are appreciated.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
108
9
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I took our three kids here for a fun weekend. Our kids are 7,4, and 1. Holiday inn was accommodating and helpful. We needed a crib and while we couldn't reserve one, they did have one for us. The water park is of course a huge hit with the kids. I have stayed at many many holiday inns and for some reason the workout equipment is always really sub par. I understand that they are more of a family place to stay. But it is always frustrating when the equipment doesn't even function right. The treadmill howled loudly and didn't work on incline. So that was frustrating. Also the buffet for breakfast which clearly started at 7:00 am apparently doesn't actually start until 7:30-8:00. So little things like that make this only 4 stars. But all in all if you want a family friendly place to spend a weekend and let the kids burn off some energy, this is a great place to go!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Jnewton31,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, I am happy to see that your visit was enjoyable for the family. I will share your feedback with our maintenance and F&B teams to be sure they correct the fitness equipment and make sure the food service is ready as promised. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Thank you again,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for my daughters birthday and held her birthday party at the Wild Woods Water park. The birthday package was great! The pizza was surprisingly good, the hostess was very attentive and came by often to ensure we had everything we needed. We had the party area for 2 hours, and they advised us right away to locate a table outside of the party area, so when we had to move we could just transition smoothly. This was very helpful as the place was busy. They provided towels for everyone and the change rooms had lockers in them. They waterpark was great. Smaller than Waterpark of America, but easier to keep track of the kids here. The hotel staff were kind and asked often if we had everything we needed. We would stay here again with the kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We_Visit,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at the hotel and waterpark, our team really appreciates to hear that their excellent customer service skills are noticed by our guests!

I will make sure to share your comments with the team, and we look forward to serving you again.

Thank you,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My two sons and I stayed one night. It was pretty expensive for one night, but it included four water park passes and a free pizza. They loved the waterpark, but the breakfast was terrible. All the food was cold and my son almost ate a moldy donut. We will stay there again but we won't eat there.

Room Tip: 3rd floor parking lot rooms are noisy....bar across the street has loud outdoor music....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Smrathman,

I am happy to see that your family enjoyed the hotel and water park. I will speak with our F&B team to discuss your breakfast comments. I am surprised by the issue with the donut as those are delivered fresh each week.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Been here probably 25 times and still go back! The room was comfy but the bathroom could've been cleaned a little better. Water park was fun, my kids always have a blast! The food was great, sometimes it's a hit or miss but this time it was a hit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
G U,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks about your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate your continued patronage at the hotel and water park.

Hope to see you again soon!

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Waterpark over crowded with no where to sit at 4:30pm!! There was a wedding reception and it was VERY LOUD AT 11pm and we were on the 3rd floor and could hear it! Water park water cold with no where for kids to warm up - not allowed in a "kid friendly" hot tub as there was only an adult one. Rules not enforced by lifeguards- nerving. Surprised no continental breakfast :(.
Holiday inn corporate should be ashamed of this location

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Justash,

I would like to apologize for your experience at the Holiday Inn and Wild Woods Water Park this past weekend. We strive to make all of our guest's experience a positive one. I will check with our maintenance team to see if we had an issue with the water temp in the water park as this the first I have heard of the issue.

We appreciate your feedback.

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

If you expect to sleep while here, you must insist on a room as far away from the parking lot as possible if you're here during temperate weather (probably not a problem in the winter). The restaurant across the parking lot has a license to play loud music until midnight, any night they choose. The hotel has not been successful in their complaints to the city. Setting aside the issue of noisy rooms if one is on the parking lot side, in general it's a nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are huge. Families come here to enjoy the attached water park and kids under 12 eat free off the kids menu.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPike, Manager at Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you of your wonderful comments regarding our great, friendly staff, and large, comfortable rooms. Our staff strives to make each guest comfortable while visiting with us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the entertainment across the lot. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the events they hold, but not for a lack of trying.

Thank you again,

Greg Pike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River

Address: 9200 Quaday Ave. NE, Elk River, MN 55330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Elk River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elk River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Wild Woods Waterpark Hotel. Home of one of the largest Indoor Water parks in Minnesota! Our full-service hotel is a new facility located minutes from Graco, Great River Energy, Albertville Premium Outlets, Lowes, Cabelas, Cargill, Siemens, Sci-med and Ramsey Industrial Park. Our guest rooms are well-outfitted for the traveling executive, including a spacious and well-lit work area, and Corporate QUIET Floor. Our on site lounge and restaurant, the Mississippi Valley Grill and Bar, is a great place to relax and enjoy dinner in a Northwoods atmosphere. In-room dining is available 7 days a week. The waterpark takes you back to the River Town of old. With three water slides, a lazy river, basketball water court and a child's play area, there is fun and variety for all ages. The waterpark is open daily in SUMMER. WATER PARK HOURS: SEPTEMBER through MAY: Mon. Closed, Tues. Closed, Wed. Closed, Thursday 4pm-9pm, Fri. 4pm-10pm, Sat. 8am-10pm, Sun. 8am-9pm. Call for availability we are open for some school vacations! The conference/ meeting area features 7 breakout rooms with multiple room combinations and up to 120 people for general sessions, parties and/ or receptions. Our constant caring team is empowered and dedicated to providing you with a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Nw-Elk River Hotel Elk River
Holiday Inn Otsego Mn
Otsego Water Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Minneapolis NW-Elk River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.