We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual French in Edina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salut Bar Americain

Salut Bar Americain
5034 France Ave S, Edina, MN 55410
(952) 929-3764
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Salut Bar Americain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 70 Restaurants in Edina
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: French, American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Easy access via the main bus line off of 50th and France.
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Casual French in Edina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a friendly restaurant with simple, great French food affordably priced. On a nice day, you can dine outside. Servers are attentive and helpful. They have a fun cocktail that bubbles! They offer Julie Child specials and daily specials that are predictable and tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    27
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crosslake
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a very nice dinner with my family here. Service was excellent, food was very good, lots of interesting choices. We shared and tried a lot of the dishes and everyone like what they ordered. My husband & I shared the lamb stew and the mussels, my daughters had a burger and the rabbit, and son & wife had the duck and the wedge salad with steak. It was all good, of course, we had to have the french fries with bernaise for the table. That's the best part!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for mid-afternoon lunch based partially on Tripadvisor ratings. Good choice!!! They had a special of the day menu called "le deal" and it really was. Included acup of soup (beer cheese) or small salad, turkey BLT on a croissant or omelet, and fruit or ice cream for dessert. The food was excellent as was the service and decor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing french food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner there on Monday. No wait but I hear you need reservations on the weekend. Food was fresh. $10 bottles of wine offered on Monday night. I had a brie appetizer, salut salad (kind of small), and beef tenderloin that came with enough mashed potatoes to feed a family. Yum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“: (”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had brunch there today. Oeufs ragout was old, reheated, and just no good. And they owe me 15 cents - the sort of place that does not give one's change back, rounding in their favor. Will not return on account (pun intended) of both issues. I tried to email them to settle privately, but there is not contact email address on their website, so here I am.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salut Bar Americain also viewed

 

Been to Salut Bar Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salut Bar Americain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.