We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Westin experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Edina Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Edina Galleria to your Saves list
The Westin Edina Galleria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3201 Galleria, Edina, MN 55435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Edina
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed a couple nights in this property during a bitter cold week after an exceptionally stressful week. Fortunately we checked into this Westin and we started to almost immediately relax. The bellman immediately helped us with our bags and the check-in desk was welcoming.

We learned that the hotel is about five years old so the room was quite modern and comfortable. The bathroom had an oversized walk-in shower and a separate tub. The bed was a classic Heavenly bed and we slept well. The enormous windows allowed plenty of light into the room during the day.

The heated indoor pool and exercise facilities were fantastic - stocked appropriately with dry towels, cold towels, water, fruit and headphones.

The hotel itself has no restaurant but across the lobby from the check-in desk is the restaurant - McCormick & Schmick’s. Primarily an upscale seafood and steakhouse, M&S does have other options for food and apparently had a brunch menu. But one of the great features of this property is that it has a climate-controlled underground tunnel to the Galleria - an enclosed series of high-end stores across the street. Galleria has some additional food options as well and no need to brave the weather elements.

Additionally in terms of location, the hotel is barely 15 min from the airport, barely 10 min from the Mall of America, maybe 10 min to the southwest Minneapolis suburbs and maybe about 15 min to downtown Minneapolis.

Overall, the service was excellent and the people really seemed to care about our experience. I would highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
bt_mpls_traveler -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the property. I'm glad you chose our hotel to escape from a cold winter weekend - it seems like we had everything you needed.

I hope you come back again soon.

Stay well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    59
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
70
73
14
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The staff was terrific all over the hotel, from the front desk to club lounge. We were immediately and politely greeted at the front desk. The lounge staff for breakfast was incredibly attentive and helpful.

The both the room and the overall building were clean and well maintained. Whatever fragrance they are using as an air freshener smells great. I looked around the workout/pool area of the hotel, but did not use the facilities. The fitness equipment was plentiful and top of the line. From the appearance of the setup, it was well designed facility.

The continental breakfast in the lounge was great. There was something for everyone and the food was delicious and plentiful.

Looking forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
The_Macallan -

I appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay with us, especially those regarding our associates.

I sincerely hope you'll be back for a visit again soon.

Stay well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent a night here between a hockey tournament and an extended stay downtown. The hotel was very nice, the staff pleasant. Rooms are clean and quiet and after having to "suit up" to trek out in the cold it was lovely to be able to walk from the hotel to the shopping center, with several super restaurants, to shop and eat. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
qsmamo -

I glad we were able to provide a wonderful and restful experience for you during your recent stay. I hope you'll have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Stay well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had heard the Westin was a very nice hotel, so I decided to use one of my reward nights to stay here. I was not disappointed. Check in was a little rushed and not friendly feeling. But the room was excellent. Had a make up mirror, deep tub, instant hot soft water, huge shower head and carpet felt clean. We ate at the hotel restaurant, McCormick and Schmicks, the food was very good and atmosphere relaxing. Shopping center is across the street. Beautiful park with ice skating is in walking distance. Valet was the friendliest staff person I encountered in the hotel, but you didn't see a lot of staff. They charge for internet in the rooms, why not include it in the room rate. I would definitely stay there again.

Green Features: It is great they are recycling and saving energy how ever they can, we do it at home.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
perkiegirl -

Thank you for the recommendation that you would definitely stay with us again - it's very much appreciated. I glad to see that there so many things that you enjoyed while at the hotel, including our restaurant McCormick & Schmick's.

I am sorry you felt rushed at check in. While many guest prefer to get in and to their room as quickly as possible, we should be able to tell if a guest prefers more leisurely check in experience.

I hope you'll be back again soon.

Stay well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here overnight on business, best summary is that if I have to go to the area again, I'll stay here.

Notes:
-Very clean hotel, the lobby is very inviting. Staff greets you and check-in is quick.
-McCormick and Schmick's in the lobby, and wasn't overly crowded (though was there on a Monday night)
-Rooms were clean, though felt a little old
-Location is next door to a large mall, could walk to a few different restaurants and a movie theatre
-Executive lounge was small and limited with breakfast selection, but they have one which is nice
-Gym was pretty small for a Westin though it was clean and the equipment was new and in good shape

I was there with a colleague who is very picky and has been known to change hotel mid-trip, and she liked it and said she'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Scott G -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay - it's very much appreciated. I'm glad you and your colleague would come back again when back in the area for business. We look forward to it.

Be well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We always enjoy our stay at the Westin--the only negative thing i can say is that it does not have in room wi-fi which is annoying--you have to go to the Lobby to get it. But, the room is very good--bed is excellent and i always feel like i am staying in a clean and safe environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
libbie5 -

Welcome back to the hotel. Though we do not offer complimentary Wi-Fi during the week, I'm glad that found the bed very comfortable and the hotel clean and safe.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Stay well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Westin Edina Galleria is a very clean hotel with all the amenities you would expect from Westin. McCormick and Schmick restaurant is attached. The hotel is also attached to the Galleria mall by enclosed tunnel.Across the street is the Southdale Mall. 15 minutes from the airport and Mall of America. I highly recommend this very comfortable property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at The Westin Edina Galleria, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
ifly737 -

It was great to have you stay with us again. It seems like we have everything you need to make your trips to the area enjoyable.

Come back and see us again soon.

Stay well.

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Edina Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edina Galleria

Address: 3201 Galleria, Edina, MN 55435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Edina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Edina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edina Galleria 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Galleria shopping center in Edina, The Westin Edina Galleria offers easy access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment options throughout the Twin Cities. It has all the amenities that today's travelers demand and boasts 9000 square feet of meeting and event space.AwardsAAA Travel Four Diamond Award 2009 - 13 Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide - Westin - Outstanding Guest Experience Index 2010 - 12 Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide - Westin - Outstanding Meeting Planner Satisfaction Index 2012 Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide - North America - Sales Team of the Year 2012 MN Sun Newspapers Reader's Choice Awards - Best Hotel 2012 Mpls St Paul Magazine - The Great Minnesota Bucket List 2012 TripAdvisor - Certificate of Excellence 2012 - 13 Minnesota Lodging Association - Property Of The Year 2012 U.S. News and World Report Best Hotels Ranking 2012 - 13 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Edina Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edina Galleria Hotel Edina
Westin Edina Galleria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Edina Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.