We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis to your Saves list
Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Flying Cloud Drive, Eden Prairie, MN 55344 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis SW - Eden Prairie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Eden Prairie
Freeport, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Easy check-in. Clean, updated rooms. Good location although access from I-494 can be a bit confusing. Pleasant and accomodating staff. Excellent hot or cold breakfast. Fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, omlettes, French toast sticks, juices, cereal, pastries, good coffee and the breakfast area is staffed very well. Overflow seating for breakfast is available. Wi-fi was dependable. I found the bed to be very comfortable and the room amenities were very good. I especially like the CV1 single cup coffee makers in the rooms. Overall, a very good to excellent value.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    89
    43
    7
    7
See reviews for
75
41
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gonic, NH
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The weekend rate was $75.00 and I found the accommodations to be pretty standard Hampton Inn. There is no pool, but a lot of the Hampton Inns do not have them in the Northern half of the country. I had a room with a King bed, the space appeared to be about 315 to 340 sq. ft. including the bathroom, which also seemed standard. The furniture is large with a stand-up wooden closet, 3 drawer chest and another table next to that. There were two night stands and a comfortable easy chair with ottoman. The desk by the window was large enough to get some work done. The bed was great, I feel asleep in the middle of the Nationwide race, just because it was so comfortable. The room had plenty of space for 1-2 people.

The hotel itself appeared to be sold out and based on the number of people exiting the rooms on this weekend stay it does not appear the occupancy per room is strictly enforced. The breakfast area was chaotic and the two servers were having a hard time keeping up. That said there was yogurt, bananas, apples, oranges, scrambled eggs and Canadian bacon, 3-4 juices including cranberry, hard boiled eggs, bread for toast, pastries and probably other things I did not see due to the volume of people and the inefficient set up to the presentation. This location did have all the proper serving utensils but people still pick things up and then put them down. If you pick up a piece of bread for toast with your bare hands, don't look at it and then put it back in the display. Same thing with Canadian bacon, use the tongs. If someone is using the tongs, wait your turn and use the correct utensil. I don't know if it regional, but I have seen this behavior in Northern Illinois, Iowa and Minnesota several times on this work trip.
I was greeted cheerfully when I arrived, I received a call about 15 minutes after I had been in the room to check on it's quality. I am a Hilton Hhonors member and there was a bottle of water and candy bar in my room. My Hilton status was never mentioned, but as longs as I get credit for my stay I am happy.
I only used the elevator once, but it did appear to be going slow. The people on the second floor were still waiting for all their party to get to breakfast in the time that I walked down stairs, got my eggs, bacon, banana, coffee, juice, napkins and utensils and walked back up stairs with my tray.
Based on this stay I would return here again, there were no smells in the rooms or the halls. The room was neat, clean and sufficient for my use. I got a great night of sleep and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was pleasant and the two breakfast attendants were doing their best to keep up with the large volume of families in attendance for breakfast. Some kids were racing the halls, but kids are kids, it was the weekend and all hall noise was gone by 7:30-8:00 PM.

Room Tip: I slept with the air conditioning on and heard no noise during the night. There did not seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ask for an odd numbered room to avoid highway noise. Rooms are cramped but functional and clean. Linens are breathable. Hotel needs updating but pricing is below newer places in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Disappointed that this hotel did not have a pool. Room was very small and little room around a king sized bed.

Room Tip: Better hotels across the highway for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climax
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Fantastic staff and impressive customer service. Great breakfast/coffee/light meal bar. Clean and quiet. Shuttle service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I've been a constant business traveler for over 15 years now and this hotel had a level of customer service that I have never experienced before.

On a recent trip to MN, we got hit by a snow and ice storm. I got up extra early that day, expecting to have to scrape ice and a layer of snow off my car. Instead, I found that the hotel staff had cleaned the snow and ice off my car for me! I have never experienced that! Kudos ti the staff at the Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

For a short stay and if your business/pleasure is nearby, this conveniently-located Hampton Inn is an adequate property that will provide a clean room, comfortable bed, hot shower, and free breakfast, at a competitive price for the area. For a longer stay or for repeated stays, this property's shortcomings will quickly become apparent and you'll be inclined to seek superior accommodations (at similar price points) nearby/elsewhere.

Pros:

(1) Friendly and accommodating management and staff who really do work hard to meet guests' requirements, within the constraints of an aging property with aging infrastructure

--> (a) Freshly baked cookies each evening during the workweek, and a manager’s reception (free food provided by a local restaurant) in the lobby every Wednesday evening

(2) Convenient location and competitive price point

(3) Now-Hampton-standard upgraded beds, pillows, and always-fresh bedding

(4) Updated room ventilation systems with thermostat control; 4-season comfort (I’ve stayed here during all 4 seasons)

(5) Attentive breakfast attendant during Mon-Fri workweek; items are always well-stocked and replenished, starting on time at 6AM

(6) Meets expectations for Hampton Inn properties

Cons:

(1) Property is old and dated, which results in…

--> (a) Outdated floor plan, causing “noisy areas” at various points in the narrow hallways on each floor (near lobby, vending, elevator, and fitness room)

--> (b) Fitness room is merely a converted guest room, with aging equipment

--> (c) The slowest elevator in any building, hotel or otherwise, in the United States (I wish I were kidding)

--> (d) Cramped rooms with less-than-optimal furniture layouts, worn furnishings and fixtures, and small bathrooms; what they call (and charge extra for) a “study” is really the same size as other rooms but with just a fold-out sofa added

--> (e) Plumbing problems in many of the rooms

--> (f) Not enough prep space in the common breakfast area (the attendant’s “kitchen” appears to be a converted storage closet) for some items found at other Hampton properties, and also no microwave available for a guest to use in the breakfast area to heat up food a little more, except in the attendant’s kitchen/closet

(2) Fridges and microwaves for guest rooms are limited to a request basis only, and those on hand are old and sometimes faulty

(3) Unreliable wireless Internet during high-occupancy evening periods during the workweek (this is a recent development; the wireless used to be much more reliable at all times day and night, until a recent “upgrade”)

(4) When the excellent Mon-Fri workweek breakfast attendant is not on duty (weekends, or when she’s on vacation), breakfast is often late, sometimes served cold, and the substitute attendant(s) usually only speak limited English and so it’s hard to make requests or ask for correction of issues

I believe that the basic problem with this Hampton Inn is that it’s just an old and dated property and so there’s only so much that the well-meaning management team can do with it short of gutting the whole place and starting over, combined with the owner/franchisee presumably making a business decision to “coast” on the fact that it’s in such a convenient location and popular brand name that it maintains a high nightly booking percentage (at least on weeknights, and weekends when there are often group bookings), and so does “just enough” good things (see “pros” paragraph above) to keep things moving forward.

Room Tip: AVOID any rooms in the center of the hallway corridors(roughly rooms X18-X25)....they are near the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis

Address: 7740 Flying Cloud Drive, Eden Prairie, MN 55344 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis SW - Eden Prairie)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Eden Prairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Eden Prairie
#5 Family Hotel in Eden Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in the Baymont Inn Eden Prairie. Our hotel features king & two double bedded rooms that are appealing to business and leisure travelers alike. We are centrally located about 15 miles from downtown Minneapolis, Mall of America, Valleyfair Amusement Park, the Minnesota Renaissance Festival and Mystic Lake Casino. A complimentary breakfast featuring make-your-own waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, fresh fruit and more is served in the Breakfast Corner(R) daily from 6am-9am. Our fresh brewed coffee, tea service and fruit are available around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis Sw - Eden Prairie Hotel Eden Prairie
Hampton Inn Eden Prairie
Eden Prairie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Eden Prairie/Minneapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.