We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mackerel doesn't disappoint.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki Sushi - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kabuki Sushi
6534 Flying Cloud Dr, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-3309
(952) 941-5115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
North Branch, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The mackerel doesn't disappoint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I've only been in the sushi game for about a year now. Of my sushi experiences, which now number over ten, this is number two. The sushi chef that was working on a Monday night was an excellent artist and cook. We shared a combo platter and used a Restaurant.com cert. The Spanish mackerel is something to write home about. Lemme tell you, delish in so many ways. We also tried monkfish liver, which was a decadent treat and delicious beyond comparison. Tuna belly was excellent. Unagi reliable. Scallops smooth and delish. The chef makes a jalapeno ponzu which is wonderful. He also topped several nigiri with a red radish topping...love it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh So Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I had just returned from a business trip in Seoul where I experienced my first Korean food. I was hooked, but leery of a Korean restaurant in and Eden Prairie warehouse building. The chef is actually FROM Korea and the food is amazing. I've already been twice and am going again today for lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

You always know what to expect when you go Kabuki: decent sushi at a decent price. I have been going to Kabuki for about 10 years and when I want good sushi without paying crazy high prices Kabuki is always the place I turn to.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
674 reviews 674 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
740 helpful votes 740 helpful votes
“Very good food - wide selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Over the years, when I am in town for business, I always make it a point to stop by the Kabuki.

The sushi bar room allows you to both sit and watch them prepare the various sushi, negiri, and sashimi dishes or just sit at a nearby table.

They have teppanyaki if you like that food style.

In another room, you can sit down on the floor at tables with wells underneath them.

They have recently added Korean food options as well.

I have never been dissapointed with the food and or service there. It has always been reliable for me. I find their prices to be reasonable compared to other Japanese style restaurants in the area.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“If you are willing to drive a little further, go somewhere else.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I ate here because we had a gift certificate. We sat at the sushi bar and did not receive adequate service. The staff seemed to not care about being there. The sushi was not great. There were many regulars in the restaurant, likely who live nearby, so people do like the restaurant, but we will not be back.

Other sushi suggestions: Kona Grill (Eden Prairie), 98 Pounds (Bloomington), Fjui-Ya (Uptown, Minneapolis), Seven Sushi (Minneapolis)

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki Sushi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.