We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Greek Food, but $$$” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santorini Taverna & Grill - CLOSED

Santorini Taverna & Grill
13000 Technology Dr, Eden Prairie, MN 55344-3606
952-546-6722
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Prairie Center Drive
Transit: Located near the Southwest Tansit facility in Eden Prairie.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Greek Food, but $$$”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Santorini is a restaurant that I really wanted to be a regular and loyal customer to. The food is good and sometimes very good, however the service is spotty, and the prices are... wow! I have no problem spending money, a lot of money, on a great meal, but $35 for 2 small lamb chops, when I can get a rack of lamb at another wonderful greek restaurant around town for less, is rather silly. The chops were good, but not necessarily great (I was hoping). A gyro sandwich with sparse meat was $11 for my young son, who was still hungry and we had to get another one. Kids meal... yummm

Its okay, and perhaps will find its loyal base, as it seems to be doing, but there is better food, with more consistent service at better prices not too far away...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    40
    20
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOR LARGE PARTIES/EVENTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Work party with 18 guests and the service and food could not have been any better! Started at the bar where they were more than happy to group tables together to accomodate us. Had a spectacular table for dinner in a more private area. They put together a family-dining menu that exceeded our expectations. Each dish they brought out was better than the next and the entire group was commenting how amazing the food was. Equally as impressive was the service! With a large group sometimes service can be slow - not here! No one waited for drinks, the different dishes were timed perfectly and everyone we encountered was so friendly. For the amount of food we enjoyed and the cocktails the bill was very, very reasonable. Have your next party/event at Santorini's and you can be assured no one will be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average food in a mall like atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Received a gift certificate for Santorini as a holiday gift. Liking Mediterranean and specifically Greek food I was looking forward to trying a new restaurant. The half hour wait to be seated was to be expected on a Friday night, but the decor of the lobby area was stale and uninviting. Once seated the atmosphere felt a bit more like a hotel lobby.

As for the food, we had a Saganaki (Opa!) and Pastitsio appetizer, both of which were edible, but not remarkable. The lamb shank I ordered was tender and flavorful, the best choice we made. The lamb chops my wife ordered were fair, but a little on the tuff side and seemed to lack flavor. For dessert the Galaktabouriko (phyllo dough with custard filling) special was horrible...the custard had the texture of dough and had a unexpected flavor. Even our kids turned down a second bite. The kids cheese cake was grocery store-ish, edible but not good.

Luckily we used up the gift certificate as I don't expect we'll try it again. There are definitely better Greek restaurants in the cities...Christo's or Gardens of Salonica are two better choices, but require a trip into Minneapolis (Christo's also has a St Paul location).

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went here for 1 hour lunch. Used a groupon $15 for $30 worth of food. Got 3 appetizers for 2 of us. Didn't have everything that was on the menu but what they had was good and came fast. We have decided that we will make more of an effort to come here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Very nice even if a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The whole evening was fun. I liked the decorating of the restaurant and the staff was very attentive. We had a flaming cheese appetizer that was fun and delicious! The walleye was very good and so was the lobster ravioli. I would go back for a special occasion, but it was a little too expensive for me to frequent this restaurant. I also liked that there was a band playing in the bar. No room for us to sit there after our dinner though. They could use more space there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santorini Taverna & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santorini Taverna & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.