We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to rest our tired bones” 3 of 5 stars
Review of East Grand Inn

Save Saved
You added East Grand Inn to your Saves list
East Grand Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
East Grand Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   606 Gateway Drive NE, East Grand Forks, MN 56721   |  
Hotel amenities
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A place to rest our tired bones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I'm really confused as to all the negative comments. We didn't find the accommodations that bad. We stayed during the first week of Dec. 2012. Our room came with a king size bed, a fridge and enough room to stretch a bit. The bed only had three pillows, but it was no problem asking for another pillow. Everything was clean in the room. The hotel rooms were divided with more than half of the hotel being non-smoking. The smoking rooms were separate and located at the back of the hotel. We are smokers so this hotel was perfect, now that North Dakota has banned smoking in all hotel rooms.The hotel is actually located in Minnesota, but all you do is cross over a bridge (2 minute drive) and your in Grand Forks. There were NO police or rowdy parties as other reviewers have mentioned. The rates were on par with Grand Forks hotels. This place was much SAFER than some of the accommodations we've stayed at in Grand Forks. As we have said in some of our other reviews. You get what you pay for. If your looking to find a place just to sleep, than this place is good. If your looking for hot tubs and fancy pillows etc. then why are you reading reviews of moderately priced places. Go and start searching the $100-200. rooms. I'm sure some of you that complain will also find problems with those places. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
9
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel needs a huge remodel! We stayed but we will not stay again! They fold their laundry on the couch in the lobby, the smell of the hotel is stale cigarette smoke - even in the no smoking rooms. Drape was hanging on to a bent rod that had no end, refrigerator was dirty, king size bed had 3 tiny pillows, police came looking for someone that ran out the back door, etc. etc.!

Room Tip: Keep going and stay at the Hilton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hard to say anything positive except the staff at the front desk was kind enough to give us a refund 10 mins after we checked in.if you are not abe to afford anything more than 50 per night this will do. The place smelled of old cigarette smoke. When we went into the room the first thing we sensed is the smell followed by the curtain rod dangling from the wall. noisy a/c unit which added to the ambience. If you need a roof over your head, can tolerate the smell of a old motel, and are looking for a cheap place to stay this is your place. Oh and when we checked in the sign on the door said no vacancy but that soon changed 15 mins after we arrived. There was a room available

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This Inn was clean, comfortable & reasonably priced for overnight accommodation with a pet. It's on Highway 2. The single most annoyance was the sugar beet plant (stench) to the east which is usually not an issue but one morning the winds were from the east. This is a rare event and many other motels/hotels in the area have the same problem.

Room Tip: Near the front (west end) as seasonal workers use the east end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Then the decor won't be such a big deal. This is not the Ritz. Nor is it anything like a chain bargain hotel/motel either. It's an older and somewhat tired independent hotel that looks after the basics at an almost unbelievable price. Yes, the room badly needed a coat of paint and some of the fixtures were looking tired, but the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. Unlike some bargain rooms, East Grand Inn supplied facial tissues and shampoo in the room. The room was quiet even being close to the front of the hotel near the breakfast room and front desk. It was very warm when we visited and the newer air conditioner worked wonderfully. The front desk staff were wonderful no matter what time of day you spoke to them. They were all eager to see that you had a great stay. We had no problem getting extra towels when we asked. The breakfast wasn't the best and I have had better, but here was plenty of bread, bagels and English muffins with cream cheese, peanut butter and an assortment of jams. Tea and coffee were available anytime. Of course when you remember how little you paid, you could easily afford to go out if you wanted something more substantial.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg MB
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I was late booking a room for may long. According to the web this was the only place left that had rooms. Took a chance. The room was good , a little old fashion but clean. The outlet didn't hold cords which was weird. The tv had one channel and it was baseball, the breakfast offered I never seen as it was over by 930am. For 130$ for two night for four of us was pretty good. I highly doubt I would go back I would shell out more money and have a better location to malls, tv, and pools and hot tubs.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigamme, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel rooms were clean, beds were new and very comfortable.They did lots of remodeling to this place,its very clean inside with new carpet and many extras. Rates are super cheap according to Grand Forks and East Grand Forks area. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Grand Forks or East Grand Forks. Give it a try and you will like it. Trust me

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Grand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Grand Inn

Address: 606 Gateway Drive NE, East Grand Forks, MN 56721
Location: United States > Minnesota > East Grand Forks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in East Grand Forks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — East Grand Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Breakfast, Winter Plugins, Smoking and Non-Smoking Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your East Grand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Grand Hotel East Grand Forks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Grand Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.