We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of history works quite well today” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitey's Cafe

Whitey's Cafe
121 Demers Ave, East Grand Forks, MN 56721
218-773-1831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A piece of history works quite well today”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our group of 10 was immediately seated and drinks came quickly, though the dining room was only half full on our visit. The waiter did not hesitate to steer me away from a couple of entrees that he said were not up to snuff that night, I ordered the Walleye and it was excellent, as were the ratings of the other entrees all around the table.

The atmosphere is laid back and we a leisurely evening with our waiter in no hurry to get rid of us. The old gin mill ambience, the roomy dining room and the circular bar all added up to a most pleasant evening that was totally unexpected. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grand Forks, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love Whitey's, the service is always great, the food is very good, the beer cheese soup and the mic mac and cheese do a great combination for a smaller lunch. The bar area is great for a quick lunch and the dinner great for evenings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

My sister and her husband treated my brother at lunch here yesterday. Beer cheese soup was very good, service was excellent. Clean, and comfortable and located directly across from Cabella's.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Loved it, good food, great atmosphere, servers excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Whitey's is one of those places that has a history and very interesting one at that, being started back in 1925 as a "gin joint" and illicit gambling hall, and somehow surviving Prohibition, Depression, World War II, floods and fires, to be resurrected as a modern restaurant in an "entertainment" complex. On the night we were there, just after a movie, the server/host met us at the door and immediately tried to find us a nice place to sit, either outside on the patio, in the restaurant or at the bar. The food was delicious, and even just sharing an appetizer (lots of choices, summer specials included) was enough for the two of us. The atmosphere was great, with old-fashioned tin roof overhead, the salvaged saloon bar area, and photographs documenting the storied past of the establishment. A local group was performing outside as we left, what a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good walleye, average everything else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went to this restaurant on recommendation from a former resident of Grand Forks. The walleye is what Whitey's proclaims to be its specialty so we ordered two of their variants for preparing it along with salads and an appetizer. The "ale-cheese dip" was a little more than warmed nacho cheese and chips - pretty different from the way described in the menu. The fish was fresh, hot and flavorful. The sides were cooked well and the salads were adequate for the value. There was nothing that truly stood out about the restaurant other than the fish, and it looked like the kind of place that would likely be packed with college students on weekend nights during the school year - a lot of open space for standing around and drinking. Enjoy the fish, but remain skeptical of the rest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitey's Cafe also viewed

 
East Grand Forks, MN
 

Been to Whitey's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitey's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.