We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caspers Cherokee of Eagan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caspers Cherokee of Eagan
4625 Nicols Rd, Eagan, MN 55122
(651) 454-6744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 108 Restaurants in Eagan
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The new outdoor patio, and full-service bar will be a new introduction to the Casper’s Cherokee of Eagan experience. There will be lively entertainment, featuring DJs, karaoke, bingo and trivia, all complemented by two 10’x13’ TV screens. Alternatively, right around the corner you can experience our intimate lounge area or enjoy a family meal in our fresh new dining space.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the recommendation of a friend, we decided to have our fantasy football draft at Casper's Cherokee in the "Party Barn" (bar). We didn't make a reservation - figuring there would be plenty of space somewhere in the large bar area. When we arrived, we set up in the loft area. Much to our dismay, someone came up there and said he'd reserved it for a party starting in about an hour.

No sooner had we gotten back down to the main bar when the manager asked if we'd like a private room. He found us a perfect room, brought in an extra table, and arranged to have a server take care of us. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

When we eventually ordered food, it was really good. A few people got the $5.99 burger, which was thick and grilled to order. The standard side item was Casper's different but tasty fries, but you could get a different side - including fresh fruit - for no extra charge. A couple people ordered the tenderloin. It was $30, but what a great meal. It came with fresh sauteed veggies, creamy mashed potatoes, and rich gravy. The meat was cooked perfectly and seemed a lot bigger than the 8 ounces as stated in the menu. A couple of friends got the guacamole and mango salsa with chips. They said it was very good. Finally, I got the buffalo wings. They were not "jumbo" as indicated but were super flavorful. They were rubbed with some kind of seasoning and then spun in sauce, for a more complex flavor than you usually get from wings.

The Party Barn itself is a really nice option for watching sports or playing Buzztime trivia. There's plenty of seating, many big TVs, and a good-sized patio.

We'll definitely be back, especially for our next party (with a reservation, of course).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“New Outdoor Bar & Activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The restaurant and bar has reopened since a fire destroyed part of the building. Our Saturday evening dinner with twelve family members revealed a change in the menu, and I agree with the other reviewers about a reduced menu selection. We miss the opportunity to order the smaller portion sirloin steak dinner.

Dinner specials are still offered, and this particular night it was prime rib ordered by the ounce (10 to 30 ounce portions) with ala carte sides. I ordered the prime rib with a salad and fries. The prime rib was average, the blue cheese dressing (very good) made the salad and the fries were crispy, lightly seasoned and tasty. My wife had the steak tips appetizer, which had a lot of flavor and was very tender. Others in the party ordered the walleye and prime rib dinners, as well as salad with grilled chicken and sandwiches. Hot bread is served with dinner. No complaints noted from a usually vocal group, so this is a good response. By the way, I have never been disappointed with ordering any of their sandwiches and their food and drink offerings are competitively priced. The restaurant side does need updating and perhaps this will be the next action after the balance of the building work is completed.

The new "barn" (bar) construction is not really 100% complete since there is still outstanding work in progress for the outdoor activities and a new outdoor bar. We utilized the outdoor area that was open and played several games (free to play) of Tailgate Toss, which is similar to several bean bag games. The indoor bar has new and very large projection screens, so sports lovers shouldn't miss even the smallest details not able to be seen on smaller TV screens. My mixed drinks were consistently made with a very good pour.

Rick Casper (owner) is a hands-on owner and is committed to customer satisfaction. He has a full plate at this time (no food pun intended) with repairs and we look forward to them reaching full operation again soon. And as stated by reviewer dennis_c44, the Caspers are excellent community members. One example is offering complimentary Thanksgiving dinners with all the fixings, for those in need and no one turned away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, MN
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wholesome Good Foods in Eagan, MN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It had been quite awhile since our last visit to Casper's Cherokee Sirloin Room in Eagan, MN, so we decided to try it again. Wholesome good foods and welcoming service were awaiting us. Appetizers, Burgers and Sandwiches, Salads and Soups, Breakfast and Lunch choices are all available. There is also take-out service, a full bar, and a roadhouse barn (in a separate building) on the site at 4625 Nichols Road in Eagan, MN. We happened to be there for a Sat. night dinner, and there was a Prime Rib special, which my sister and I tried. The meat was cooked to perfection, as were the sides. I had a baked potato and my sister had fries. My husband enjoyed the burger and fries he ordered too. Our waitress was attentive and friendly, even when I opted for Heinz 57 Sauce over the Au Jus that came with my 10 oz. portion of meat. Larger portions are also available for more hearty eaters. I'm told that on Wed. nights, one can get crab for $10/lb., a very reasonable price. Breakfast is served Fri, Sat. and Sun. 7 AM -2 PM, with a "Bloody Mary Bar." Lunch is 11 AM-2 PM with an express lunch for only $6.66 available during those hours. The restaurant's regular hours are 11 AM-10 PM.

The name Casper means something to us. This family of restauranteurs knows what it's doing. They have several locations around the Twin Cities, e.g. the Nook in Minneapolis and the Cherokee Sirloin Room on Smith Ave, in St. Paul-their original location, which has been open for business for many years. I'm told the Smith Ave. location has undergone rennovations, and I would like to try it next time. Parking at the Eagan location is no problem, as it has an on-site lot. Happy Hour special from 3-6 PM Mon.-Fri have a taclo bar and two-for-ones. Appetizers for $5 are available 9 PM-midnight, Sun-Thurs. and nightly drink specialsare available 9 PM -close.

My only criticism is that it's pretty dark in the restaurant. I would have loved more lights. That's a minor gripe, and the assets of this place far outweight the debits.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went to this place after we hear it burned down and reopened fairly quick. When we drive by it's always jammed pack which is usually a good sign. My first meal there was ok. Just got a burger. Burger was juicy and flavorful and the fries were good. The second time we went, we were looking forward to another great meal. The second time our waitress was in a different world. I got another burger, the Cajun Burger it was cooked to death, no cheese, and so dry. The cheesy potatoes were watery and not cooked and had no flavor at all. We also waited 45 min for our appetizer to come out almost 50 min for our main meal to come out. Seems they are lacking some consistency. I probably won't go back there. Also, they are still working on rebuilding the outdoor patio, but the parking lot is terrible. Deep pot holes and you have to walk through heavy equipment to get to the door. Very hazardous.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Remodel - What a Dissapointment!! No more crab legs! Yikes.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Food menu has changed, seem less to offer for dinner options. More burgers and pizza. Quality okay - nothing great.

After the fire and the remodel we were looking forward to a change, but right away the parking lot is inexcusable for a business. When your car hits one of the pot holes it almost feels like you're going to lose your wheels or worse. No excuse with the work done that all these years the lot has been getting worse and worse that they didn't correct this HUGE problem.

You walk in - boring entry way. No creativity - come on I have been coming to eat there for years and there is no excuse for the lack of design.

Dining area was nice that it was more open and a more modern feel to it. Air conditioning - as always - uncomfortably cold. Service was mediocre.

NO MORE CRAB LEGS - except on Wednesday nights - for 1 1/2# for $10. That doesn't seem bad but they have a typo in menu listing it as 1/2 and no one really knew if it was for sure 1/2# or 1 1/2# - poor management there.

Actually we ate dinner, and ended up heading across the street to Doolittle's. Much warmer, cozy friendly bar area.

Certainly not going back to Casper’s, which is really too bad because we have been going for years. One disappointment after another there - they really could have done better. I won't be surprised if they don't last too much longer.

Good luck - change your menu back and if you're going to remodel - do it right. Oh yeah did I forget to mention some of their decorations/art is already falling off walls - just opened last month. OMG!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caspers Cherokee of Eagan also viewed

 

Been to Caspers Cherokee of Eagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caspers Cherokee of Eagan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.