We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jensen's

Jensen's
3840 Rahn Road, Eagan, MN 55122
651-688-7969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jensen's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 108 Restaurants in Eagan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 13 & Silver Bell Rd.
Description: He Jensen family has been in the restaurant business for over 60 years. In 1947 Doron Jensen's grandfather Al and his brother Pete Jensen founded Jensen's Cafe in Fremont, Nebraska. Doron started his restaurant career working for his grandfather at the cafe. When Al died in 1979 Doron wanted to takeover Jensen's Cafe but he was too young at the time. Doron worked in the chain-restaurant business for many years, including founding a local steak house chain. He eventually grew tired of chains and wanted to start a "Local Landmark Restaurant" dedicated to his grandparents. In 1996, Jensen's Supper Club was born. Jensen's Supper Club was created with the mission that Supper Clubs belonged to the community. The 40's and 50's were the glory eras for Supper Clubs and they evoked a sense of occasion. It was a special place to celebrate with your family. In 2014, Jensen's Supper Club became Jensen's food & cocktails. The objective was to create a more casual atmosphere environment more welcoming to a broad demographic. Surrounded by new outlet shops Jensen's food & cocktails becomes the perfect pre- or post-shopping experience for lunch or dinner for anyone seeking a great meal in a casual atmosphere offered with impeccable service. Jensen's food & cocktails continues to celebrate its original mission: A place not merely to dine, but to celebrate!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Classic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always love our Jensen's visits. Awesome martinis and good steaks! The atmosphere is great and service is friendly. Worth the trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always a relaxing and enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Still one of the best places to take my clients and friends for a nice dinner, service has always been good, food is consistent, staff knows their stuff and the owners seem to be there all the time. If you enjoy the supper club feel and not the trendy open and bright feel this is your place to go.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Jensen's is a fine dining establishment, someplace you can go to celebrate as well as enjoy a fine evening out. Food is always good, I'm partial to their excellent prime rib. Service is on par with the atmosphere of the place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Old School Supper Club in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you like popovers, veggie plates with thousand island and the best steaks and sides you can imagine you will love this place. Very kitsch with GREAT cocktails !
Be ready for old school all the way

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best in Eagan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I see it's rated #8, but there's no way. It's #1. I tried to get my parents in to this restaurant on 3 different occasions, and it was impossible to get a table even days in advance. Finally succeeded in getting just my mom there and my own family, and had a great time. I have always loved their martinis, very classic and they don't skimp. Good "regular" salad with everything I want, a nice blue cheese dressing. Love all the side dishes you can order with your meal. And too many choices for entrees. Seafood or steak, I wish I had more visits to get in so I could try more of them. One knock on the place--not enough parking outside. When you can't get a table, it follows that you might not get a parking space. That happened to me. Luckily I was 15 minutes early for reservation because it took that much time to find a spot. Not really there fault, they're land-locked. Make a reservation!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jensen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jensen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.