We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Will Not Be Disappointed!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3 time TA Award Winner!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You Will Not Be Disappointed!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We read consistently fantastic reviews on this B&B. After staying for two nights this week, we can say that the reviews are 100% accurate. This is a wonderful place...and innkeepers too. We've done lots of B&Bs over the years, all over the country. The A.G. Thomson House is right at the top. Probably the best breakfasts we've ever had in a B&B....rooms that are well appointed and extremely clean....and best of all innkeepers who are wonderful people. Angie and Tim are superb hosts. As we pulled out of the driveway to go home, my wife said she would love to be friends with Angie. Too bad we live so far away. Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2009
You guys are so great!! Thank you so much; we really enjoyed our time with you and only wish it would have been a little longer. I have to agree with you; we can see being friends and Mpls is not that far away!!! (-: Give your puppy a hug for us! I'll bet you were missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
483
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

A big thank you to Tim and Angie for their hospitality during our recent anniversary trip to Duluth. The accomodations are beautiful! The hosts are incredibly gracious. I requested a specific bottle of wine to be in our room when we arrived and there it was! The breakfast will not leave you hungry! Though it was cloudy and rainy the entire time we were there, we felt as though this was our home away from home. All in all an excellent place for a well needed rest! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2009
Hi guys! Thank you so much for your kind words - it was a great pleasure meeting you and being able to provide a much needed rest. We hope to see you again when you are able to get away to visit your daughter at UMD. (All the best to her!) You will have a home away from home! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband ran the marathon in Duluth. We heard about the A.G. Thomson House from some friends who knew the owners, Tim and Angie. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, so decided to give it a try. We had a wonderful experience. Tim and Angie went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Their personal touches were what made the stay a lot of fun. The rooms were well decorated and clean. The food was wonderful! They even were up to accomodate the runners at 4:30 A.M. with a special "runners breakfast." We will definitely stay there again if we travel to Duluth.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

From the moment I initially called to book our stay to the moments before we left our memorable weekend Tim and Angie were hospitable, warm and kind. The room was beautiful, the breakfast and amenities were fantastic and the atmosphere of the home in general was exactly what we had hoped for - inviting and relaxing. As a first timer, I can safely say that my expectations for the bed and breakfast experience are now incredibly high - so much so, that I don't plan on staying at any place but the A.G. Thomson House the next time we are in Duluth!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The AG House, both the house beauty and the staff assistance, was absolutely fantastic. My girlfriend and I stayed from a Thursday evening until Sunday after breakfast and we will have a hard time finding a romantic getaway anywhere in the states. If you're looking for a nice getaway with your significant other, I cannot imagine anywhere, especially in the midwest, would provide such a wonderful experience as the AG Home. What a wonderful vacaction! If there was only 1 negative to the entire trip, it would certainly have been the fact that we had to leave and go back to the cities! What a tremendous B&B...can't imagine there being one better ANYWHERE!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Thanks you two!! We're so glad you had a great time - even without joining us for
Pizza! (-: Maybe next time!! Thanks again; we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed in Duluth to run grandmas marathon and couldn't have asked for more from this gorgeous B & B. The Lake Superior Suite was the perfect retreat after 26.2 miles! The food was wonderful and the house magnificent. Best Experience Ever! We will definitely stay again next time we are in Duluth. 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
You two are so sweet - thank you so much!! What a great group we had that weekend and some wonderful connections made. Don't forget to look up C&S in CB, Iowa! They mean it and would welcome you with open arms. Of course, we would love to welcome you back here too! We can have long conversations about your "retirement" job!!! Thanks again - hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband, mother, in-laws and I traveled to Duluth so that I could participate in Grandma’s Marathon. My mother, who has lived and travelled all over the world, arrived to the Inn before us and immediately called to raved about what a cute and perfect place it was. The rest of the family had the same reaction when they arrived. The rooms were immaculate and we couldn’t have felt more comfortable. The breakfasts served each morning were amazing. I think I would travel back there again just for the food. The owners, Angie and Tim, were as nice as could be and really made us feel welcome. They had great recommendations for things to do in Duluth, but also provided such a welcome and relaxing atmosphere that we would have been content just to stay at the Inn the entire trip. I wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else if we return to Duluth!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agt2007, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2009
Thank you so much!! It was such a treat to get to meet your family; and the amazing support they provided during your run - which was a triumph!! Great job! We hope you make it back up to Duluth - for the Marathon or just fun - we'd love to see you again! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.