We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Delivery!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomington, IN
1 review
“Wonderful stay, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon stay at the A.G. Thomson House. Tim and Angie are very nice people who treat guests with genuine friendliness and respect. As others have said, the breakfasts are to die for! The location is great -- convenient to the Canal Park area and attractions like the Glensheen Mansion. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Great breakfasts and vegetarian-friendly.
  • Disliked — No pets allowed, but understandable given the set-up.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
439
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopkins, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We recently stayed at the A.G. Thomas House Bed and Breakfast for our 35th wedding anniversary. Innkeepers Tim and Angie were wonderful. Upon contacting them to make reservations they were extremely helpful in confirming that we could use our Bed and Breakfast.com certificates. Upon arriving we were welcomed as though we were "old friends" and the entrie experience was wonderful. The room was exactly what we had expected: Spacious, decorated beautifully, clean, and with great surroundings. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite in the Carriage House. The inside of the main home was also beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. We instantly felt at home. We were welcomed by our first names and were offered assistance in anything we wanted to know about the area. They also made telephone calls for us to check on events in the area. Their breakfasts were absolutely amazing! Upon checking out, we felt we were saying goodbye to good friends and will definitely stay with them again only next time we would like to try one of the rooms in the main house for a little different experience. We can't say enough about how congenial, and gracious our hosts were.

  • Liked — The spacious room, excellent decor, cleanliness, and friendliness of the innkeepers not to mention the great food.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circle Pines, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

I would highly recommend the AG Thompson house if you are looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway. Tim and Angie are such warm, inviting people. They really make you feel like you're at home from the minute you get there. The breakfasts that Angie prepares are out of this world delicious!

  • Liked — the hospitality and food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

This was our first stay at the AG Thompson House and we had a fantastic experience! The owners (Tim & Angie) are the kind of people that are meant to run a B&B. They are extremely attentive and will go out of their way to make sure you have the best stay. Everyday Angie cooks up a multi course breakfast, which will keep you full until mid-afternoon! When we booked our trip we weren't sure what to expect, but everything during our stay was fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, quiet getaway in the Duluth area!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Thompson house for a getaway for us. It was a great classic mansion in Duluth which we were welcomed to make use of all of it. The home was up to date and very nicely decorated. Flowers, accessories and great decorating made it feel like home. Tim and Angie were like long time friends from the minute we arrived and took very good care of us. THe breakfasts were scrumptious and filling. The room had all the things we could want for some time together. A nice whirlpool, gas stove and a view of Lake Superior. THe location was very close to the main road either to the north shore or down to the canal park. We hope to stay here again and bring friends.

  • Liked — Historic beautiful home with many accomodations
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Our recent visit to the Historic A.G. Thomson House B&B in beautiful Duluth was a wonderful experience! You MUST go see for yourself! Our hosts Tim & Angie Allen were so warm, kind, helpful and fun! Their home is very cozy and beautiful. From the moment we pulled into the driveway they made us feel like longtime friends even though we had never met before! The gourmet breakfasts were fantastic and it was fun to chat with couples of all ages from different parts of the country. Our stay at this Inn was our first B&B experience and we truly enjoyed it! Tim and Angie are super great hosts and we highly recommend you take a trip to Duluth to see them!

  • Liked — The beauty of the Inn and the hospitality of the hosts.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

The A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast in Duluth, MN is a charming place to stay. The house is magnificent, the grounds are incredibly manicured, and the hosts were wonderful. Compared to other Bed and Breakfasts we've stayed at, the elegant house is extremely comfortable.

The hosts were the best and most hospitable we've ever had at a Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast was unbelievable with generous amounts of elegantly served first and second courses (plus mimosas). They also include a two hour wine gathering in the evenings.

The rooms were luxurious and comfortable. It felt like we were at a spa. We will tell our friends about the A.G. Thomson House and we'll definitely return.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A.G. Thomson House: Historic Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.