We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3 time TA Award Winner!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
484
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AV, MN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

A nice location affords peace up the hill where one may walk through blocks of impressive historic mansions and grounds to start the day, enjoy the excitements in town, and then return to a quiet porch in the evening/night. Tim and Angie were very warm and accommodating. The rooms were well appointed and restful. There are good restaurant options within walking distance. We look forward to our next visit...

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

The A. G. Thompson House is a lovely B & B, perfect for a romantic getaway from the summer heat we endure in St. Louis. We had a wonderful time, and I would highly recommend this inn to other travelers. The location in Duluth is both scenic and close to local attractions, the amenities are top notch (comfy bed, DVD player and films, spacious in-room jacuzzi tub), and the hosts (Angie and Tim) manage to be simultaneously welcoming and unobtrusive. This is one of the most delightful B & Bs at which we have ever stayed. If there is a weak point to the A.G. Thompson House it is the breakfast, which is too heavy on the sugary pastries for our taste, but is nonetheless served in a nice dining room and accompanied by plenty of good coffee and conversation. Also, don't miss relaxing or reading on the front porch or in one of the two hammocks located on the beautiful grounds; we spent some of our best time just enjoying the stunning wildflowers and observing the local wildlife, including a deer that walked right past us as we watched from the hammock. The A. G. Thompson House is a truly special find...you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Liked — Great amenities and beautiful surroundings.
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have been better and more well-rounded.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My Fiance and I went there for the weekend. It surprassed our excpectations! We love it so much! They were great, and all the guest got along so great! They made reservations for you if you didn't have any. They gave suggestions of what to see. We even forget a dress and shirt in the closet, and they were nice enough to email it back for free! The food is wonderful, and I would recommend the Lake Superior Suite, it is worth every penny!!!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNESOTA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My Husband surprised me with this great getaway for our 6th Anniversary. It was the best Anniversary we've had thus far. Everything was just perfect. Angie was an exceptional host and my Husband and I would recommend this beautiful place to anyone. We definitely plan to stay there again upon our future visits to Duluth Minnesota.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Located high on the hills of Duluth, MN, this wonderful Bed and Breakfast Inn sits surrounded by gardens and vistas of Lake Superior. When you first walk into the Inn, you immediately relax with the sense that leaving will be a difficult thing to do. All the rooms are graciously appointed with fireplaces, ( A must in a typical Duluth winter! ) whirpool tubs and luxurious bedding. As you slowly wake from your night's slumber, you can look forward to a homemade breakfast that will re-define what you think of hotel breakfasts. The Innkeepers are wonderful and truely love what they do, which is apparent in all of the touches that make this Inn more than just a place to rest. I will not hesitate to book a room here again and you shouldn't either! When it came time to check out, I went through a mini-grieving period as I knew that the fresh coffee served with your choice of Torani flavored syrups and a hot, gourmet breakfast would not be served at my house the following day. Sadly, despite all my efforts to recruit the innkeepers home with me, they declined leaving me to appreciate my stay at this beautiful historic mansion even more. I now have a place to call home in the city that serves as the gateway to the North Shore of Minnesota. Absolutely wonderful!

  • Liked — The HUGE room and the wonderful hosts!
  • Disliked — The only thing is that I couldn't move in permanently.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.