We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Angie and Tim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Delivery!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Ely, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you, Angie and Tim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

In February 2008 we chose at random the A. G. Thomson House for a mini-vacation from our cabin still farther north in Minnesota. In our travels prior to that in the United States, England and Continental Europe, Australia, and New Zealand we had enjoyed many fine B&Bs. At the A. G. Thomson House we found the most enjoyable of all.

We have returned on an average of twice yearly since 2008. The quality of our experience in 2008 was not a one-time high; it has been consistently excellent in the years since.

Although our years of distant travel are behind us, in fact, because they are behind us, it is a special joy that the best is so close at hand.

Joan and Jim Nicholas, Ely, MN

Room Tip: Although we have not stayed in the carriage house rooms, we have stayed in and enjoyed each of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
478
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Everything was wonderful! The room was spotless, I never use the tub in a hotel, but the bathroom was so clean I was able to enjoy the whirlpool tub. The breakfast was delicious and kept me full until dinner. I was so impressed with all the small things that made our stay so wonderful, like the granola bars in the movie closet for a late night snack, the wine in the fridge, all the movies to watch, the stocked coffee/tea area, the thick white towels and the black "cosmetic" towels, just to name a few. Tim and Angie have thought of everything!

Room Tip: We had the 2 room Ryerson Suite, it was so nice to have a place to relax
See more room tips
Green Features: Shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in a wall mounted dispenser rather than little bottles
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice comfortable stay in charming Duluth! The place is nice and clean but Tim and Angie's hospitality make it really special. We really felt like their guests. We look forward to coming back for future special occasions.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was a wonderful weekend getaway for us. Tim and Angie were incredibly hospitable, and were very accommodating when I requested a few special arrangements for a surprise birthday weekend getaway. They warmly greeted us as soon as we got out of the car, and gave a quick tour and history of the beautiful inn they manage. The food was phenomenal. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The A. G. Thomson house is the penultimate Bed & Breakfast experience. My wife and I were absolutely ecstatic with the beautiful room, the heavenly food, and the wonderful hospitality offered by the owners: Tim and Angie. Highest recommendation possible!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After originally planning to stay at a different Duluth B & B, we were swayed by the excellent reviews on this website. We were not disappointed! From the time we booked, Tim and Angie communicated all the details very clearly. Tim met us in the parking lot, showed us around the historical home and made sure we were right at home. The Salyards room was quaint and cozy, with a great jacuzzi tub looking in to the room. Fluffy robes and bath products were an added plus. We enjoyed the delicious gourmet breakfasts (delivered to your room or eaten in the dining room), watched a couple of current DVDs (from hundreds of choices!), and were able to snack on chocolate chip cookies and beverages--including wine! The grounds were awesome and we soaked in some autumn sun sitting on Adirondack chairs behind the house. As native Duluthians, we loved the quiet neighborhood and the vast collection of historical books in the living room--including those on notable homes in the area. One of the best parts of our stay was the delicious gourmet breakfasts made by Angie (delivered to your room or eaten in the dining room) that made us feel like royalty! From the mixed fruit yogurt parfait
to the raspberry white chocolate scones and chocolate banana bread to the
herb and cheese baked omelet and fresh juice--everything was delicious! The innkeepers are truly warm and hospitable people. We will 100% be returning in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first stay at a B &B--using a Christmas gift certificate given to us by our children for the get away. We expected wonderful accommodations, great service and delicious food, all in a historic setting, but that was only the tip of the iceberg! What really made the visit special was the hospitality of our hosts, Tim & Angie Allen. The inn was full both days we were there, but the Allen's would drop whatever they were doing to answer questions or just visit. We chose to have our breakfasts in the dining room and heard similar, positive comments from those with whom we shared the meal.
We'll probably enjoy some other B &B's in the future, but--fair warning to others: we think we visited the best one first!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.