We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Delivery!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Perfect anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After originally planning to stay at a different Duluth B & B, we were swayed by the excellent reviews on this website. We were not disappointed! From the time we booked, Tim and Angie communicated all the details very clearly. Tim met us in the parking lot, showed us around the historical home and made sure we were right at home. The Salyards room was quaint and cozy, with a great jacuzzi tub looking in to the room. Fluffy robes and bath products were an added plus. We enjoyed the delicious gourmet breakfasts (delivered to your room or eaten in the dining room), watched a couple of current DVDs (from hundreds of choices!), and were able to snack on chocolate chip cookies and beverages--including wine! The grounds were awesome and we soaked in some autumn sun sitting on Adirondack chairs behind the house. As native Duluthians, we loved the quiet neighborhood and the vast collection of historical books in the living room--including those on notable homes in the area. One of the best parts of our stay was the delicious gourmet breakfasts made by Angie (delivered to your room or eaten in the dining room) that made us feel like royalty! From the mixed fruit yogurt parfait
to the raspberry white chocolate scones and chocolate banana bread to the
herb and cheese baked omelet and fresh juice--everything was delicious! The innkeepers are truly warm and hospitable people. We will 100% be returning in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
479
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first stay at a B &B--using a Christmas gift certificate given to us by our children for the get away. We expected wonderful accommodations, great service and delicious food, all in a historic setting, but that was only the tip of the iceberg! What really made the visit special was the hospitality of our hosts, Tim & Angie Allen. The inn was full both days we were there, but the Allen's would drop whatever they were doing to answer questions or just visit. We chose to have our breakfasts in the dining room and heard similar, positive comments from those with whom we shared the meal.
We'll probably enjoy some other B &B's in the future, but--fair warning to others: we think we visited the best one first!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

"Superior" in all respects the A. G. Thomson House is a nostalgic trip back in time, but also perfection in service, accommodations, food, and friendliness. A truly lovely experience for us and our friends who lead us to this B and B as part of our "Autumn Leaves Tour of Duluth and the North Shore". Both Tim and Angie were ready to make your stay seem like we were just coming home to family. We were treated to cookies and coffee upon arriving and also a tour of the property, and our very special room with all the comforts of home and more! Angie is a gourmet chef and we enjoyed a truly delicious and filling breakfast. Tim and Angie have created a splendid retreat that made a house into a warm and inviting home. We just loved being there with old friends and making Tim and Angie our newest of friends. We won't go to Duluth again without a stay at the A. G. Thomson House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Angie and Tim run a first class B & B complete with a breakfast that will fill you up for most of the day. Angie made a cantaloupe peach cold soup that was killer and a pumpkin French toast that was top notch. The home is real cozy and cookies and coffee can be had at any time. Tim was very personable when we arrived and gave us a tour around the home. Together they mix conversation and availability with imposing themselves. They are very comfortable folks and seem to enjoy what they are doing. This is the best b & b that we have stayed at in Duluth and the others were quite good as well which goes to show you how well these folks are!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate your kind words, and having you stay with us! It was terrific getting to know you, and we enjoyed the fun group we had at breakfast each morning! Great conversation! Thanks again, and we hope to see you next Parent's weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Friends, you need to experience this! Tim and Angie are like staying with your favorite aunt and uncle....only they live in a beautiful, historic mansion, are master chefs, and don't care how late you stay out or what you do in the room. ;-) This was the first B&B for my husband and I so we didn't know what to expect...I am quite sure they have ruined us for any other B&B. The rooms are pricey but the hotels in the area were pretty pricey at the same time so we decided to try something difference. The experience is so much more than at any hotel. Tim and Angie really make you feel at home. The house is so beautiful and interesting. We ate in the dining room both mornings because we wanted to enjoy the fellowship with other visitors, but you can have it delivered to your room too. The food was AMAZING! Tim talked to us a bit about what they went through to get the place up and running and it is fascinating. We stayed in the Mayor's Chamber and loved our room, except the tight squeeze around the table. But we were able to see some of the other rooms as well and they are all really cool. All the above being said, if you are rushing through the area and plan on doing tons of things, this may not be the place to go. But if your days aren't packed and you have time to relax, I truly recommend this place. I really hope my review has done the AG Thomson House justice because I was thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tim and Angie continue to outdo themselves and amaze us with all they provide and offer with such generosity and passion. You will not find a B&B that can hold a candle to theirs in terms of elegance, warmth, hospitality, sophistication, cleanliness, accomodation, and decadent cooking-- their breakfasts are works of art. It's clear to see that they strive to use seasonal and local ingredients whenever possible and that a lot of care is taken in planning meals to make each breakfast a memorable experience and true delight. Each guest is welcomed into their home like family; you're made to feel comfortable and important. Tim & Angie truly cater to every tiny detail, no matter how small....they absolutely sweat the small stuff and make it their personal mission to have guests leave their inn in a better state of mind than when they arrived. Everytime my husband and I leave A.G. Thomson House, we are well-rested and smiling, though it always tugs at our heartstrings a bit; it's like we're leaving our family... you will not find that anywhere else and it's why we cherish this place, and Tim and Angie, and what they've done to make it feel like our home too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We cannot thank you enough! Seeing the two of you each time you visit is like seeing family! You both exude happiness and it spreads to those of us around you! We hope everything works out, and we are seeing you in our neck of the woods soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the A.G. Thomson House recently for three nights. It is in a quiet neighborhood with beautiful grounds. Our room had a whirlpool tub for two--perfect for relaxing after a day out and about. My husband remarked that Angie and Tim have done everything right. Being B&B fans for many years and having traveled extensively in the US, Canada, and Europe, we have a list in our heads of the "required" accoutrements. The Thomson House has them all, plus, the breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented. Angie or Tim are always close by with dinner advice or just to chat. They have thought of everything. If we didn't live so far away we'd surely frequent this beautiful place. The Thomson House has become our new benchmark for the type of Inn/B&B we want to stay in.
Please check the A.G. Thomson website for Angie's amazing recipes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Salyards room and loved the view of Lake Superior. Very sunny and cheerful with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Ken and Pat! We had such a wonderful time getting to know you and learning of your connection to the area. We hope we were able to offer a relaxing place to call home after your very busy days, and we surely hope you will make it back here again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.