We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B, great amenities and amazing gluten free food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
3 time TA Award Winner!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Charming B&B, great amenities and amazing gluten free food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Angie and Tim are amazing and have done an exceptional job making sure every last detail is perfect. We stayed in the Hewitt suite with a great balcony, enjoyed the hammock outside, other amenities they offer (movies, games, drinks, etc). However, all food was great, but being gluten free has never been easier... I had fresh baked cookies, pumpkin bars (warm!) and other luxuries I couldn't imagine getting anywhere else! They are some of the warmest people you'll ever meet and truly care about every person who comes into their B&B.
I would recommend to everyone, although I want to be able to get a reservation myself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
You are too sweet! We are always more than happy to accommodate and very pleased that you enjoyed our gluten free menu! It is never a problem, and always a pleasure! We are still in awe of how you were able to do so well in the Ironman on one of Duluth's hottest days! So impressed! We hope you can take some time for yourselves again soon, and we certainly hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
490
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Domain, MB, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the B&B in August 2013 and very much enjoyed the beauty of the gardens/flowers and the grandeur of this beautiful home. We were very comfortable in the Hewitt Room with the attached balcony. The only slight flaw was the (necessary) air conditioner's noise from above on the third floor, as this was a very hot time of year for Duluth. We enjoyed walking the area and having quiet time in one of several sitting areas on the property. We had one breakfast delivered to our room and one in the dining room with the other guests; the breakfasts were creative and fresh with local foods. As this property is so large, we felt like we were the only guests at times. The room was spotless, comfortable, large, and lacks no modern-day amenities. We would return in a heart-beat and I wish I could live there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 53d anniversary at this B&B. We had great breakfasts and were told about a very good Italian restaurant which we tried. We also met friends we hadn't seen for 50 years and had a great visit with them. We took a harbor cruise and rode on a train. Tim and Angie were great hosts. We had some great chats with them. I hope we can come back again some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you! We had a great time visiting and sharing our home and our gorgeous city. Celebrating 53 years is a tremendous milestone and we were so happy to be a part of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed only one night, but found it to be the perfect getaway. My wife commented that it's the nicest B&B in which we've ever stayed. The hospitality here is what will blow you away. Angie and Tim are great and friendly hosts and so accommodating to individual needs. Guests may dine in the dining room or have breakfast delivered right to their door in a big picnic basket. After we ate their breakfast, we just skipped lunch. We stayed in the carriage house. Even though there are three rooms in that building, it felt like we were all alone. We didn't see any of the inn's other guest rooms, but the common areas are on a grand scale. We learned that this house was only the "starter" home for AG Thomson! The annual flower beds and pots around the front porch are spectacular. It looked like what you would see in a magazine spread.

Room Tip: If you like privacy, I would recommend the Brule River Room in the carriage house. The room is not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our stay at the A.G. Thomson House was a celebration of my wife's birthday and our 48th anniversary. It was also a chance for my wife to visit in what was once her grandparents home. We were greeted by Tim, who gave us a tour and let us wander and share memories of years past. Our room was beautifully decorated, (as were the others we were allowed to peek into if unreserved), and spotlessly clean. The grounds were filled with dozens of container flowers that filled numerous sitting areas. We enjoyed a cool drink in the evening and our coffee in the morning while sitting outside and then wandering the property. Angie was a charming hostess and her breakfast was wonderful. It is easy to see that Tim and Angie love what they are doing, and enjoy seeing their guests enjoy their B&B. We have stayed at numerous B&B's and this one truly stands out in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGTDuluth, Owner at A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
It was such a pleasure being able to meet you and have you share your wonderful memories of this incredible home. We are only the "caretakers" for now, and hope we will see you again. We look forward to creating more memories for us and our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Quite and relaxing with many flowers and fountains. Close to the area bike trails and some great restaurants. They nailed the breakfast. Tim and Angie were very gracious and fun to chat with.

Cheers! We'll be back again!

Room Tip: They were all nice-can't miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I drove to Duluth for some well-deserved R & R after spending two intense months planning our daughter's wedding. We wanted to reconnect before back to school activities took over once again. The Thomson House was our home away from home for the week end. The B & B was luxurious and our hosts, Tim and Angie, spoiled us with their personal and engaging attention. We can easily see why people return there again and again. The breakfasts were mouth-watering and delicious. We fell in love with Duluth.

Room Tip: Our room, above the Carriage House, was cozy. We prefer a King size bed usually but the Queen size o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.