We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quaint B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Delivery!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing and quaint B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you're looking for a romantic and relaxing retreat in Duluth, A.G. Thompson house is the place to stay! Tim and Angie are so great and made us feel very welcome. From the fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and delicious tea upon our arrival, I knew we would have an enjoyable stay. Steeped in history, the mansion is very beautiful and located in an equally beautiful neighborhood. One of the highlights for us was enjoying the amazing breakfast (delivered to our door) next to the fire place. I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs around the world- this is definitely the quintessential B&B and absolutely delightful. I'm not sure when I'll be back, so in the meantime I'll just have to enjoy the recipes on the website when I'm feeling nostalgic for the A.G. B&B.

Room Tip: They Majors Chamber has a fireplace next to the bed. The room is located on the back of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
482
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

.The A.G. Thomson House is hands down the best B&B we've eve stayed at! Tim and Angie are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home in their home. The rooms are charming with all the comforts. And the breakfasts are amazing!
The inn is located near downtown with easy access to attractions and dining.
We stayed during the holidays and the inn was decked out. We are already planning to return in the summer and enjoy this wonderful B&B again! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Lake Superior Suite is very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great location! Perfect place to enjoy some great biking and relax in the jacuzzi afterwards. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful! The grounds/landscape was beautiful. Tim and Angie make you feel like they have known you forever! If you are looking for a quiet B&B in a great location --- this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had the most lovely visit at this peaceful and elegant bed and breakfast during the second week of October. It was close to many Duluth eateries either within walking distance or a short car ride. In addition, to the beautiful grounds of the Inn, Duluth itself is full of lovely surprises such as hiking, museums, shopping and eating and close enough to many state parks that are a joy to hike.

Our hosts were very gracious and made us feel welcome immediately upon our arrival. The hewitte suite of our stay was amazing. With many of the comforts of home that make a trip away even more satisfying. Overall, our vacation together, after many years without was rejuvenating and rewarding. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park River, North Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Picking a honeymoon place was important for both my husband to be and myself. We searched a variety of places, and then choose the A.G. Thomson House. We saw pictures online, and both decided that it looked like the place we wanted to go.

It is hard to describe in words how much we enjoyed our experience at the A.G. Thomson House. From the minute we got there, we felt welcomed. The gardens were beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

My husband and I have talked about this place many times and how much we enjoyed our time there; we can't wait to go back and visit. I recommend this place for everyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. You wouldn't be disappointed with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I purposed to my wife well we were staying here,then we had our honeymoon here and now our 1st anniversary..This place always out performs itself from the amazing hospitality from the moment you arrive to the amazing food ..WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: Every room here is amazing ,but the Mayors Chamber in the main house is SUPER cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

For their 44th wedding anniversary gift, we purchased a night at AG Thomson House along with a concert in Duluth. They were so impressed by the exceptional accommodations that they commented that they would love to buy the place and live there. They really love their home, so that was very telling. Their children have agreed that this should be a yearly gift to them as they really enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.