We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$60 off your stay!
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had the most lovely visit at this peaceful and elegant bed and breakfast during the second week of October. It was close to many Duluth eateries either within walking distance or a short car ride. In addition, to the beautiful grounds of the Inn, Duluth itself is full of lovely surprises such as hiking, museums, shopping and eating and close enough to many state parks that are a joy to hike.

Our hosts were very gracious and made us feel welcome immediately upon our arrival. The hewitte suite of our stay was amazing. With many of the comforts of home that make a trip away even more satisfying. Overall, our vacation together, after many years without was rejuvenating and rewarding. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
483
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park River, North Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Picking a honeymoon place was important for both my husband to be and myself. We searched a variety of places, and then choose the A.G. Thomson House. We saw pictures online, and both decided that it looked like the place we wanted to go.

It is hard to describe in words how much we enjoyed our experience at the A.G. Thomson House. From the minute we got there, we felt welcomed. The gardens were beautiful, the food was delicious, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

My husband and I have talked about this place many times and how much we enjoyed our time there; we can't wait to go back and visit. I recommend this place for everyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. You wouldn't be disappointed with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I purposed to my wife well we were staying here,then we had our honeymoon here and now our 1st anniversary..This place always out performs itself from the amazing hospitality from the moment you arrive to the amazing food ..WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!

Room Tip: Every room here is amazing ,but the Mayors Chamber in the main house is SUPER cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

For their 44th wedding anniversary gift, we purchased a night at AG Thomson House along with a concert in Duluth. They were so impressed by the exceptional accommodations that they commented that they would love to buy the place and live there. They really love their home, so that was very telling. Their children have agreed that this should be a yearly gift to them as they really enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first experience at a bed & breakfast and I don't know how we will be able to top our stay at A.G. Thompson House! Angie and Tim met us the minute we arrived and immediatly we knew we had chosen the perfect spot for our anniversary. They are both so warm, welcoming and easy going - you can just see how much they love what they do. We stayed in the Brule River Retreat and felt so comfortable and pampered. We plan on returning again and again to stay in every suite if possible! Also, there is no way you will ever be able to get a breakfast like Angie and Tim serve - blueberry scones with lemon curd, wild rice quiche, seasoned potatoes, pumpkin french toast, homemade cookies and muffins and that was just for two days - it just goes on and on!! We will most definitely tell all our family and friends about A.G. Thomson House and recommend they make their reservations soon to enjoy themselves as much as we did. Thank you, Angie and Tim, for the most lovey of weekends.
Patricia & Ron

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at the AG Thompson House. Angie and Tim were great hosts, the breakfast was incredible and our room was very cozy. The location is ideal: close enough to hop over to Canal Park, but just far enough away to feel a relaxing sense of seclusion. We stayed in the Hewitt Room... great views and a really nice, private balcony if you plan on visiting during the warmer months.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I spent this past weekend at the A.G. Thomson House B&B. We were greeted by Tim as we pulled in the parking lot. He showed us the (absolutely beautiful) main house, and we also met Angie inside. This was our first trip to a B&B and we couldn't ask for nicer hosts.

We stayed in the North Shore Retreat, which is located in the carriage house on the property. It was cozy and so much nicer than a hotel room. Tim showed us where we could help ourselves to free coffee, bottled water, white wine and soda. They also have a room full of DVDs and games that guests are welcome to borrow during their stay.

The breakfasts were phenomenal!! I am vegan, and Angie had a delicious menu for me both days. The tofu scramble and apple crisp were especially fantastic. I am always glad when I can be accommodated, but Angie and Tim went above and beyond. My husband is not vegan, but he raved about his meals as well.

We will definitely return to A.G. Thomson House again. Next time we'll aim for the summer so we can enjoy the outdoors and grounds area more.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance abounds perched above majestic Lake Superior amid towering pines nestled in the heart of Duluth's Historic Congdon Mansion District on two acres of private grounds and among award winning gardens. Our Duluth Bed and Breakfast features seven guests rooms with wonderful amenities such as King or Queen Beds, Fireplaces, Lake Views, A/C, HDTV/DVD, and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.