We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and effecient Staff ,She jumped to all of our...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Duluth to your Saves list
Super 8 Duluth
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4100 West Superior St., I-35 at 40th Ave W Exit 253 B, Duluth, MN 55807-2725   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    58
    32
    18
See reviews for
61
38
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our stay at the Super 8 in Duluth was good. The room we stayed in was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to the freeway and provide easy acess to downtown Duluth and driving along the North Shore. The hotel is located in a safe area. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing special. They could use some good hot food and especially some bananas. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in that still allows smoking in the rooms. We stayed in a non smoking room, but you could still smell smoke in the hallways. This is something that needs to change in the future in order to provide a more healthy environment for guests. They staff tries their best to give the guests a good experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodi c, Manager at Super 8 Duluth, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the kind words! We do our best to give a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

While we don't offer a full hot breakfast like some other chain motels do, we have a nice variety of breakfast options. And we would love to offer bananas but I'm sure you notice that they all are ripe at the same time? lol We do try to have apples and/or oranges available to everyone.

Come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Everything was terrific from checking in to cleanliness to convenience. It was a very pleasant visit and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Duluth. The breakfasts were very nice and adequate, the staff was very friendly, the Wi-Fi was good and if we needed anything there was no problem in getting it. The location was excellent right near the highway for easy access to where we needed to go. Shopping in the area was good too and gas and banks close too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Room was approx. $135 a night for a cramped Queen size room. We needed to add the use of a fold down bed at the cost of an additional 10-15 dollars. The bedding was not comfortable on either beds. That bathroom smelled of musty sweat like a locker room which wasn't appealing. The pluses of the room included a new flat screen tv and a mini fridge. The breakfast in the morning was nothing to write home about. The strangest part of my stay was when I went to fetch some ice in the morning from their one ice machine by the front desk and there was a case of yogurt sitting on the ice machine ledge. The room was extremely warm and the yogurt containers within the case were warm to the touch. I did bring it to the attention of the front desk. Here is to hoping they didn't serve it to future guests at breakfast. This hotel is better than the Motel 6 just down the road...but is more expensive as well. I've stayed at both.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Staff was super friendly, Beds were terrible. Air conditioning was really loud, the breakfast was average, no water?? The price was extortion for that place, I will never go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Duluth

Address: 4100 West Superior St., I-35 at 40th Ave W Exit 253 B, Duluth, MN 55807-2725
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Duluth 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Duluth Hotel Duluth
Super Eight Duluth
Duluth Super 8
Duluth Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.