We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad place to celebrate my birthday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bad place to celebrate my birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

We checked into the hotel and although we booked it through Orbitz specifying a non-smoking room with no cancelation, we were given a smoking room and told that there were no other rooms. We couldn't get a refund. The 2 pillows were extremely thin and they only had one more in housekeeping. The breakfast was fair but the cold shower wasn't plesant. I will not stay here again nor will I book another hotel through Orbitz

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBents, Advertising Representative at Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Sometimes third party services can end up booking a room type other than the one specifically requested by the guest. We do our best to switch people when this happens but we don't always have the rooms left to switch to. We're told by these companies not to switch anything about the reservation because they may not pay otherwise, which sometimes our new staff can take too far by not changing a room type like this.

Our pillows have been replaced since, and we've been adding extra pillows to our rooms so that there are always extras for our guests.

We've also replaced a few of our hot water heaters since then. We were having some problems with them working for a while after repairs and then quitting without any notice.

We're sorry that your stay did not turn out as you expected and hope that you give us another chance some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
28
17
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2005

Outside.. extreme darkness no lights around parking lot, lack of parking spaces.overflowing garbage cans. On our second night key card not properly activated to get into outside door. which resulted in long walk back to lobby with heavy parcels from day of shopping.
Toilet not flushing.cold water shower x2 mornings.
Desk staff argumentative,unhelpful.
Rerurned to room which was not cleaned while we were gone. Again, front desk staff argued with us about the oversight. Isn't the customer always right???
Now housekeeper arguing with us as well.
Bad experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

I had a recent stay at the Econo Lodge in Duluth (Airport). What a disappointment. Dirty, under construction. Sink that didn’t work. First floor windows that didn’t lock.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBents, Advertising Representative at Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
While our maintenance guys are always trying to keep up with repairs we do sometimes need to call in companies to repair things that would take us too long to fix, and since hotels are a year round business this means we do have construction going on sometimes when guests are around. We would rather close off the section this is happening in but we don't always have that option, especially in the summer which according to your review is when you stayed.

We've added security bars to all of our windows that prevent them from opening more than a few inches, along with newer locks.

Sorry to hear about your stay at our hotel and we hope that you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2005

The EconoLodge in Duluth is not in downtown nor does it have a lake view. However, it is only a 5 mile drive to the Lake, Downtown, and a minute or so from Miller Hill Shopping Center.
There are lots of nice restaurants and shops in Miller Hill. The hotel itself is not a palace, nor a dump. It is a nice place to stay, clean, and the staff are pleasant.
There is a small breakfast bar wich sufficed to start the day, and it is free. The rooms are clean.
If you want a reasonable priced hotel not far from downtown then choose the Econolodge you won't be disapointed.
Tip - make sure you get a map of Duluth as the hotel reception map falls short of the hotel area, and first time visitors may get confused.
We are off again this July 2005 so we will add an updated review later.

This will be our 3rd time at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Address: 4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean economy hotel located at the Duluth, Minn. airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Airport Hotel Duluth
Econo Lodge Duluth
Duluth Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.