We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, close to airport, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service, close to airport, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The rooms were very clean, bed was comfortable, continental breakfast was great as well (sausage gravy, fresh fruit, waffles, muffins, yogurt, etc.)

I had a flight delay this morning, - and the motel let me stay in my room until noon, instead of the 11 am checkout. Seems small, but it was another hour I could work comfortably at a desk.

So why not a 5-star rating? As previous reviewers noted - the parking lot is atrocious. You need to drive carefully!

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
29
17
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ifrane, Morocco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

First, getting off the highway or Haines Ave into the parking lot requires precision driving to avoid some of the absolute worst potholes in America. The access obviously does not belong to the hotel because it doesn't seem to have been maintained since they tore most of the old theater building down.

Once you do park and enter the hotel, the staff do everything they can to help you forget the potholes. They were extremely helpful with our questions and requests. We stayed for a while and pieced together reservation deals from different websites, but they let us check out and back into the same room so we didn't have to move. By the time we left, it was like we were saying goodbye to friends.

The rooms are pretty standard, with older tube TVs. There is a good-sized in-room safe. The windows open, so you don't have to run the ac (our room's windows opened toward the highway, so it got pretty noisy beginning about 5.30 am.

They allow pets, which is nice if you travel with one or don't mind having them around.

I was pleasantly surprised. This is one of the lowest cost options in the Duluth area, and proved to be a very good value!

Room Tip: A room opposite Miller Trunk Highway would have much less road noise. You can walk to DQ, Subway, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and a nice size. The bed was very comfortable and there was a complimentary breakfast included. There was a nice sized pool and Jacuzzi. They had free internet and a small fridge in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Based on our first impressions, I would have been inclined to give this hotel one star. However, our room was very clean and quiet, and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. We were surprised that the prices were similar to many of the Holiday Inn Express locations, considering how dated it is. Apparently, prices in Duluth are very high during the summer, so presumably it was a fair value. It is also well-located.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Clean hotel, nice staff, good breakfast available, not too far from attractions. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality for this star level. Will definitely recommend for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Awesome-hot pool and Hot-Tub
this is very stupid to ask for 200 characters
to leave an review i can tell you abpout my stay in many many less words--hotel was nice this Review site SUcks suck sucks sukcs






  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

About 10 min from camel park, nice little free breakfast small pool good for little kids not to far from miller mall for shopping and lots of food places near by. Room was nice clean with fridge and microwave. Workers seemed nice and friendly!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Address: 4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean economy hotel located at the Duluth, Minn. airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Airport Hotel Duluth
Econo Lodge Duluth
Duluth Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.