We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly desk service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Superior, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly desk service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice to check into a hotel with the desk personnel smiling. Room had new furnishings. Very clean and comfortable. Third shift desk person was just as friendly and accommodating. Very convenient location to shopping, restaurants, and the airport.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear MaryLOct2013,



Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!


Sincerely,


Alex Tessier
Front Desk Manager
Duluth Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    30
    8
    12
See reviews for
31
18
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater OK, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

First I would have loved to give Service more stars but the only person that was worth anything was Cheryl. She was fantastic.
The room was much better than I thought it would be, cleaner and bigger. There was a hockey tournament in town and very difficult to find a room.
I do wish it had an elevator.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex T, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. It is always nice to receive positive feedback on our hotel. I will share this review with my team and we will use your feedback to help improve the quality of our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.


Alex Tessier
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed one night at the Country Inn Suites, then the next night at the Econo Lodge. Similar cost, similar location, but the Country Inn Suites was a more pleasant facility with better rooms. The Econolodge is an adequate motor hotel but nothing more.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask for a room far from the smoking section.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was a little worried checking into the hotel with some poor reviews but needed to be located in this area. When I stepped in I was greated by friendly staff, taken to a clean room, quiet. Stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay very much. Had to deal with a iPhone problem and go to Best Buy, the afternoon man gave me a lift to the store, waited 45 min and took me back, all on his time. Just came from a hotel twice the price and this Econo Lodge offered everything the other hotel did.Solid wifi

Room Tip: 2nd floor non smoking worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I see many reviews are degrading this Econo Lodge mostly because it is not a "resort hotel". No, it's not... it is an airport-location, clean, comfortable, secure hotel staffed by the most helpful, friendliest people on the planet. I stayed here very late at night after a cancelled flight ($6.50 by cab from the airport). They got me in, gave me a small discount that I appreciated, and offered help with whatever I could possibly need---and I know they were sincere. I was well cared for here, the room was spacious and comfortable (the bed was awesome), and I would definitely stay there again. I don't typically measure a traveler's hotel to resort standards---if you want a resort, stay downtown and pay resort fees. I wanted clean, comfortable, reasonable, secure, and friendly and that is exactly what I got. The area is industrial, yes, so don't expect things to do or an awesome view if that's what you are after. Convenience to the airport and a Subway shop across the parking (closed when I arrived, the Front Desk team recommended pizza delivery available at that hour and gave me the menu/phone number as well as other suggestions). There is nothing to fear from this property (no bug issues for me). There is an indoor pool and a game arcade I did not use. Breakfast is convenient and adequate. I will be seeing them again--I really appreciated the care extended to a tired, frustrated traveler!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 230; wonderfully comfortable bed, view across parking lot to Subway. Room included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I log about 300 nights a year in hotels across America. I tend to stay in 4 star chains. A cancellation on my part where I usually stay ( overpriced, poorly maintained, terribly managed WATER PARK ) landed me at this Econo Lodge. It was way more than I expected. The management has taken care to provide CLEAN, UPDATED rooms. CLEAN ?...the bathroom spotless. The bed, linens, chairs, couches, and flat screens, etc., all above par. From the lobby to the pool, to the breakfast area and beyond. CLEAN. The property was ablaze with potted annuals and relaxation areas. No unsightly dumpsters, plenty of parking and 5 minute access to the airport. Adjacent to restaurants, shopping, banking. SWEET. The desk manager, remarkably trained. Housekeeping co-operative. I had a GLASS TILED jacuzzi suite, with with more than ample room. Newly carpeted, quite hallways, and friendly faces. Things you don't find find for under $150 a night.

So despite what other reviews report about this NATIONAL chain, you can single this location out, as above and beyond. Saving my company money is not a concern when traveling.They want me happy. But I PLAN to stay here again next trip to Duluth.

Room Tip: Above the average "economy" type hotels. Book the Prime Suite for a valuable treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This property is run-down and a little ratty. Overall, the facility was moderately clean. Breakfast was good. The parking lot and approaches to it are pot-holed, and simply gaining access to the parking lot can be a challenge.

Being here on business, I spent most of my time away from the hotel. Considering I only slept and ate breakfast here, the facility served its purpose. If I was looking for a place to relax or enjoy a vacation, I would select another property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Address: 4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean economy hotel located at the Duluth, Minn. airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Airport Hotel Duluth
Econo Lodge Duluth
Duluth Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.