We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Econo Lodge Airport, Good Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Airport

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Econo Lodge Airport, Good Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hot tub, pool, wi-fi, acceptable room... all make this Econo Lodge good enough when you need a place to stay. Nothing fancy, in fact, just the basics as you'd expect, but good enough. Only the location seems a little... underwhelming, but we had no issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
13
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here during Tall Ships Duluth. The hotel was full but it was quiet & clean. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good. Front staff was friendly and helpful. Was a bit overpriced because of the Tall Ships weekend. Would stay again if visiting Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room was OK, lots of parking when traveling with a RV. Breakfast was OK. Pet friendly for a 10$ fee but the pet area was small but OK. Close to the airport and lots of restaurants. I would probably not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willmar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very helpful staff, Very friendly. More than accomidating for your needs. Great place to stay on a budget, great breakfasts. The biscuts & gravy were really good.Clean rooms, nice pool & hotub. Quite location. The price of the room was good.It met all our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago and like Jeanette I said "never again". However, we had a last minute change of plans and the Econo Lodge was the only hotel available within our budget (we needed a room just two nights before the arrival of the Tall Ships in the Duluth Harbor). I was very pleasantly surprised. We were warmly welcomed by the desk clerk who even offered to help us with our luggage (no elevator which made it a bit challenging to get our things up to the second floor). Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the Internet worked. The room itself was in pretty good shape but the hotel is in an industrial area that looks a bit shady. I wasn't bothered by noise during the night as I anticipated. One suggestion for management - the non-smokers have to walk through two hallways of smoking rooms before the non-smoking rooms. It might work better the other way around, although once we got to our room I didn't notice the lingering smoke smell.

Room Tip: Request a main floor room if you are unable to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the airport. It is on the edge of an industrial area--the access road and parking lot are in rough shape. There is no elevator and we were on the second floor--fortunately, our luggage wasn't heavy. The rooms were clean, but the hotel is showing its age and is borderline shabby. The staff was helpful and friendly, but for the price, I expected a nicer facility. The breakfast was plentiful and smelled really good, but was lacking in healthy options. I chose to stop at a local restaurant instead.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was kind OK, the staff was Very nice. The area was not nice at all. Almost felt unsafe.
It was a 17min. drive from downtown Duluth. Paid $140.00 a night which was a surprise discounted rate from travelocity, which I would expect to pay for Downton Duluth, but not at all where we were located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport

Address: 4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean economy hotel located at the Duluth, Minn. airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Airport Hotel Duluth
Econo Lodge Duluth
Duluth Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.