We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ohhh....it is a dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Buffalo, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ohhh....it is a dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I guess it was bound to catch up with me....after several very successful "blind buy" deals on well known web site, We ended up at the econolodge on duluth! the hotel is in a delapitaed area of the city, with closed businesses all aroung and what apears to be a burned out building next door. As we entered the pot hole ridden parking lot, my wife commented on the two 12 or 13 year old boys smoking outside the front door. I guess I did not realize there were still sknmoing rooms on hotels, but when the front desk lady to use the far stairways if we did not want to go down the smoking wing, we seriously consided leaving our prepaid hotle to find a better one. Being the cheap guy I am I convinced my wife to stay the one night we had paid for. After 4.5 hours of sleep on a very uncomfortable bed, we got up at 4:30 am and checked out of the hotel.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
29
17
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we were traveling to and from duluth minn to visit family and needed a reasonably priced hotel to catch plane back to az. this hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful the breakfast in the morning was hot and fresh with plenty of staff to help. would definetly stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Econolodge while doing the Grandma's half marathon Duluth puts on every year. They jacked up the prices for the weekend. It's just your average place. I forgot my passport there, so I called them and she called me right bak saying it was in her hands. I had to pay postage, after overpaying for my rooms. If its regular mail I will be severely disappointed if they made me pay postage for that and the fact they sent a passport through regular mail.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Staff and service were fine. Nice breakfast, good location near mall and shopping and reasonably priced. Very nice rooms. Would stay again. Don't let the driveway intimidate you. The place was very nice. Stayed in the new wing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very nice, always very clean, and accommodating . Must say, try to stay away from the rooms at the end of the hall, kinda noisy. Breakfast in always plentiful and the staff freindly
We stay there twice a year every year, always consistent , just make sure you are not going through town during the marathon.....you can't get a room anywhere!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Although I hate to do it, I highly recommend this hotel. I hate doing it because, more and more are finding out what a great place this is and rooms, especially on the weekends, are harder to find. That said, from the friendly staff to the clean and spacious rooms, this hotel is wonderful. I was in town on a family medical emergency, the staff went out of their way to meet my needs. The rooms, as I said, were well accommodated, large and very clean. I enjoyed my stay and have gone back several times since.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We pulled up at this hotel in the midst of a snowstorm on April 11th at 11:00pm. The guy at the front desk named Matt was very friendly, calm, and actually came out and help push my sisters car out of a snowbank. I could go on for a long time, but this attitude carried over into the morning staff, as they went above and beyond trying to help me get to the airport in time for my rescheduled flight. The rooms were clean, and quiet, for what you paid. They kept the free breakfast open for a longer time due to the weather. The owners of this hotel should be very very proud of their staff. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall

Address: 4197 Haines Rd., Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean economy hotel located at the Duluth, Minn. airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Airport Hotel Duluth
Econo Lodge Duluth
Duluth Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Miller Hill Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.