We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - beautiful view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place - beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Super nice hotel! Good value for the money and very clean!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    93
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
149
97
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July and the room was spotless, we even had a balcony facing the boardwalk and Lake Superior. The hotel was conveniently located and had a great hot breakfast (I would suggest getting breakfast before 10am as it gets very busy). They even have complimentary Coffee, Hot Cocoa and Cappuccino available 24 hours per day, which was a very nice touch. They even had tables outside facing the lake and very comfortable chairs out on the front deck as well. I will definately be back. The beds were very comfortable, and the shower was great (roomy and lots of water pressure). It is also right by the Aerial Bridge and we were lucky enough to see it raise twice for the large ships to enter. : )

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed in Duluth the previous weekend at the Canal Park Lodge. It was a fabulous hotel, but since it was sold out, we opted for the Comfort Suites which is a few doors down. We were familiar with the exterior of the hotel as we'd passed it by during our walk along the lake. The location is perfect for walking. It's right next door to the freight bridge and along the walking/biking/carriage ride/path contiguous to Lake Superior. What a view! We had a first floor balcony room which was modern, very spacious and quiet. It gave the Canal Park Lodge a run for the money. With the exception of the ship horns which are intermittant during the day, I was really impressed with the construction. The hotel is quiet! There is a large breakfast room with huge windows looking out at Lake Superior. We've yet to have breakfast, but the desk clerk told us that it is a full american style.
You don't need a car to walk all over downtown. Don't miss the Lake Superior Ship Museum just across the parking lot. Also, spend some time hanging out at the bridge to see a ship or two come through the channel while the bridge makes height adjustments. It's pretty awesome. You can take a walk the opposite direction to the lighthouse which you can see clearly from the hotel.

We ate dinner twice at Bellisios just across the street. Extensive wine list and a great menu.

I would highly recommend this hotel and the other hotels along the Canal Park/Lake Superior walkway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

This hotel is perfectly located on the Lake Walk and next to Canal Park; we could watch the lift bridge from our room! No, our handicap suite did not have a lake view but we enjoyed watching the horse drawn carriages and pedestrian traffic just fine. The suite was new, clean, loved the furnished balcony. The only downside in the suite was that you had to squeeze around the person sleeping on the hide-a-bed to reach the bathroom, not sure why the bathroom wasn't between the living room and bedroom. Also they need to enlarge the seating space in the breakfast area; it was elbow-to-elbow in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over Memorial Weekend and had a very good experience. This was our first time staying at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was neat and clean. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the lake and we really enjoyed that. The beds were comfortable and the room had a refrigerator. There is a free breakfast buffet but it was extrememly busy and there wasn't enough room for everyone to sit. The location is good since it's right off the lake and is right next to restaurants and shops. They also had free and ample parking. Overall it was a very good experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This hotel cannot be beaten on any grounds - the rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean, with a sofa in a small sittting area and good views. The bathroom was spotless and the towels and linen good quality. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our grandchildren enjoyed the heasted pool and hot tub. The location right on the waterfront was superb. The complimentary breakfast was quite amazing with such a variety of food and constant top ups by the staff when anything got low. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Our recent stay at this Comfort Inn could not have been better. From the moment we contacted the local desk a month before our actual stay until the morning we left after our son's wedding, the staff could not have been more accommodating, helpful and friendly. Everything you would expect and more was in excellent condition and in the room - comfortable bed, multiple pillows, frig, microwave, coffee pot, desk, sitting area with couch, large bathroom with lots of counter space, iron and ironing board, crisp sheets, fluffy towels, hair dryer, etc. Our daughter made good use of the exercise room, our grand nephews enjoyed the pool, we appreciated the wireless internet, and everyone enjoyed the pleasant breakfast area that buffet that included eggs and ham or sausage, waffles, cereal, a variety of bread, bagels and English muffins to toast, yogurt, coffee, juice and my personal favorite - a cappuccino dispenser. Although the hotel was full on Saturday night and it was busy Sunday morning, there was quite a bit of room to sit and eat. If it had been warmer we would have sat at the tables on the patio. All of this can be found at more than one hotel in Duluth, I'm sure, but what set the Comfort Suites apart was the the willingness of the staff to be helpful. From offering us space in the employee refrigerator if we needed it for food we were bringing for the wedding reception (which we ended up not needing) to letting us know that an employee was going to be leaving in just a couple of minutes and we could use their parking place instead of having to go to the overflow parking when we arrived back very late on Saturday night. This staff, including the desk clerks, room maids and breakfast room attendants do it right - pleasant, efficient, and friendly - they - every single one we encountered in our 3 day stay - made us feel like a valued customer and that they were there to do what they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. As far as I'm concerned, there is no better place to stay in Duluth. Oh, and it is right on the lake and within walking distance of all of the restaurants, shops, etc. of the Canal Park area in Duluth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.