We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Apple Valley, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

While we typically stay at the Inn on Lake Superior, we were very pleased with the suites with balcony in the new addition at this hotel.
Check-in was extremely fast, rooms very clean, comfortable beds, microwave and fridge. Room had two queen beds, a sofa sleeper, two chairs and foot stool. Also two nice wrought iron deck chairs and small table. Housekeeping was great during our two night stay and the hotel even mailed back a phone charger we left behind by accident at no cost. Good choice on breakfast items and grat kitchen staff that kept these items well stocked in spite of a large breakfast crowd. Fitness center had all True brand equipment. Only opportunities are a smaller pool (but two whirlpools!) and the breakfast area lacked enough open tables at 9am (too cold to go outside). We would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    83
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
137
85
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel was a step above what I was expecting. The entry way was very inviting, pool area and patio were very relaxing and the rooms were clean and comfortable. They also had one of the best breakfast options (food and dining area) that I've ever had. There were great views of the lake. We got to see many ships come in. Plenty of things to do, all within walking distance. All in all, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Nice Hotel on the waterfront. Very nice for early morning walks along the boardwalk. Free breakfast included and if the weather is nice you can eat outside. Can accomodate 6 in one room with 2 double beds and a pullout. BTW, the bed was very comfortable. Pillows were great.
Nice to be able to park your car at hotel and then forget about driving as you can walk to shops and restaurant. If you have a few drinks, no worries!
We noticed young families staying there, and others like us which was parents with 20 something children and grandchildren. Also alot of senior citizens staying. I think it would be a great place for seniors as it's a very easily accessible place. This was a perfect place for our family to get away and reconnect.
Only negative>>>Carpets need cleaned in foyers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Comfort Suites - Canal Park was a delight. It has the best location. It is right on Lake Superior and directly across the street from the restaurants Little Angie’s Cantina and Grandmas Saloon. It turns out that simply being able to park in the hotel parking lot is a significant benefit, since parking in the Canal Park area is at a premium. Our entire experience was enjoyable. We reserved the room the night before our stay. The reservation/check-in process went without a hitch. We received an AARP discount without any questions asked. The room was across the hall from the ice machine/vending area, but we never heard any noise. Breakfast was great. The line moved quickly because they have 4 different waffle irons. When I first saw the breakfast line I was concerned. But, I got my coffee before getting in line and was pleased it didn’t take too long. They had hot bacon to go with the waffles and the syrup is on the tables; Which is an improvement over those little single serving syrup containers you get at some places. The room was great. It had a new flat screen TV that was nice. We didn’t watch much TV though; there were plenty of other things to do in Canal Park. We visited lot of shops Saturday night and ate dinner at Little Angie’s Cantina. After checking out Sunday morning we left the car in the hotel parking lot and visited several shops that were closed the night before. We liked that we never had to move the car after parking it when we first checked-in.

We learned a valuable lesson in Duluth: "You get what you paid for". Comfort Suites - Canal Park is not a bargain, but it is well worth the money. We stayed at a bargain joint on Friday night and regretted it. We feel lucky that we found Comfort Suites and that they had a room available for us on short notice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawn14130
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is the greatest hotel in the Duluth area! Awesome rooms, delicious breakfast and very convenient location. You can not find a better hotel for the money!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed at Comfort Suites, our lakeview room exceeded our expectations and the staff was wonderful. Many attractions within walking distance. Good food, great view, nice relaxing trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed in beautiful lakeside room in new wing. Room was large, comfortably furnished, great beds, and a balcony with seating overlooking the lake. I will stay here everytime I come to Duluth

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.