We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2005

The staff are very friendly, you can't beat the breakfast and the location is super. Lots to do and with the DECC very close by (2 min walk). We even got to see a number of ships go under the bridge which is right next door.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    89
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
146
95
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

My family makes a trip up to Duluth from Minneapolis each fall and have stayed at the Comfort Suites each time. We have always been pleased with this hotel. The rooms are nice and have always been clean. The pool area is adequate. The free continental breakfast is nice. The hotel is at a great location - right on the water. It's walking distance to many restaurants and shops in Canal Park. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Duluth!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2004

My mother and I stayed here the night of August 18, 2004 during a Minnesota sojourn (she made the reservation). This hotel is located in Duluth's Canal Park district, literally steps away from the shores of Lake Superior.

My first impression of the hotel was that it was far nicer than most properties in this chain. There was a front porch lounge, which gave the feel of a vacation inn. The lobby was inviting and had a rack crammed full of brochures and information on area attractions. Off the lobby was the hotel's indoor pool and whirlpool. The large, sunny breakfast room (located off the main lobby) had floor-to-ceiling windows looking out on Lake Superior. There was a deck with chairs and tables for those who wished to take in the lake breezes.

Check-in was efficient, and we were given coupons to two restaurants within walking distance. A nice touch!

My mother and I were very pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. The room was decorated in a tasteful Mission style, which we found quite relaxing. The sitting area had a love seat that doubled as a sleeper sofa, a table & chairs, lamps by the love seat & table, and a microwave, mini-fridge & coffee maker. There were outlets for both high-speed & dial-up Internet access at the table. The bedroom had two queen-size beds (quite comfortable), full size double dresser, color cable television with remote, and an armoire/closet. The furnishings were high quality -- not that wood veneer stuff. The bathroom was large and well lit, and had plenty of counter space. We had plenty of towels, as well as shampoo, conditioner and hand lotion. Other in-room amenities included voice mail, pay-per-view movies (you can order a movie with a swipe of your credit card), iron/ironing board, and hair dryer. The hotel also has business services (computer with Internet access & printer), and a complimentary continental breakfast (standard fare).

The location in the heart of the Canal Park district can't be beat. You're literally steps away from the Lake Superior boardwalk, and within walking distance of such attractions as the Aerial Lift Bridge and Great Lakes Aquarium. Not to mention the bevy of dining and shopping options literally steps away. For all the activity in the neighborhood, noise was not really a problem (for the most part).

My mother paid $125.10 for one night. This was at the height of tourist season, and the hotel was completely booked the night we stayed there. When Mother booked the room she was given a choice of "lake view" or "city view." The lake view is $60 more -- but what an incredible view it is! She opted for the city view, and we had a nice view of the city, which is built on bluffs abutting Lake Superior. We noticed a pretty diverse group of guests -- mainly families, but also seniors and some couples.

This hotel very pleasantly surprised me. In my opinion, the quality was that of a Radisson or Sheraton, except for the lack of a full-service restaurant. Since there are so many restaurants in the area, that's not really a problem. My only regret is we didn't spend more time in Duluth to explore this very charming city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2004

We loved the Comfort Suites. We had a beautiful lake view. We were close to everything in Canal Park. The rooms were comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were quiet. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2004

You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The view is absolutely wonderful and so is the Staff. You coudn't give the staff the ratings they deserve because they give more than 300% to make sure your stay is the best. The breakfast is definitely more than your typical continental breakfast, and again the view while you eat is breathtaking. The Canal Park area is just wonderful. Watching the ships come in, I could go on forever. In short, if you are going to Duluth - Stay at the Comfort Suites. We were here for our daughters College Conference Track Meet and the location was ideal, and again the staff gave us preprinted directions to the University, made our stay so enjoyable. I can't wait to find a reason to go back.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2004

My family has stayed at this Comfort Suites many times & we always have a delightful time ! The staff is great, the rooms are wonderful & the location can't be beat !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2004

I have stayed at every hotel down in the Canal Park area and I have to say that the Comfort Suites is by far my favorite place to stay! The hotel makes you feel like you are stepping into class with their beautiful wooden starcase right when you walk into the hotel. All of the rooms there have refrigerator and microwaves as well as sofa-sleepers. The fact that they are the closest hotel to the liftbridge gives their guests the best view of the ships coming in. The staff also keeps you really informed of when the ships are coming in and out of the harbor. Their breakfast buffet is great!! They have belgian waffle makers, hard boiled eyes and fresh fruit. Their staff, down to the maintenance men and housekeeping are always smiling and they stop to talk to you to insure that you are having a great time in Duluth. For anyone that is looking for a great place to stay you have to pick the Comfort Suites!! And say hi to Molly at the front desk....she is the epidomy of customer service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.