We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Repeat customer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It is our only choice, as we travel through the Duluth area. The rooms are lovely and, if you get a balcony room on the lakeside, the views are spectacular regardless of the season. It is fun to watch the huge ore and grain carriers moving in and out of the harbor. The continental breakfast is superb and has everything a traveler could hope for in the morning. There is usually a cocktail hour with complimentary snacks and an open bar. Nearby, within easy walking, are several excellent choices for restaurants, and enough stores to satisfy the most ardent shoppers. There is also the Lake Walk and the famous lift bridge right outside the room, and rental bikes and horse drawn carriages in the summer season.
This is a busy hotel in popular seasons, so make reservations far in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, lakeside in the "new" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    86
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
143
92
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Chute, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is one of our favorites. The rooms we enjoy staying in are on the lake side with a balcony, the location is in walking distance to all the local attractions. There are always staff around keeping the place spotless. The breakfast staff were amazing keeping everything. The continental breakfast they served beats any restaurant. Everyone that works there is happy and enjoys their job .
If you are in the area and need a place we recommend this hotel . We will certainly be back !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

After living in MN for 25 years, my wife and I decided to visit Duluth for the first time. We were informed by numerous friends to find a hotel by the Canal Park area, otherwise our experience wouldn't be the same. We were fortunate to find a vacant room just one week prior to visiting (it was during the busy summer season). Initially, the cost was a bit higher than i'd preferred ($285/evening) vs ~$150-$200/evening for hotels that were located more inland. However, after staying here, we're so glad we choose this location, as everything was within walking distance from here. Additionally, on-site parking (one space / room), Wifi internet and hot breakfast were complimentary. There are numerous stores and restuarants nearby and the light-house and lift bridge were just a few minutes walk. The boardwalk (canal walkway) was literally behind the hotel and the lakeview from the room was fantastic.
My only (minor) complaint was the location of our room, as it was next to the public bathrooms and entrance to the pool area. It was a heavily trafficed area and was quite noisy (our door failed to dampen the noise from the hallway). Since the pool area was open for kids until 10 or 11pm, it remained noisy well into the evening. I would highly recomend to request rooms that are either on the 2 or 3rd floors, or if you have to be on the 1st floor, request a room as far away from the pool area.
Lastly, I want to praise the hotel staff for their professionalism and hospitality. From the gentleman who greeted us in the parking lot, to the front desk receptionist and breakfast staff, everyone had a smile on their face and was so polite. Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a 2nd floor, lake facing balcony room. It could not have been more perfect! We were right next to the lift bridge so we could sit on our balcony and watch boats go in and out of the channel as well as people watch as people walked on the 'Lakewalk". The service was fantastic from check in to check out. The breakfast every morning was nice. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. It's a little on the pricy side but for the location it is well worth it. If you're staying in Duluth and want to stay in Canal Park, I'd highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a lake facing balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a great place to stay if you are there to sightsee on Canal Park. We were a party of three. One was my elderly mother and it was perfect to be able to leave for a while, do some shopping, then return to pick her up to go out and eat. We rode the bikes and were able to pick her up at the hotel and then drop her off again after we rode the circuit. The beds were nice. The rooms are not spacious but fine for a short visit. We stayed in a handicapped room and the shower was perfect. Clean and new.
Be sure to sit on the front veranda and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the lake side, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Greetings! I agree with you that our hotel is in a prime location for all there is to see and do in the Canal Park area. I am glad that you found our accommodations for your mother to your liking and that you were able to enjoy the bikes for rent located next to the hotel. That is a popular activity for many of our guests. We hope you will come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The motel is nice and has a good location. You pay for the location. Upgraded my room to Lakeview for $20/night plus tax. Checked on my Choice Privilege Points and the check out clerk said no points due to me using Expedia to book and prepay my room. What a deal for Choice Hotels! Use my prepaid room money and don't even credit y account for the points. Sti;; a good motel and location.

Room Tip: Book from this motel by calling the motel only and hope that you get the best price possible because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We got a free upgrade to lake view room just by asking. We had nonrefundable reservation and they refunded one night because my husband was ill. View was unbelievable for the price. So lovely! Even thought they don't have a bar, they served cocktails and snacks during happy hour.
So many restaurants and sights right outside the door. You can walk to every thing. If you want to rent a bike, you can do that right next door. We had patio seating to watch the lift bridge at Grandma's on a perfect afternoon.
Staff were smiling and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.