We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Center of It all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Center of It all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

For value, convenience and close to many attractions in Duluth this is a great place to stay. Reserve early. The breakfast is outstanding. Very close to lake walk and aerial lift bridge and nearby good restruants.

Room Tip: Lake view room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs while in Duluth! Our hotel certainly is at the center of it all. We are walking distance to all the local attractions and some of the best restaurants around! Of course, shopping is a delight for all in Canal Park. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    96
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
154
96
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

They have a water view and a city view. They should include shingle view. Our window was located right behind the enteryway roof. You could see the clouds straigt up or the ladder laying in the bushes below.

Room Tip: Ask what your room window overlooks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor! I am terribly sorry that the view from your room did not meet and exceed your expectations. I would like the opportunity to book you into a room with a fantastic view at a discount. If you would please call me at the hotel, I would like to discuss this with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Comfort Suites is a decent hotel that gets the basics right. The room was pleasant and clean, and everything worked. The wifi was the only serious flaw; it was pretty sporadic and didn't have the bandwidth to handle the traffic. The breakfast area is more attractive and spacious than most, though the food was the usual. One eats a "complimentary breakfast" purely for convenience, not intrinsic pleasure. It was okay.

The location of the hotel is outstanding: right on the Lake and within walking distance of a terrific number of restaurants, shops, and attractions. We stayed three full days and never moved the car once. The Lift Bridge and Maritime Museum are two minutes away, the Lake Superior Aquarium a ten-minute walk, the bike rentals just outside the building, some great restaurants across the street.

I had hoped, and assumed, that all rooms facing the Lake would have balconies, but this isn't the case. We had a large window looking over Superior, but that was all. Some rooms do have balconies, but you'd have to be sure to request them specially. On our next trip to Duluth, we'd be content to stay here again, though we will also check out the other hotels on Canal Park or further up the shore.

Room Tip: You will of course want to stay on the Lake side of the hotel, and if you want a balcony, ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that our Wifi did not meet your expectations. We have since upgraded the Wifi and believe that it is much more able to handle the traffic within the hotel. I would also encourage you to try our balcony rooms that face Lake Superior. They are the most requested room types. We look forward to seeing you your next trip to Duluth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Whenever we travel to Duluth we try to stay at this hotel. The location is in a perfect location to explore the Duluth harbor. The rooms are always clean and they have the nicest lounge area and patio. Staff has always been courteous and helpful. I love that there is such a beautiful view of Lake Superior! The only complaint I have is that their prices are a bit high - we typically stay during off season in order to afford the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are so glad that you had such a wonderful experience at the Comfort Suites Canal Park! It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful weather on the patio and enjoy the lobby and breakfast area. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to you staying in our off season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We rode Harley all day and about 4pm decided we were going to stay in Duluth. We called all around are were not having any luck finding rooms. Finally called Comfort Suites and they had 2 rooms available. Obviously more than we were hoping to spend but there were several different events going on in town so we understood. We got there and the staff was very nice. Our rooms weren't quite ready but we completely understood since we had just booked them. There was a bar set up in the lobby so we all had a drink and waited for out rooms. The hotel is beautiful and our rooms did not disappoint either. Very spacious and comfortable! We changed and walked around Canal Street. SO MUCH TO DO!!! We walked to the lighthouse, which is great since the hotel is the closest to it, toured the small museum, and watched a huge ship come in. It was awesome! Checked out the shops and then ate at Grandmas. Amazing food! Do not miss out!! I would without a doubt stay at this hotel again!! Our bikes were safe outside overnight and they had a great breakfast the next morning!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
What a great review of the Comfort Suites Canal Park. We are so glad that we were fortunate to have you stay with us on your Harley trip. It sounds like you took full opportunity to experience what the hotel and Canal Park have to offer. If you decide to ride up this way again, please do come stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic, clean hotel with one of the best locations in Duluth. There are numerous restaurants all within walking distance, great shopping, and it's got balconies with water views of Lake Superior where you can sit and watch ships come in

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor! We really appreciate the time you took to talk about our location and that we have balcony rooms. Some balconies have a lovely city view and the others a spectacular view of Lake Superior. The ships are definitely moving under the Ariel Lift Bridge and the tourism season has begun! Do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We checked in on a Friday afternoon when the hotel was fully booked for the weekend. Check-in went smoothly and when we got to our room we were pleased. We hesitantly reserved a King Whirlpool Suite because there was nothing else available but the layout of the room is excellent and it worked out fine for our family. The room was in an "L" shape with the bathroom, couch/pull out bed and TV straight inside the door and the whirlpool and king sized bed (with awesome views of Lake Superior) around the corner providing some privacy. The room was spacious and had a good-sized bathroom, nice water pressure in the shower, comfortable beds, and plenty of storage room for clothes, etc.

The only negative was that our room was near the stairwell and kids were running through the halls and stairwell until at least 11 pm. Unfortunately, it was loud and with the door to the stairwell slamming shut every few minutes, it was difficult to fall asleep.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated being able to walk to restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoy running when we travel and the hotel is perfect for that because right out back is a path following the lake front. I highly recommend Amazing Grace Café across the street for a latte or baked goods. The windows in the rooms open so it's just awesome with the view of the lake and fresh air in the room. Plenty of free parking too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
You got to experience one of the best rooms in the hotel! I am so glad that it worked out well for your family to stay in. I am sorry to hear that it was a bit noisy for you with the kids running in the hallway and stairwell. We try to monitor that but unfortunately that isn't always possible. You also experienced a lot of the wonderful amenities of Canal Park. Amazing Grace's is a great place to eat if you choose not to enjoy our free hot breakfast. Please come again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.