We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our robotics team chose to stay here during the FRC competition in Duluth, Minnesota. We had a wonderful time! It was situated by several restaurants and a candy shop. Every night we went to a different restaurant and we spent our final night eating jellybeans. They were the kind where half are regular and half taste like centipedes or rotton cheese. In addition to its excellent location, Lake Superior was directly out through the back door. On our third day we saw a couple propose in front of the lakefront. Breakfast had WAFFLES and a wide variety of different meal choices everyday. In the evenings, they would bring out boneless wings or other snacks. Our window had a tree directly in front of it, but it would have been useful if a fire had occured. The only inconvenience that occured during our stay was when the fire alarm went off. However, it went off about five minutes before we were planning to wake up so it worked out great. Overall, our stay was fantastic and we have to thank the staff for graciously dealing with us when we locked some pillows in our room safe. (long story)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
It sounds like you had a very unique and wonderful time at the Comfort Suites Canal Park! I am glad that your robotics team stayed with us. We have always enjoyed the robotics kids and find them to be well behaved and delightful. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast and that staff in dealing with your locked pillows. I think we need to add jellybeans to our breakfast menu the next time your team comes to visit but we will pick some different flavors. Best of everything as you prepare for next years robotics competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    93
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
149
97
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anoka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for a night while in town for the weekend. The property was very well kept. Our two queen suite was very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and professional. Only complaint was a slightly too cold hot tub in the pool area. Would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity for being your lodging choice when you came to Duluth. I am sorry to hear that the hot tub was a bit cool for you. We actually have two hot tubs and perhaps the other one was a bit warmer. I am glad that you will recommend us in the future and hope that you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We came back from an outing on Lake Superior, checked in, and headed for the hot tub. We appreciated the poolside shower and ample supply of towels. The room was quiet with comfortable beds. The breakfast included a nice variety; the spice waffle was delicious. All in all, a nice getaway that met our expectations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we met your expectation. You mentioned our spice waffles. We actually have several flavors that we rotate through out the week. I hope that you will come stay with us again and perhaps we can do even better by exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Made reservations. They were taken wrong. Ended up sleeping on floor. Front desk weren't able to accommodate our family the first night of our stay. We were told no manager would be in for the weekend. Filled out survey and the manager mishandled situation. They turn situation to sour. Said they investigated situation and I was wrong.

Nice Hotel and great view. Poorly trained staff handling the situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Ross R, I am sorry that you feel that we were not able to meet your expectations with your room type when you checked in. We were not able to accommodate your needs on Friday due to lack of availability but we did offer you a room move to a room with two queen beds on Saturday. A $50 credit was given for our lack of not being able to meet your needs for Friday night.

I was not available most of the weekend however, we did have our front desk manager available. Mallory was manager on duty and she works hard to handle all situations given to her. We always make sure we have adequate coverage to handle guest issues.

Again, I apologize for not being able to meet your needs but should you request it in the future, we will be happy to do all that we can to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have visited family in Duluth many times, but have never had the opportunity to stay in Canal Park. Our stay exceeded our expectations, complete with a ship going through the canal during breakfast! The hotel lobby was warm and inviting. We had a heating issue the first night which was very quickly taken care of by the attentive and courteous staff. The breakfast had a good variety each day, and the food was refilled often. The kids said the pool temperature was good. There were 2 hot tubs, which were wonderful after a long day of playing in the snow. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, and the room size was perfect for our family of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Karyn, I am happy that we were able to exceed your expectations with our hotel amenities and the location of the hotel next to the pier. Seeing a ship come through is one of the highlights many of our guests look forward to while staying here at the Comfort Suites Canal Park. I am glad that we were able to resolve your heating issue in a timely manner and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you will choose us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is our first time staying at a Comfort Suites property. Our room was very nicely decorated, the beds super comfortable and everything in the room was extremely clean. The free breakfast was nice. The only thing that could have been better is if they had staff available to clean off the tables when guests are finished eating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are so glad that you choose to stay with us for the first time. I apologize on behalf of the breakfast team that the tables were not cleaned off in a timely manner. I have shared your review with them so that they can better understand that being speedy with clean up is very important to our guests. Otherwise, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we are your lodging choice the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Plenty of parking. Clean room. Easy walking to restaurants and activities. Good breakfast. We would stay here again especially for the location. It was pouring rain when we were there but with our umbrellas we went out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
It's wonderful to see people enjoying Duluth and Canal Park when its pouring rain out! Thank you for staying with us! We hope that you will stay with us again when you come back to explore the waterfalls and brew pubs of our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.