We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay on a cold winter's night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Stay on a cold winter's night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We came back from an outing on Lake Superior, checked in, and headed for the hot tub. We appreciated the poolside shower and ample supply of towels. The room was quiet with comfortable beds. The breakfast included a nice variety; the spice waffle was delicious. All in all, a nice getaway that met our expectations.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for responding to Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we met your expectation. You mentioned our spice waffles. We actually have several flavors that we rotate through out the week. I hope that you will come stay with us again and perhaps we can do even better by exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    85
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
142
88
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Made reservations. They were taken wrong. Ended up sleeping on floor. Front desk weren't able to accommodate our family the first night of our stay. We were told no manager would be in for the weekend. Filled out survey and the manager mishandled situation. They turn situation to sour. Said they investigated situation and I was wrong.

Nice Hotel and great view. Poorly trained staff handling the situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Ross R, I am sorry that you feel that we were not able to meet your expectations with your room type when you checked in. We were not able to accommodate your needs on Friday due to lack of availability but we did offer you a room move to a room with two queen beds on Saturday. A $50 credit was given for our lack of not being able to meet your needs for Friday night.

I was not available most of the weekend however, we did have our front desk manager available. Mallory was manager on duty and she works hard to handle all situations given to her. We always make sure we have adequate coverage to handle guest issues.

Again, I apologize for not being able to meet your needs but should you request it in the future, we will be happy to do all that we can to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have visited family in Duluth many times, but have never had the opportunity to stay in Canal Park. Our stay exceeded our expectations, complete with a ship going through the canal during breakfast! The hotel lobby was warm and inviting. We had a heating issue the first night which was very quickly taken care of by the attentive and courteous staff. The breakfast had a good variety each day, and the food was refilled often. The kids said the pool temperature was good. There were 2 hot tubs, which were wonderful after a long day of playing in the snow. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, and the room size was perfect for our family of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Karyn, I am happy that we were able to exceed your expectations with our hotel amenities and the location of the hotel next to the pier. Seeing a ship come through is one of the highlights many of our guests look forward to while staying here at the Comfort Suites Canal Park. I am glad that we were able to resolve your heating issue in a timely manner and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you will choose us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is our first time staying at a Comfort Suites property. Our room was very nicely decorated, the beds super comfortable and everything in the room was extremely clean. The free breakfast was nice. The only thing that could have been better is if they had staff available to clean off the tables when guests are finished eating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are so glad that you choose to stay with us for the first time. I apologize on behalf of the breakfast team that the tables were not cleaned off in a timely manner. I have shared your review with them so that they can better understand that being speedy with clean up is very important to our guests. Otherwise, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we are your lodging choice the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Plenty of parking. Clean room. Easy walking to restaurants and activities. Good breakfast. We would stay here again especially for the location. It was pouring rain when we were there but with our umbrellas we went out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
It's wonderful to see people enjoying Duluth and Canal Park when its pouring rain out! Thank you for staying with us! We hope that you will stay with us again when you come back to explore the waterfalls and brew pubs of our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk Centre, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our first stay at the Comfort Suites. And, we were very happy with our choice. Like my husband said, it's not fancy, but they do everything right. The room was spacious, very clean, a very, very comfortable bed and a huge walk-in tiled shower. The complimentary breakfast was impressive and delicous. Biscuits and gravy, bacon and eggs, fresh waffles, english muffins, to name a few items. The great room with a fireplace offered a nice, relaxing setting to enjoy the sunset over lake superior with a glass of wine (they also cater appetizers in from Bellisios). The location couldn't be better, everything you need is within blocks..The ONLY recommendation I could make would be to upgrade the toiletries. I was looking forward to something a little more decadent. We are looking forward to our next weekend get a way at Comfort Suites, thank you!

Room Tip: Next time I will request a 2nd floor room (we were on the 1st floor and could hear the people above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! You stayed in one of our nicest rooms in the house. We certainly do try to do everything right and it looks like we were successful with your stay. We hope that your next stay is equally as nice for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and both times was very, very happy. The location is great, right on the lake! The rooms are new, clean and well appointed, and the breakfast is great! an ideal place to stay in the Duluth area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice compliment on Trip Advisor. Our rooms are practically new as we have done some renovating to keep everything fresh for our guests. We like our breakfast too and work hard to give you many options to eat after a great nights rest. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.