We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and both times was very, very happy. The location is great, right on the lake! The rooms are new, clean and well appointed, and the breakfast is great! an ideal place to stay in the Duluth area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice compliment on Trip Advisor. Our rooms are practically new as we have done some renovating to keep everything fresh for our guests. We like our breakfast too and work hard to give you many options to eat after a great nights rest. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    81
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
131
82
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are amazing! Fresh, remodeled comfortable and hotel is located right on the lake. Great breakfast. Within walking distance to so many attractions and restaurants. Received coupons for Grandmas bar and had a great meal and drink. Can't wait to visit Duluth again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the awesome compliment on our remodel. We completed it in March of this year with all new granite, tiles tubs, etc. in each of our main building bathrooms. We changed out some of the furniture too. We look forward to being your lodging choice the next time you come to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Duluth for a conference at the DECC. The Comfort Suites is within walking distance of some very good shops and restaurants, Timberlodge, Grandmas, etc. The hotel room (335) was nice and clean. Two queen beds and a couch. the bathroom was tiled, big tub and a light overhead in the shower. The view was cityside. You can expect to hear foghorns at all times of the day and night (during shipping season). Big ships coming in and out at all times, but that's the beauty of it. Breakfast was very good with what you would expect these days: eggs, sausage, bacon, waffle maker, fruit, juices, pastry, etc. Good selection and variety. Beautiful view of Lake Superior from the breakfast/dining area. There is a walking/jogging path just outside the door that stretches along the lake for a couple of miles. You can get anywhere in the city (driving) in a matter of minutes and many restaurants will deliver to your room. If you forget your wireless device, you can use their computer down by the lobby in a private room. Staff are very accomodating and friendly. We have stayed here before and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Higher, lakeside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us when you came to the DECC for your conference. The DECC has been a wonderful asset to the Duluth area and many conventions of all sizes use this facility. We are among some of the closest hotels to the DECC and many enjoy the leisurely walk to attend their sessions. You can't beat the scenery and the amenities we have here at the Comfort Suites Canal Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I'm not much of a one for recommending franchises one way or the other, but this one fit the ticket for the end of a travel week in the fall that brought us unsettled weather. Having travelled around this half of Lake Superior this time around, we arrived to all the amenities, restaurants within walking distance, a lovely room, quiet, fantastic breakfast, decent-priced drinks in the evening with tidbits, and a spectacular view of the Duluth Lift Bridge almost outside our window. Nice verandas and public areas if you don't want to get wet in the rain or fried in the sun. Only thing lacking was an on-site restaurant, but see above.
Price was right. Very clean. Comfy beds.
"If you conisder price only, you are lawful prey."
Thoreau (I think)

Room Tip: Facing the parking area and Canal Park is cheaper and not a bad view. Some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you so much for recommending us on Trip Advisor. We did indeed have less than ideal weather when you were here. I am glad that we were able to give you rest and relaxation on the end of your travel week. We hope that you will stay with us again when you travel this side of Lake Superior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a wonderful, restful, quiet night of much needed sleep at this hotel. Very clean. Enveloping, pillow top bed with nice thick sheets. Blissful. Breakfast selection was better than expected with a great view of Lake Superior from the dining area. We enjoyed a brisk morning walk on the lakeshore walk right from the hotel. Front desk staff were prompt and professional. They really did a great job and we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hello! I am so thankful that you were able to get a much needed night of sleep. It sounds like you were wonderfully surprised to have a blissful experience with us. We appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor and hope that you will consider us again when you need another great nights rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found it very enjoyable in great location in Canal Park. The rooms were spacious, with a separate sitting area and a terrace looking out on Lake Superior. A nice amenity was the serving of drinks in the afternoon (fee) in the lobby. The only “complaint” is that the breakfast area was very crowded and congested. We ended up taking our food back to our room.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the lake; it's worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am very glad that you had a nice stay with us. Our balcony rooms are especially spacious and many come with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. Yes, our breakfast room does get crowded but we do supply trays for those who would prefer to dine in their rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Canal Park. The hotel was great. Very friendly people, great breakfast which was included. Our room was clean and we had a great view of Lake Superior. It was a little pricey, but we booked it during peak fall color season. The main issue was our vacation was pretty much washed out due to weather, with 40 mph winds and rain all weekend. This was nothing the hotel could control, obviously. We will definitely book this hotel again when we go back to Duluth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments about the Comfort Suites Canal Park. I am sorry that we couldn't order up nicer weather for your stay. I do hope that the very next time you come to Duluth that we have perfect weather for you. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.