We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel with Fabulous Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel with Fabulous Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Comfort Suites Canal Park in Duluth last week. It was a fabulous place to stay for many reasons. Room was comfortable with a choice of hard or soft pillow; check-in was easy and the front desk staff were great. Breakfast is included and had so many choices it was hard to decide what to eat, There were eggs dishes, bacon, self-made waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, and all included in the price. You can eat indoors, or out on the patio.

The hotel is located next to the Aerial Bridge and you can watch the bridge go up and down when ships and boats come in and our of the harbor.

It was a fabulous time and the entire experience was fantastic!

Room Tip: The view from a lake view room is fabulous and you can see the ships come and go. The 3rd/top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Wow, we love reading comments about our wonderful hotel and our service! Thank you very much for your comments. It's wonderful to hear that that guests like you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and in the Canal Park area. Ship watching is a great past time for guests as well as our staff. I am glad that you got to share in our joy that we experience almost every day here at the Comfort Suites Canal Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    76
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
126
76
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites this past week and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. True it is a chain hotel and would not have been our first choice but turned out to be a great place. The room was large and spacious and very clean....we paid more to be facing the lake. The sunrise and sunset were magnificant! There were several reminders around the room that if things did not meet our needs - to let them know as soon as possible as they wanted our stay to be perfect. Breakfast was very ample - eggs, sausage, waffles, toast/bagels, yogurt, cereal, Would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Duluth.

Room Tip: The rooms on the far end - closest to the bridge - I am sure are lovelly. However, they are also cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Greetings from the Comfort Suites! Thank you for giving our hotel a try and finding that we may be a chain hotel but we try to set ourselves apart so that we can be remembered. We do try to listen to our guests when there is a dissatisfaction level. I'm sorry to hear about the smell from the horses. You were here when the heat and the humidity were the highest and it tends to bring out all the smells. Normally we don't have an issue with the animal smells. Our guests often enjoy having a carriage ride around Canal Park. We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I decided to upgrade my room and got a room with king size bed, balcony overlooking lake superior, small suite. it was terrific. the room was spotless and very up to date. the bath was also very clean with little amenities in it -- shampoo, soap, lotion, conditioner -- little things that help. the towels were fresh and fluffy -- like that a lot. our sleep was extremely comfortable. the king bed had fresh cotton linens on it with 6 pillows. we slept like little babies! balcony was nice and clean - fun to be on the water, with a glass of wine and watch the ships come in. breakfast was great. hot, fresh with a latte machine. all in all -- it was great. highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello! It sounds like you had a marvelous time at the Comfort Suites Canal Park. You stayed in one of our most popular rooms. We have worked hard as a team to make sure that your rooms are extremely clean. Our laundry people take extra care with all our bedding and linens to make sure they are the cleanest and freshest they can be. I am happy that you experienced our new pillow program where you can choose between firm and soft pillows. We hope that you will come back soon to enjoy another wonderful nights rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were pleasantly greeted in this large, popular hotel situated right on the canal. It is an easy walk to shops and restaurants in the Canal Park area. It is bubbling with activity and one can even visit a museum on foot. The walking path, accessed just out the front of the hotel on the lakeside, provides a great place to exercise and see the sights of the canal. Friendly staff. Only criticism is that kids dominate the pool leaving little time or peace for adults to use it.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a lakeview room - fun to see the freighters pass by your front door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Greetings from the Comfort Suites! Thanks for taking the time to send your comments to Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that the staff greeted you and that you enjoyed many of the amenities of Canal Park. I agree that sometimes our pool gets overwhelmed with kids. Many families like to come to our hotel as we are family friendly. Hopefully you were able to find some quieter time to enjoy the pool. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel many times when we have visited Duluth, but this was the first time since they put the addition on with the balconies and we chose on of those rooms as we were traveling with two small children. You can't beat the location as it is the closest hotel to the lift bridge, bike rentals, trolley stop and Grandma's Restaurant. The room was clean and quiet. The balcony was perfect for watching the boats on the lake and people watching throughout the day. The breakfast is typical fare with eggs, waffles, patries, cereal and beverages. They do have a nice pool area, although we did not make use of it. I still think it is one of the best values for staying in the area and if you are looking for a hotel that is consistant in cleanliness, that is quiet and offers a wonderful location, this is the one to choose.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Greetings from the Comfort Suites Canal Park. We appreciate you commenting on your stay with us. I am glad that you finally got to experience our balcony rooms. Most would agree with you that the views are spectacular and much more quieter than the standard rooms. We appreciate that you notice our consistency in cleanliness too. The housekeeping staff work very hard to maintain our rooms and building. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I had the greatest time here in Duluth. Wish there was more time to go sight seeing in this beautiful town. We appreciate all of your hospitality , and will definitely come back in the future. Love the complimentary coffee and breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I am glad that we were able to accomodate your stay and help you have a wonderful experience. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice. Both times have been great. Beautifully clean and updated rooms, amazing location, friendly staff, nice pool and delicious breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and sight seeing attractions. I'll definitely be back again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for staying with us again! I think you have entered our "repeat guest" club! I hope we never let you down and will continue a long tradition of you staying at the Comfort Suites Canal Park every time you come our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites
Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.