We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
San Diego, California
1 review
“Thank You!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I had the greatest time here in Duluth. Wish there was more time to go sight seeing in this beautiful town. We appreciate all of your hospitality , and will definitely come back in the future. Love the complimentary coffee and breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I am glad that we were able to accomodate your stay and help you have a wonderful experience. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    93
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
149
97
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice. Both times have been great. Beautifully clean and updated rooms, amazing location, friendly staff, nice pool and delicious breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants and sight seeing attractions. I'll definitely be back again! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for staying with us again! I think you have entered our "repeat guest" club! I hope we never let you down and will continue a long tradition of you staying at the Comfort Suites Canal Park every time you come our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Earth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My family spent 4 nights here on a little family vacation. We opted for a balcony room with a lake view and it did not disappoint! The extra money is by far worth it. The rooms are bigger and the balconies are fantastic. We have young kids (3 1/2 and 9 months) and we never worried about them venturing out on our second floor balcony. The rooms gave the kids (and us) plenty of room to stretch out and play. The bathroom was large and spacious. They fridge, microwave, extra sink, and cupboard space was great for stashing all of our kid stuff. Best of all, you are a stones throw from Canal Park and everything is so easily accessible by foot.

My only minimal complaints are that the breakfast area is small so we ended up bringing food up for us to our room each morning. The pool area also gets really hot and congested.

Overall, excellent stay. Clean, friendly, and centrally located.

Room Tip: Lake view balcony on 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for bringing your family to the Comfort Suites! It sounds like you had the perfect room for your family. Our balcony rooms are the most requested rooms. These rooms are bigger than the rooms in our main building and there is ample room to stretch out and play. Our breakfast room can get congested during the busy summers as most guests have several in their party. We do have an overflow room however, most guests want to look at the Big Lake when enjoying their breakfast. We hope to see you again with your lovely family next summer too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motley, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location we were with in walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Duluth. So glad we spent the extra money to stay closer to the canal. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Room was very clean. Breakfast was great. Will be going back again for another stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am delighted to hear that you feel that we are worth the extra money to have all the amenities of Canal Park. I hope that your next stay is equally as wonderful as this last visit. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the years. My husband and I stayed in a king suite with a balcony. Lovely view of the lake. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. My daughter got stuck in a room across the hall from the hotel laundry. Why would you put a guest room within 3 feet of a very noisy laundry? My grandson could not nap because of the noise from the laundry and the pool nearby. Next time I would insist on a different room. The breakfast was surprisingly good even when we went down late in the service. Plenty of hot eggs and bacon, along with muffins and donuts. It was a good way to start the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the lake at the end of a hall or on an upper floor (away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your daughter had a not so satisfactory stay in a noisy part of the hotel. I would encourage her to please ask for a different location because of the noise level. We will work hard to honor that request. I would also like to suggest that you consider staying in one of our balcony rooms. These rooms are much quieter and away from the busy part of the pool and laundry room. We hope you will come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went up for the Tall ships. We were happy to have found a room when we did. It was a city view ( darn ). The room was very clean and we had a wonderful stay. The hotel staff was very very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. They had a great deck to sit and relax ( on the street side) They set up a bar area at night and served some light appetizers. Was happy with breakfast that was served. Even had cinnamon and also strawberry flavored waffle batters ! The room was a nice size. We had 3 adults and a one year old. Plenty of room to play with her toys ! With one adult not being able to walk far, the location was great. It was close to the lift bridge. All worked out well. Can not wait for a return trip. The next time getting lake view for sure !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us during the Tall Ships Festival. It certainly was a sight to behold! Please be sure to call the hotel directly to book your lakeview room the next time you decide to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I told the front desk at check out I would give them a glowing review on Trip Advisor, and the broad smiles that came across their faces showed that they truly care about customer service. The location cannot be beat. We parked our vehicle and walked everywhere. The room had a lovely view of the lake. There were people using the walking path, jogging, taking horse drawn carriage rides, boats were coming and going. It was just beautiful!
The room was squeaky clean and well stocked. The breakfast attendants had a bit of trouble keeping up because of the crowds there fro the Tall Ships Festival, but it was still a good experience. They have a great patio area on the lakefront to eat, read the paper, or have a cup of coffee or a drink.
They had a parking lot attendant there (because of the Tall Ships, I assume) and he was just as pleasant as pie.
We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I bet my front desk staff did light up when you told them that we would have glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. They work very hard to try and provide the best guest service that they can. You make our passion for hospitality worth it! Our parking lot attendant is there all summer long because parking is a premium in Canal Park. We want to make sure that our parking lot is reserved for our guests and even then sometimes we don't have enough parking. The breakfast crew work double hard to keep up with the large breakfast crowds during our summer months. I am glad that you got to experience the great outdoors with your breakfast. We look forward to your next return and hope we can do it all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.