We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest Compliment: We will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highest Compliment: We will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

Wonderful location right next to Lake Superior, Canal Park, and the Aerial Lift Bridge. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfasts were a treat (waffles, eggs, and meat) with a spacious eating area and the view of the lake from the windows. We enjoyed the experience so much that we are already planning to return for our family vacation next year!

  • Liked — proximity to Canal Park
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    86
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
143
90
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed here just one night on our way through Duluth however we have stayed here for other weekend trips. The front desk staff are always friendly and helpful. The hotel appears nice and clean however the wear and tear is starting to tell. Like our bathroom sink had a chunk taken out of it. The hotel is right on the waterfront and beside the bridge. It is something to watch the ships coming and going. The ships and bridge horn only honk during certain hours in order to not disturb hotel area guests. I have never heard honking during the night or early morning hours. There are many places to eat and drink nearby as is the DECC and an IMAX and move theater. It is very easy to get off the interstate or to go to downtown Duluth. We picked this hotel as it was the least expensive place to stay in canal park on that day. Save traveling to you all...

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2008

We just returned from our trip to Duluth for the weekend. We decided to get away from the cities and booked our hotel a day before we left. We spent $120/nt on lakeside king bed suite. We thought that it was a very good deal as the hotel was in front of the lake and it was the weekend. There was a catch, however.
There was a hockey tournament in town and there were many kids. The room was clean although it was a bit small. Breakfast was good. The pool was small but it was enough for our toddler.
We let "hockey kids" have fun because they are just kids until they started playing music (instrument) after 10pm. The hotel clerk was very good about dealing with our complaints and the noise came down to an acceptable level. Then our toddler started screaming. She's done several trips to overseas with no problems and she never had problems with sleeping in different beds. This was actually the shortest trip we have made so far. I was so worried that anybody could hear her screaming because of its thin wall.
The reason we are not going to stay this hotel was its noise. The wall was so thin that you could hear everything. I mean "everything". This is our first time we stayed at this chain hotel and it may be their standards for the price we paied for. Next time we're not going to make a same mistake again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

I stayed in Duluth from the 23rd of October until the 26th. The hotel has an excellent location and is easy to reach. Generally I liked the stay very much.
Annoying was the smell though. It really smelled like some synthetic paint or strong cleaner throughout the entire hotel. After ventilating the room it got better, but it was very cold, so I had no chance to keep windows open.
I was waked up a few times by very loud neighbor guests, slamming doors, and so on. But this is not a problem of the hotel, but the guests. You also hear the very loud horns of the ships moving trough the canal during the night, quite romantic, but I don’t get the point of all the noise in the middle of the night.
Staff was OK.
I would have liked a little bit more of a refined way of serving breakfast for the price of the rooms.

  • Liked — Location and Parking
  • Disliked — The smell in the corridors
  • Tips/Secrets — Better presentation of breakfast
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

As always this is the place to stay while visiting Duluth. Everything is always as it should be while staying here.

  • Liked — NIce place
  • Disliked — None to mention
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2006

My husband and I have been talking up one of Minnesota's loveliest cities - Duluth - for some time to our Iowa relatives. My brother-in-law and sister-in-law agreed to drive up from Des Moines to join us for a visit. Our trip was made even more enjoyable by the Comfort Suites Canal Park. It is located close to all that the area surrounding the waterway and aerial bridge has to offer. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, courteous and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is a plus. Would definitely recommend to visitors of all ages.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

We loved the city of Duluth. It really has some beautiful architecture. The Canal Park area was very touristy. We were right on the water-the boardwalk was great for people watching. Our room had some issues. The beds were uncomfortable. The toilet broke. The light in the bathroom was broken. The noise from the traffic on Canal was bothersome.
We would probably try another hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.