We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites this past weekend and had an five star experience. The room was clean, updated and surpassed my expectations. We had a really nice view of canal park - room 353. The balcany has a nice side table with two chairs to people watch and check on what's going on in the city. The beds and pillows were absoltuley amazing. Enough to where we are purchasing the pillows for the company. Can't wait to go back in the summer time!

Room Tip: Best pillow and bed ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I'm pleased to hear you had such a good time! Excellent choice of room- the two queen suite with seperate seating are is really nice! The city view is an often overlooked luxury in our hotel- you can watch the hustle and bustle, and even get a bit of a bridge view! I'm glad you're buying the pillows- you'll love them for a long time! I look forward to having you back again. You'll really enjoy the balcony in the summertime! Be sure to give us a call if we can give you a hand with reservations, or help with anything else. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    83
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
137
84
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We Stayed at the Comfort Suites Canal Park for 3 nights during spring break. We usually stay a a close by hotel, but decided to try something different.

We are a family of 5, with 2 teens and a son in college. Our room had 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. Our son liked the 1/2 wall partition between the sofa bed and the beds. The room had a very nice bathroom with a tub. Everyone liked the wi-if, although it was a little slow sometimes. Great view of the lake. Nice flat screen tv. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Good breakfast, coffee available all day. Nice dining/lounge area at back of hotel with lots of windows to see the lake. They also had a fireplace and a selection of books (take a book, leave a book).

Parking on weekends can be difficult. We returned at 10:30 on a Friday night to find the hotel's parking lot completely full. The front desk gave us a sign to hang from our rear view mirror and told us to park in the public lot across the street. Plan ahead.

We were happily surprised by a cash bar and a free appetizer in the lobby/dining area 2 of the 3 nights we were there. Apparently, this amenity is available when the hotel is at a certain occupancy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm very pleased we were able to accommodate your whole family. I'm sorry the Wi-Fi became slow for you! Be certain to give us a shout next time- we've got signal boosters available!

Parking can get hectic, especially as tourist season approaches! I'm sorry you had to park a bit further away, but hope the accommodations of our overflow lot fit your need!

We're glad to offer the cash bar, staffed by Bellisio's. Most nights of the week, we have our bar staffed from five until eight or nine! Occasionally, the bar is called off. When this occurs, we have fresh baked cookies for our guests! In the coming months, the bar will become an even more regular staple in our lobby.

We appreciate your review, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Please don't hesitate to give us a call if you need any assistance or questions concerning your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband stays at this hotel regularly for work, so when the kids are not in school, we are up in Duluth with him. The staff at this hotel is very friendly- everyone is quick to give a "hello". The rooms are nice and clean with comfy beds and pillows. Request a room on the lake side- the views will not disappoint! You shouldn't leave breakfast feeling hungry- waffles, eggs/sausage/bacon/biscuits, breads, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit. The location of the hotel is perfect. It is the closest hotel in Canal Park to the canal/bridge. It is just steps to the lakewalk- enjoy a run, walk, or bike for a couple miles along the lake (and if the weather is not cooperating, the hotel has a very nice fitness center!). Many restaurants and shops are all within walking distance from the hotel as are the DECC, lake park, Bayfront Park, and downtown Duluth. The Comfort Suites Canal Park is a perfect compliment to your trip to the Northland!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janelle M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. It's wonderful that you can visit with your husband when he is here in Duluth for work. Our staff works very hard to maintain a friendly atmosphere and there is certainly many wonderful opportunities for families to have fun. I am glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast too! We look forward to having with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had the king suite with fireplace and hot tub.Room was huge, and had a nice view of canal park. Lots of places to eat and drink with in walking distance. Had a very nice breakfast each morning. Will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the review! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you back soon. Please give us a call if we can be of any assistance with your reservation or travel accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and found the location was easy to get in and out of, the view of the lake was perfect, the pool wasn't the biggest but also was deep enough that our 5' tall daughters could jump in the deep end and the 2 hot tubs were nice to have there. Breakfast was a very full one, changing slightly each day - 3 waffle machines was a nice touch as I've been to hotels where you get a long line due to having just one. Had a key that didn't work but they replaced it quickly. Bit of a challenge to use the stairs as they are far from the main entrance if you want to use them to get to the 3rd floor, but the stairs to the 2nd level look nice and are right at the entrance area. The room was a good size and we loved having the sofa bed as a 3rd bed (5 people in one room makes that a big, big asset).

Room Tip: We had a lake view room, very nice view from the 3rd level. 2nd level would probably be best due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! We appreciate the thoughts, and the insight as to your satisfaction. I’m glad we were able to resolve the key trouble quickly. I’m sorry about the challenge concerning the stairs! Many guests use the elevator in the lobby for just this reason. I’m pleased you were able to take full advantage of our hotel’s amenities- from breakfast to the swimming pool, it sounds like you were able to take it all in. Thank you again for your review and kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Don’t hesitate to call us if we can be of any help booking future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had never stayed at a Comfort Suites before my trip to Duluth, but this hotel exceeded all of my expectations. I chose this hotel because it looked like one of the "upper-class" establishments in Duluth, and also because it was conveniently located in Canal Park. When I walked in, I was met be extremely friendly and helpful front desk staff. We requested a room with a view of the Aerial Lift Bridge and it was fantastic to look out the window and be able to see ships passing underneath the bridge. The room was very spacious, and my bed was super-comfortable. The hotel was in walking distance of pretty much everything we did in Duluth, and the back door leads right onto the beautiful Lakewalk. One morning, we had continental breakfast in the restaurant there. There was an incredible selection of food (try the waffles) and we ate outside looking right out at the beautiful lake--this hotel is literally right on the beach. Staying at this hotel was an amazing experience. I'm sure I'll return to Duluth in the future and this will definitely be where I stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for either a lake view or a view of the bridge! There may be an extra expense, but it's def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for all your compliments! We appreciate all you have to say about our hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfast, as well as the room and the location! Thank you so much for the pictures you’ve put on the page as well- excellent shots, especially of the lake! We’ll be happy to hear from you, give us a call if we can assist with booking your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We've never stayed at any of the Choice Hotels before, we were very pleasantly surprised at how nice the Comfort Suites Canal Park is. We stayed there on a Saturday night as a family and had a double queen bed suite. The rooms were huge, with the bedroom and sitting room separated from each other by french doors. The room and hotel were very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. And the complimentary breakfast had enough variety to accommodate everyone's taste.
The mattress was a tad on the firm side. But the mix of hard/soft pillows was really nice. Great location for ship watching! We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I’m glad you decided to stay with us on your trip to Duluth. Choice Hotels have a lot to offer! I’m happy to hear you liked the suite you stayed in. We appreciate the kind words about our staff, as well- everyone works hard to make sure our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible, and it’s great to hear that it’s noticed! Thank you so much for your kind review, and for taking the time to write about your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Free internet...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Free internet...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 32 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.