We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had planned a longer stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wish I had planned a longer stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location right on the lake shore a lot of restaurants nearby and a short walk to downtown. Incredible breakfast served in a nice breakfast room with access to the lake and the jogging path hugging the lakeshore. Very nice room and great service to go along with it, not a negative that I could think of. All in all, a great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Splurge for a lake view room. Long two buildings that are connected. New building has balconies, lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let me know if I can help with travel plans on your next trip to town. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    83
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
137
84
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a 2QB Suite and these rooms are some of the largest we have seen. The room had 2QB (very comfortable), QB Sofa Sleeper, 2 sitting chairs, Desk area, large dresser, TV, Fridge, Microwave, and coffee maker (single cup). The bathroom was nice size with a large vanity but all in one room. We were on the 1st floor with a balcony to the lake side which was
a great view of the lake and lighthouse. Only room complaint would be that the bathroom floor seemed cold. Breakfast offerings were both hot and cold with waffles, scrambled eggs, bisquits and gravy, cold cereal, instand oatmeal, some fruit, mini muffins, bagels and toast. The seating area in the breakfast area was nice with plenty of tables and a view of the lake. Down side of the breakfast was that the beverage area was back in a little nook which got pretty congested. Pool was fair size and provided 2 hottubs. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and accomodating! If you are in Duluth and want to see the lake, bridge, canal park or marina, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are amazing and worth the dollar difference of city view. However, the city view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy your visit. I agree completely with you, the lake side and city sides both have some positive notes and you can't go wrong with either. I hope you'll think of us on your next trip to Duluth. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance when making travel arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I love the city of Duluth and always try to stay in the Canal Park area. This hotel is great; wonderful staff, room was very nice, awesome location on the lake, and top-notch breakfast. This hotel would be rated Excellent, but some of the lobby and stairwell is showing wear and tear. But this will be my choice hotel in the area when traveling for work and vacation.
I really wish I could remember the lady's name that checked me, because she was wonderful.

Room Tip: Request lakeview if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm excited to report that we are undergoing some extensive renovations currently, in our rooms and also in some of our public areas. We can't wait to show them off on your next visit, and hope that it will boost us up to "excellent" status for your next review! Thanks again for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butternut wi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were in Duluth for an event. It is a great location and a 5 min walk to the Center. Numerous places to eat within walking distance. Hotel room was fine, clean and well maintained. We were on the 3rd floor which was being upgraded. Construction was not a problem. Workers quit the area at 4pm and did not return until around 9am, never heard them. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and good. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review! I'm glad to hear that our location was convenient for your needs while in town. It's definitely a great perk to be walking distance to so many different things, including attractions and restaurants. Thank you for your comments on our construction; we have tried hard to keep noise to a minimum during the refurbishing process and I'm glad to hear it wasn't a disruption for you. You'll have to come back and check out the finished product on your next trip--we are very excited to show them off, and would love to welcome you back on your next visit! Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN & FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best breakfast I have had at a Comfort Suites. Plenty of options and a diligengent staff to keep it stocked. Room was a little noisy, I could easily hear conversation from next room. I have come to expect more from Comfort Suites, so I was disappointed with that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks for taking time to leave us feedback on your recent stay! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our kitchen staff are hard workers and do a wonderful job; I'll be sure to pass on your compliments. I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the noise volume while you were with us, though. Our balcony suites tend to be a bit quieter, and we often recommend them for those who are lighter sleepers. We are also going through a significant upgrade in our non-balcony suites currently and are excited to show off the new changes. Thank you again for staying with us! If I can be of any assistance in planning your next trip, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

By far our first, favorite and really "only" choice for hotels when we travel to Duluth! The rooms, amenities, proximity, and staff make it our home away from home on a weekly basis! The breakfasts are outstanding as are the rooms! We travel to Duluth on a weekly basis and have researched all the hotels in the area from the beginning. We have even stayed at a few of the others in the beginning, but we have made Comfort Suites Canal Park our #1 when it comes to our place to stay when we come to visit our son in college at UMD! I would estimate we have stayed here over a dozen times and have NEVER had a problem or issue. Don't hesitate on this property/hotel when looking for a place to stay!

Room Tip: Balcony Suites overlooking Lake Superior are the best! Especially if you're an early riser and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Wow, thank you so much for such a kind review! I'm flattered to hear that we are your only choice in Duluth. We certainly love our location and the views from the balconies on the lake side are stunning! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance on your future visits. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wanted to stay in a Hotel close to Canal Park in Duluth, MN so we chose the Comfort Suites. We liked that it was right on Lake Superior and a easy walk to Canal Park, food and shopping. We did not have a lake view room, but that was okay as we were only there one night and it was cool to see the Lift Bridge and the city lights from our window. The room was nice with 2 queen beds and a hide-a bed couch, so if you stay there with a small family you would have plenty of room. The breakfast was great! We stayed during the week, so there were probably less people than on a weekend. They served scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, muffins, bagels, cold cereals and more. The breakfast staff was really friendly and very helpful, they were very accommodating to some guests who got up late and didn't make it to the breakfast area until after the 10:00 am cutoff time. We will probably stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast! I'll be sure to pass your compliments to our kitchen staff--they work hard to make sure it is a pleasant experience for all of our guests. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.