We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed in Canal Park at the Comfort Suites many times and never been disappointed. The Front Desk staff are always pleasant (unlike many others), the breakfast is certainly way above the norm, and the area is beautiful. We walked the boardwalk and then over the bridge....lots of places to stop and enjoy the view.
The newer area of the hotel seems to have the only balconies (at a price - of course), but again...well worth it!
I would never hesitate to stay here, whether it's for only a night, or a few extra days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    85
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
142
88
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had great service from the minute we walked in. The hotel was imaculate. They had a bar after 5pm and free appetizers. Theyy have a large breakfast buffet that was very nice. The view was spectacular. The hotel was quiet, relaxing and everyone was very friendly. We could see hte ships come and go and sit on the balcony and peple watch. It is located in an area that you can walk to most anything you want to do. Our room was around $215.00 per night but it was worth it. We stayed in a horrible hotel the night before in Deerwood MN and it was 100.00 per night. They had mold, holes in sheetrock, tiles just hanging in the bathroom and sheets that did not fit so you were up all night putting them back on. Even at double the money this hot;el was well worth it. We had a great experience and can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad to hear that we were able to make your stay worthwhile. So sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay in Deerwood; that sounds like it was incredibly uncomfortable. Our location is tough to beat, and the ships are so close by--I'm glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the area and enjoy your time with us. Please let me know if I can assist you in any future travel plans to Duluth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As said in other reviews, the Comfort Suites is right in the thick of things for people want to experience the lift bridge, Edna G, Maritime Museum, etc.

The lake facing rooms have wonderful views of Lake Superior.

We stayed on the 3rd floor which is served by only one elevator so at times it took a while to get on one. The second floor is served by a stairs in addition to the single elevator.

The breakfast food buffett was good (for this type of hotel food). The lines for food were relatively long at times but generally less than five minutes.

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. We'd stay there again if visiting Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On the third floor, perfect view of Lake Superior. This is the hotel we ALWAYS stay at when visiting Duluth. The boardwalk is always a must to enjoy.
The free breakfast is fresh, hot and outstanding. Rooms were very clean. The only way the hotel could have been better.... if we could have stayed more nights :)
Of course we'll be back!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for lake front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massanutten,va
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This property is situated on Canal Park Drive on the shore of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN.
We booked a suite with a balcony and it was woth the $200.00/night incl. taxes. You can walk to a number of restaurants and Canal Park is adjacent to the property. A boardwalk is on the lake side of the property ans stretches many miles along the lake. The big ore boats enter the harbor right next to the motel. These boats are 1,000 ft. long! We would have liked real drinking glasseses and china cups. From the motel, Duluth is easily accessible and it is a city worth seeing.

Room Tip: Don't book a room without a balcony and make sure a first floor room is not behind a bush or tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was our second visit to this property for a "girls" weekend and I was very pleased with the room and the views. I highly recommend a room with a view of the lift bridge and the lake. While the rate may seem a little high for a typical traveler to Duluth, I thought it was reasonable given the convenient location on Canal Park (walking distance to many activities and restaurants), and the views. Two of us stayed in a very spacious king suite with a fireplace, jetted tub (in the room), sitting area, 2 mounted flat screen tvs, and, nice bathroom with walk in shower. It also had a wrap around deck with plenty of room for 6 people during cocktail hour. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Stayed in a queen suite last year with a deck (lake view) and that was great as well. My only complaint is the happy hour appetizers, which was a single chafing dish of either meatballs or mozzeralla sticks. It would have been nice to see another tray with veggies - seemed a bit stingy. Thanks for another great stay and we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: corner king suite worth the extra $ for the wrap around deck and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura O, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your girls' getaway weekend! Our bridge view whirlpool suite does offer some fantastic views of the ships and lift bridge--I'm glad to hear you and your friends were able to spread out and relax in it. Our appetizers do change nightly and often include veggies and dip or other healthier options, but unfortunately do go quickly some nights. We are walking distance to over a dozen restaurants with great menus, however, and hope that you were able to have a great meal at one of our neighboring restaurants. We hope to welcome you and your girlfriends back on your next trip. Please let me know if I can be of any help with your future travel plans to Duluth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved this hotel. The best location in Duluth for centralized activities. Our room was $150+ per night but would do it all over again. Our children LOVED watching the big freight ships traverse the canal right from the balcony of our room. The sunrise was amazing over Lake Superior(right from the room). Overall, the hotel was very clean and staff was amazingly helpful. The pool was very well maintained with plenty of towels for swimmers. On site parking is included in the room price. This is a big advantage since local parking lots are $4 or $6 per day and are scarce to find available. Another bonus, the breakfast variety is beyond belief. Hot scrambled eggs and fresh made waffles among many other options.
Strongly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Take the balcany option if available, it is absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.