We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
50onthego
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Nice place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Location, location, location! This hotel is located grand central in the middle of the most desirable area for shopping and dining in Duluth, MN, and is also located on the shore of Lake Superior. Lakeside rooms have decks or patios overlooking the lake.

The room, as well as the bathroom, was tastefully decorated, roomy and clean. Breakfast was relatively standard, but good enough. The lobby is beautiful with a great view of the lake. The pool area was also nice. However, the exercise room was quite small.

The only glitch we had, there was a girl's hockey tournament going on, and so there were children running and yelling in the hallways at all hours of the day and night. I cannot blame the Comfort Inn for this...(parents: pretty please teach your kids about the rules of hotel etiquette), so I would suggest you call ahead to make sure nothing like this is scheduled at the hotel during your visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We appreciate hearing such kind words. We have added a few things to our fitness center, and hope that you will check them out on your next trip back to town! Again, thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    97
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
156
98
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have stayed at Comfort Suites Canal Park several times in the past few years. Each time I have enjoyed my stay and left wanting to stay there again in the future. From the first point of calling for a reservation the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. Breakfast was great and had many options for a variety of tastes. Most recently our team stayed here for a hockey tournament. I would definitely recommend this hotel for large group trips as they have many spaces to accommodate group meetings and social events.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback on our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Looked for a off peak season place to stay near the lift bridge and highly considered the four hotels located right off of Canal Park. We really wanted a hot tub room, facing the (frigid January) Lake Superior. When we found that the Comfort Suites was the cheapest, and also the closest to Canal Park, we jumped on it.

During check in, the front desk informed us that we were going to be upgraded due to plumbing repair that would need to be preformed on our selected room the following day. We ended up getting the top of the line Suite with a Jacuzzi, Balcony, and Fireplace for the lesser price (Which was already MUCH cheaper than other Hotels near Canal Park). Awesome deal. As the other reviews mention, the King Sized bed was very comfortable. The strange thing about the Hotel however, was that it was unusually empty. While it was freezing cold in January and everything touristy was closed, the other 3 Hotels appeared to be very well booked. The Comfort Suites was nearly empty.

The free Breakfast was nice, but some of the food was inedible. (Lets invest in some real eggs!) We didn't have a problem with the (free) Internet's speed, but we didn't bother using Netflix or anything demanding. Would stay here again, but would never be able to afford the same room during high tourist season.

Room Tip: Units in the newer wing are a lot nicer. These rooms are usually the ones that are more expensive wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thanks for such kind words! I'm so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading our breakfast products and hope that you will enjoy them a bit more on your next trip. Again, we appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Canal Park area is a nice place to stay, this property is located in a nice spot. The rooms are a little worn out as is the lobby. Pretty good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thanks for your comments! We are going to be undergoing several renovations within the next year and are excited to show our guests the finished product. We hope that you will come back and check them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Great location! Excellent staff. Super friendly and super clean. The only downside is that we had literally the first room on the first floor right next to the lobby. This room was in the older section of the hotel and was definitely a little dated. The pull out couch was not at all comfortable and the accomadations were tight. However, my friends had a room on the 3rd floor in the newer addition and it was awesome. The staff and the location and the friendliness of everyone totally made up for a bad pull out bed. The view was outstanding and the one benefit of the first floor room was making it out to the beach walk in under a minute!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thanks for such great feedback! I'm sorry to hear that you found the sofa sleeper to be uncomfortable. However, I'm so glad to hear that the rest of your stay made up for it. Our balcony suites in the new addition are definitely a fantastic upgrade--especially on a warm spring day. I welcome you to come back and try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orr, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location right next to the Lift Bridge is great. The room (with 1 king-size bed) was clean and modern with a nice sofa sitting area; the bathroom was very spacious. The breakfast was good and offered in a nice space looking out at Lake Superior.

My credit card was charged 24 hours in advance of my reservation, so if I didn't cancel before then, I'd be charged for at least one night. I can accept this practice if I'm booking a resort during high season, but this is very low season for Duluth. There were just a handful of people staying overnight when I was there. If I had cancelled by 6:00 the night of my stay (as for most hotels) they wouldn't have lost money due to my preventing someone else from booking the room.

My pet peeve: there was a $1.50/night safe fee. I did notice this at registration and declined to pay, but how many people don't? It's a sleazy way to make a few extra bucks.

The staff was quite ho-hum every time I approached the desk.

Normally I stay at the Inn on Lake Superior, which is next door. They offer a nice off-season rate through the Northland Coupon book. This year, Comfort Suites offered the same deal. So, I thought I'd try it and see how I liked it. I'll be going back to the Inn from now on. The ambience there is friendlier and offers more amenities than does the Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I appreciate your feedback, but I'd like to clarify a few points to avoid confusion on your next reservation. We have a 24 cancellation policy. It is true that we run a "pre authorization" on your credit cards 2 days prior to when you arrive--this is to ensure your room for late arrival. This pre authorization is released should you need to cancel your reservation for any reason prior to 6pm the night before you are expected to arrive. As for the safe fee, I understand that this policy may be viewed as frustrating. We certainly aren't trying to be "sleazy," we simply want to give our guests the privacy of carrying valuables without our knowledge. The safes were put in the rooms after we had many guest requests for them. We allow the charge to be seperate from the room rate to allow our guests to adjust this fee, rather than including in the rate as many hotels do. The fee can be refused at any point while you are here. I'm sorry to hear that you won't be staying with us again; we would love for you to give us another try sometime! If you have any further comments or suggestions, I welcome you to contact me. Again, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I enjoyed my 5 day stay, the room, the staff, and the spa was the correct temperature of 104c. I was able to conduct business 1800. miles away in the comfort of my room and the front desk was very attentive. The sitting area on the main floor over looked the lake.

Yes I will return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our spa is a fantastic way to relax after a busy day of work; I'm glad that you were able to enjoy it! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Family Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.