We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY FOR A GOOD DEAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Bluffton, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY FOR A GOOD DEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I enjoyed my 5 day stay, the room, the staff, and the spa was the correct temperature of 104c. I was able to conduct business 1800. miles away in the comfort of my room and the front desk was very attentive. The sitting area on the main floor over looked the lake.

Yes I will return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our spa is a fantastic way to relax after a busy day of work; I'm glad that you were able to enjoy it! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    85
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
142
89
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I would highly recommend staying at Comfort Suites Canal Park! Our room was ready early for us as i had some minor surgery in Duluth and needed to rest after. The staff was wonderful and very welcoming. The room was clean even in the corners of the room. The bed had fresh, clean sheets and the mattress was very comfortable and pillows were soft and clean. Breakfast was excellent with numerous choices! Hot scrambled eggs that were great along with many other choices. Location allowed us to walk to Bentleyville (would highly recommend) and available restaurants in the area. We plan to stay here again next year. Comfort Suites is excellent all around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location, Walked the boardwalk, watched the bridge go up and a ship full of grain go by.
Breakfast was poor and we had to wait for the main items to be replenished. Coffee was empty all the time. Room felt crowded with a chair and sofa in the small suite. Elevator is very slow and the stairs to the third floor are at either end of the building. Woke up by ships blowing horn for the bridge.

Room Tip: Lake side rooms have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janell M, General Manager at Comfort Suites Canal Park, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I'm so sorry to hear that we ran out of coffee for you. It is offered 24 hours a day; and while we try to keep an eye on it, it can sometimes go quicker than expected. Please let us know if we are out and we would be more than happy to replenish it with a few fresh pots. We realize that the bridge horn may be startling if you aren't expecting it, but it's a Duluth trademark--perhaps a blessing and a curse! Again, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Comfort Suites has a great location. The room was comfortable and had a very nice view. I paid a little extra for a lake view room. I was visiting friends so I ended up only spending a total of maybe 6 hours in the room, so next time I would maybe just pay a little less and stay in a city view room. If you are going to be spending a lot of time in the room though I would definitely recomment springing for the lake view. Again, the location is great and you can walk to many bars and shops. It is very quiet and seems secure. When I got back to the hotel at about 2am I saw security walking the halls so things are definitely looked after. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those traveling to the Duluth area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family took an overnight trip to Duluth and wanted to stay close to Canal Park. We were thrilled with everything about the Comfort Suites.

Location: The hotel is the last one, closest to the lighthouse. We literally went down the stairs and were on the lake walk. We walked to everything, Grandma's Restaurant, Dairy Queen, shopping, the museum, lift bridge, light house, and beach.

Check in/out: The front desk was super friendly and helpful. Both check in and check out went quickly and smoothly.

Room: Upon arrival we were given the choice of a 1st or 3rd floor room. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we went with the 3rd floor. The view from the balcony was amazing. The room was spacious, having 2 queen beds and a pull out couch. Our family of 5 was more than comfortable. The refrigerator and microwave were great to have. The bathroom was well stocked and very clean. Hot water was more than plentiful and the water pressure was fantastic.

Pool: Was clean, with 2 hot tub, towels were well stocked and plentiful. The kids enjoyed the time that they spent there. There was also an exercise room that we didn't use, but looked above average, having a variety of machines to choose from.

Food: We were pleasantly surprised that in the evening they had free meatballs available in the breakfast area. They also had beverages available for purchase. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was available free of charge throughout our stay. The breakfast far exceeded our expectations! Not only were there scrambled eggs, donuts, toast, yogurt, cereal, etc., but also 4 waffle makers, including a spice flavor for the fall. Everything was delicious!

This hotel was a fantastic place for us to stay and was extremely welcoming. There are bikes that can be rented, books and games available in the lobby, and very friendly, helpful, and hard working staff. We will definitely return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer area have a fantastic view, with a balcony, and seemed to be larger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is the 2nd time my wife and me have stayed here..
It's her favorite place to stay in Duluth, right next to the lake,
You can hear the waves crash against the rocks with a lake side view.
The room is clean and comfortable, Wireless Internet is good..
We stayed on the 3nd floor, to get a better view,
Breakfast is very good, waffles, eggs, bacon, dry cereal, coffee, jucies..
My wife and me used the lake walk path and went all the the way over to
Fitzgers and back,..
Plus there is plenty to do in the Canal Park area..
Being my wife's favorite hotel, we will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I've stayed at the Comfort Suites Canal Park twice in the last several years and can hardly wait to go back. On both occasions, my mother and I had chosen to visit Duluth and the hotel was a big part of our trip as we weren't planning to shop. We chose to pay the small amount extra for a lakeview room, and the difference was worth every cent, especially on the second occasion when we also enjoyed a balcony. In each case, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet, with all the conveniences of a microwave and fridge, along with separate sitting area. The pool and hot tub area is attractive and, mid week, almost empty, like having your own personal pool. The complimentary breakfast was a nice addition, and the choices offered as hot selections were good. I'd happily recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.