We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Canal Park

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Grand Marais
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We have never stayed in Canal Park before we absolutely loved the room it was very spacious and cozy and really clean the bed was comfy balcony was great with a super view to watch ships come in we actually heard the ships horn blow at 3am we jumped up and ran out to the balcony to watch it we thought it was so neat all lit up. The room actually was really quiet usually you hear people talking or doors banging we heard none of that. The staff was very friendly we will definately stay here again would have stayed a second night but got called away for work we didn't want to leave. It was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    86
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
143
90
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

we stayed in the jacuzzi suite room in december 2010... the room was BEAUTIFUL and we didnt even want to leave lol :) you could see the lake right out front our balcony it was amazing and seen the boats come in at night!! we thought how beautiful it must be in the summer especially having a balcony... were going the be back in the same room in a few days (april 1 2011) and cant wait our, first trip was awesome!! close to everything and room was spic and span! get the jacuzzi suite with fireplace you'll love it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My son (age 4), daughter (age 8) and I recently spent 2 nights at the Comfort Suites for a mini vacation to Duluth.

The location was great! We were just a block away from a variety of restaurant choices and shops, steps from the lift bridge and minutes away from the acquarium and downtown. We chose a "lakeview" room which was worth the price. Watching the waves crash on the shoreline during a winter storm was impressive and once the storm passed it was fun to watch the ships come in and out of the harbor. While we didn't open the windows in winter, I can imagine that it would be great to open them up and listen to the waves in the summer.

Our room (two queens in the "older" part of the hotel) was very comfortable for the three of us. If you are planning on spending a lot of time in the room, it might be a little cozy, but for us it was great. The bathroom was certainly looking a little tired (e.g., finishes wearing off the drain, etc.), but was otherwise functional and comfortable.

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise. We found the hotel to be pretty quiet. Certainly you could hear people talking loudly in the hall or closing a door right next to you, but I have yet to find a hotel that is completely soundproof (and I travel extensively for work). The noise was certainly NOT a problem for us.

The pool, two hot tubs and the free breakfast were GREAT for traveling with two kids. Acknowledging that we were visiting on weekdays, we never found the pool to be crowded and appreciated the options for breakfast (cereal, pastries, yogurt, waffles, etc).

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other families.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Comfort Suites is a wonderful hotel! We stayed in a room with a balcony on the lake. We highly recommend getting a room with a balcony as they are in the new addition of the hotel. The room was very nice, clean and had a wonderful view! The balcony had a small table and chairs to relax. Great place to watch the ships come in/out. The hotel has a great location in Canal Park. It allows you to leave the car and walk to most attractions and restaurants. The complimentary breakfast is nice. It includes hot foods and make your own waffles. Nice extra!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Pros: Clean, modern rooms (stay in the new addition!) friendly and helpful from desk, cozy ambiance, walking distance to several restaurants, free and yummy breakfast and "grab & go" options. Love the free parking lot and location.

Cons: Older section very dated, wifi never would connect despite troubleshooting, ethernet cord was made available.

Will return for business. Great experience and safe, cozy and clean.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I cannot say enough about the service from the team at this motel. From check-in (recommendations for late night food) to suggestions of things to do the next morning and the greetings from the cleaning staff...the list goes on and on!
We had a very nice stay and enjoyed the view of the lake from our room. The room was clean, bed was comfortable but there were signs of the age/use of the particular room we stayed in. All things considered though, we'd stay here again but I'd prefer the rate to be about $25/night less for the overall experience to be worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This has to be one of the best hotels/locations we have stayed at. This is right next to the harbor bridge and the lake. They have a patio lake side that you can kick back and watch the boats come in and people walking on the trails. The staff was amazing. They had "happy hour" where you could grab a drink and some eats and set outside. Breakfast was top notch...again, grab it and go outside. See a trend here. The kids enjoyed the pool. Once you park and parking was just fine. You don't need your car again. Everything was within walking distance and there were plenty of shops and places to eat and drink along the way. We bought zoo tickets here for a reduced price (had to drive to the zoo) and they gave us coupons for the places to eat around it. We used points to pay for this room, but would pay rack rate if we were heading to Duluth again. Rooms were great. We had a lake view (no balcony) with 2 beds and a couch. Room had a fridge and I am thinking a microwave, but we didn't spend very much time in the room at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Canal Park

Address: 408 Canal Park Dr., Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Canal Park 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Canal Park is near Lake Superior, Canal Park, historic Aerial Lift Bridge, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center, University of Minnesota Duluth and Glensheen, the Historic Congdon Estate, "Duluth's American Castle." Spirit Mountain, Duluth International Airport and the University of Wisconsin-Superior are located just 10 miles from this Duluth, MN hotel. The hotel is also walking distance from Lake Superior Marine Museum, Carnival Thrillz Family Entertainment Center and the Great Lakes Floating Maritime Museum, featuring the S.S. William A Irvin ore boat. Miller Hill Mall, North Shore Scenic Railroad and Enger Park Golf Course are additional points of interest in the area. The numerous gift shops and antique stores in downtown Duluth are also just blocks away. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Canal Park the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Enjoy an invigorating splash in the indoor heated pool and hot tub. Unwind on the veranda and gazebo overlooking Canal Park, or sit on the lakeside patio and watch ships enter the canal. Doing business is a pleasure in the conference room. Up to 30 people can be accommodated, and the meeting room is equipped with adjustable lighting, audio/visual equipment and free coffee. Business travelers also appreciate high-speed Internet access in all rooms, free local calls and access to fax and copy machines. Rely on this Duluth, MN hotel for relaxing, stylish rooms filled with all the luxuries one can imagine. Rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, sofa sleepers, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. Several luxury suites feature whirlpool bathtubs and romantic views of the surrounding lake and park. A guest laundry facility is also available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Comfort Suites Canal Park provides friendly customer service, inviting accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Duluth, Minnesota area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Canal Park Hotel Duluth
Comfort Suites Duluth Mn
Comfort Suite Canal Park Duluth
Duluth Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.