We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookie Cutter Hotel that Distinguishes Itself with Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cookie Cutter Hotel that Distinguishes Itself with Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Fairfield Inns are safe and predictable. The layout, furniture, and amenities are almost always the same. What separates the good ones are location and service. Here, the location is decent, and the service is excellent.

The location is between downtown and the airport, in the "Miller Hill" shopping area. We needed a place close to the airport, so this was perfect. There are plenty of shopping and dining options immediately surrounding the hotel.

The facility is typical. It is a three story hotel, with the lobby immediately in front, and the breakfast area off to the side. We left before breakfast was served, so I cannot comment about that. In the rear of the hotel was an indoor pool and hot tub. We didn't use either, but both looked very clean.

The room was typical Fairfield, from the bedding to the furniture. The bed was comfortable, and the television stations were decent. We had a great night's sleep.

However, the best thing about this place was the service. The hotel had no problem checking us in several hours early, were very friendly whenever we entered and exited the hotel, and even served us cookies in the evening. They even made sure we didn't need a cab in the morning for our early flight (we didn't - we rented a car). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIDuluth, Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, December 26, 2010
Thank you so much for your glowing report on our staff’s excellent service. It makes me so proud of them to know that they made your stay comfortable and friendly. –E. Betzold GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
21
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I managed to book a room in Duluth at he Fairfield Inn the Sunday of the Labour Day weekend through priceline for $65. Upon arrival, the check in was easy and the front desk clerk was very friendly and genuinely happy to be at her job - you don't see that a lot!
The rooms were spacious - two queen beds, plenty of space, flatscreen tv, microwave and fridge...nice!
Free wi-fi that was fast and we enjoyed a fabulous continental breakfast which included waffles, cereals, pastries, breads, fruit and even sausage,egg and cheese sandwiches.
Shopping at the mall is directly across the street and for those quick store trips, a Wal-Greens in directly in front of the hotel.
This was a great hotel stay, we didn't utilize the pool but the families in there certainly were enjoying themselves. Oh and free parking....after being hosed $37 for two nights in downtown Minneapolis for two nights of parking, this little bit of freebie made me very happy.

Overall, great rooms, great price and exceptionally friendly staff at both check in and check out. I will definitely book here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIDuluth, Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know how your stay was. I’m proud that our staff set the stage for a great stay. We offer great deals all year to be found on the Visit Duluth hot deals web page too. We also offer 20% off our regular rates for our neighbors traveling in from Canada during all times of the year. This allows your dollars to go further in spite of the exchange rate. We are not able to take Canadian funds, but that pretax 20% off really makes up for that. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

This was a decent stay.

The room was reasonably clean. They have an arrangement with a fitness center about 5 miles away, which we used.

This would be a pretty non-memorable stay.

If you're passing through and the rate is good, I'd say go for it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Had 4 nights here as part of a longer trip. Slightly disappointed to realise how far it was from Canal Park in view of the parking difficulties at times. Was initially doubtful as to whether the beds had been changed as the linen was so very crumpled and the room cleaning was not very efficiently rectified by possibly summer staff although I understand this latter point has been attended to.
Very friendly front of house staff.
Overerall perfectly adequate rooms and comfortable beds and good value compared to the high prices near the water.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

This is an excellent property with clean, quiet, comfortable rooms and super accomodating, friendly staff. The location is excellent for shopping as it is right in the middle of the major shopping district in Duluth. The Miller Hill Mall is right across the street and there are numerous big box and brand name stores within two miles. If you were interested in the historic/Canal Park elements of Duluth it's really only a 10-15 minute drive to downtown. There is a Buffalo Wildwings restaurant right next door, Perkins, Olive Garden and Texas Roadhouse are right across the street. Several other steak/sports bar/roadhouse style restaurants are a short distance away. There is a liquor store and grocery store on the other side of the hotel. Parking is somewhat limited and can be sparse or unavailable if you arrive later at night. We did not partake of the breakfast but I did notice cereal, toast, bagels and prepackaged egg-mcmuffin-type things. The coffee downstairs is definitely better than the stuff you can make in your room. We did not use the pool or hot-tub. Some of the rooms have fridges and microwaves but you have to request them. Overall we enjoyed our 3-night stay very much. We did not experience any problems using the Free WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We stayed one night at the Fairfield Inn Duluth right before Christmass 2009. Room was very nice, although the bathroom had a few minor issues. Breakfast was great and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Fairfield was great! Clean rooms, fabulous continental breakfast including Belgian waffles and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#13 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.