We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is updated and fresh for its category of roadside lodging. The lobby is nice and modern, rooms very clean and colorful. Convenient: across from shopping center. The only downside is the dire indoor pool. Space could be better served as wine bar/restaurant.

Room Tip: Upper floors always
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    35
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
22
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family had a great night's sleep (isn't it what really matters?) at this hotel. It meets the Marriott standards. The room is clean and the beds are comfortable (even the pull-out soft bed). The hotel is in a convenient location (with Cubs food and shopping mall nearby) and very quiet during the night. The front desk staff is friendly and the breakfast served its purpose (we did not have to wait or anything like that). Will I book this hotel for a weekend romantic getaway? Probably not. However, I would definitely stay it again for future trips to North shore and Duluth area.

Room Tip: High floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm pleased to hear you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nothing to really review. It was an average Fairfield Inn. The rooms were clean and the bedding was comfort. The air conditioner worked well.

The only thing I would complain about was that they made a bid to do about now having scrambled eggs and sausage for breakfast. Only....they ran out and I waited for over 15 minutes and finally gave up and had to go.

Overall a very average Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake Falls, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently stayed at the Fairfield in Duluth to celebrate 20 year wedding anniversary. The hotel itself was nice. The room was clean and met our needs. Taya at the front desk was amazing! Loved that they had cookies and coffee, tea or hot chocolate 24 hours a day. She went above and beyond helping us find bike rentals and getting a taxi to go down to canal park. Only a couple things that would have made the stay better. A shuttle that went to canal park as it is only about 4 miles and would save money for the people staying. Also the breakfast was not kept well stocked. Ran out of hot food alot and wasn't refilled therefore second morning we went out for breakfast.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which was nice as after reading other reviews if you were on the bottom two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a Marriott, I was disappointed. Staff seemed like they could care less. When we arrived, desk clerk was on a personal call and we had to stand and wait for her to finally hang up and check us in. Hotel layout seemed dated by anyones standards. There aren't allot of options in the area, but I'd probably look elsewhere the next time I go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It seems you confused my kind and friendly reponses with a long time guest with a personal phone call. E. Betzold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Don't mistake this for a newer property w/ larger spaces.

This property looked kept but tired. Guest rooms are small. Staff's attitude was absolute indifference - - from the front desk to the breakfast support. Sorry for interrupting your phone call.

Not worth the $250/night.

Sorry Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

2 Adults, 2 Teems... Hotel was clean. Staff were mixed (better Thurs) worse Fri. Brought us extra pillows right away. Beds were VERY hard. A/C-Fan was loud. Near the airport so noisy (unless you like military jet noise). Pool was smaller and quite cold, hot tub was very hot and smaller also, pool area was clean.

Fairly loud, and floors shook/moved. Overall not bad but not great either.

Room Tip: Get top floor so no one is dancing on your head. Ask for LOTS of extra pillows unless you like a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.