We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hard Beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

2 Adults, 2 Teems... Hotel was clean. Staff were mixed (better Thurs) worse Fri. Brought us extra pillows right away. Beds were VERY hard. A/C-Fan was loud. Near the airport so noisy (unless you like military jet noise). Pool was smaller and quite cold, hot tub was very hot and smaller also, pool area was clean.

Fairly loud, and floors shook/moved. Overall not bad but not great either.

Room Tip: Get top floor so no one is dancing on your head. Ask for LOTS of extra pillows unless you like a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
20
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent the night at this hotel on our way to Canada. There was a marathon going on in Duluth, and our decision to stay overnite in Duluth was a last minute decision, so it was difficult to get reservations anywhere. First of all, this hotel is expensive for what you get. It was over $200 for the nite. If you are trailering a boat, there is no convenient parking. In fact, you should not even drive up to the front of the hotel with your trailer because the only way out is to back up across the parking lot and down a hill into traffic.(making a three point turn with your trailer in the parking lot is practically impossible) The parking lot has only one entrance. Park in the lot that belongs to the mall below the hotel. (the Fairfield is at the top of a hill) Then you will need to climb up the grass slope to the hotel's entrance or walk to the sidewalk below the hotel and climb up the hill to the entrance. If one is arriving with just a vehicle, you will not have this problem, but, the parking lot is small; which may result in one having to park in the mall parking lot anyway. Restaurants nearby are Buffalo Wild Wings, Perkins and a Starbucks that does not open early in the morning on a Saturday. We had breakfast at Perkins, it was good. The room was comfortable and clean, the beds were fine. The hotel was quiet and we slept well. Their only detriments are really their location and the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have used the Fairfield Inn for various business meeting. They are always great to deal with. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is clean recently remodeled. The manager is great about getting out into the community and building relationships. Great hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms are redone and have great bedding. They have squeezed in a new fitness room that has two treads, an elliptical and free weights. Fitness room could be a little bigger but it is better than nothing.

Breakfast is typical Fairfield Inn fare.

Satisfied. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is by far the nicest Fairfield I have need to. They have a riendly staff and rooms are very clean. Very Good fitness equipment with a microwave and fridge/freezer in my room. Thank you Fairfield and Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent three nights for business since my usual hotel was sold out. This Marriott property needed some updating which unfortunately was occuring while I was there. Overall, rooms were clean and comfortable but in need of new furniture. Everything was functional. Microwave and refrigerator was nice to have. Internet speed could be better but was still functional. Morning continental breakfast was as expected: Cereal, toast/muffin, pastries, yogurt, and whole fruit (bananas, apples, oranges). They also had a waffle station, microwavable breakfast sandwiches, microwavable oatmeal, and hard boiled eggs. Nothing fancy but good enough to provide nourishment for the morning. Staff were all frendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the mall so you have many choices for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Duluth many times but never by the mall. As soon as I walked in I should have turn right back around and out. But I had a 2yr old and no time to find another place. First of all the place is currently under construction which they DID NOT mention at the time of booking. It was completely torn apart and missing vending/ ice machines. Second I asked for a room near the pool and they gave me a second level room. I of coursed switched. Third the pool is not child friendly. The only way in and out are by ladders. Must be able to swim or be tall enough. Last the shower filled up with water while you showered because ut was clogged. Breakfast was decent. Location is good. Room was clean. Price was extreamly high for its condition. And staff was friendly but chose not to go above or beyond unless you made it known. Never again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry you were here when we were redoing the tile in the lobby. I wanted to let you know that our renovations are finished and the place looks great. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#11 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.