We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield Inn, Duluth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fairfield Inn, Duluth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent the night at this hotel on our way to Canada. There was a marathon going on in Duluth, and our decision to stay overnite in Duluth was a last minute decision, so it was difficult to get reservations anywhere. First of all, this hotel is expensive for what you get. It was over $200 for the nite. If you are trailering a boat, there is no convenient parking. In fact, you should not even drive up to the front of the hotel with your trailer because the only way out is to back up across the parking lot and down a hill into traffic.(making a three point turn with your trailer in the parking lot is practically impossible) The parking lot has only one entrance. Park in the lot that belongs to the mall below the hotel. (the Fairfield is at the top of a hill) Then you will need to climb up the grass slope to the hotel's entrance or walk to the sidewalk below the hotel and climb up the hill to the entrance. If one is arriving with just a vehicle, you will not have this problem, but, the parking lot is small; which may result in one having to park in the mall parking lot anyway. Restaurants nearby are Buffalo Wild Wings, Perkins and a Starbucks that does not open early in the morning on a Saturday. We had breakfast at Perkins, it was good. The room was comfortable and clean, the beds were fine. The hotel was quiet and we slept well. Their only detriments are really their location and the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
16
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have used the Fairfield Inn for various business meeting. They are always great to deal with. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The hotel is clean recently remodeled. The manager is great about getting out into the community and building relationships. Great hotel!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms are redone and have great bedding. They have squeezed in a new fitness room that has two treads, an elliptical and free weights. Fitness room could be a little bigger but it is better than nothing.

Breakfast is typical Fairfield Inn fare.

Satisfied. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is by far the nicest Fairfield I have need to. They have a riendly staff and rooms are very clean. Very Good fitness equipment with a microwave and fridge/freezer in my room. Thank you Fairfield and Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Spent three nights for business since my usual hotel was sold out. This Marriott property needed some updating which unfortunately was occuring while I was there. Overall, rooms were clean and comfortable but in need of new furniture. Everything was functional. Microwave and refrigerator was nice to have. Internet speed could be better but was still functional. Morning continental breakfast was as expected: Cereal, toast/muffin, pastries, yogurt, and whole fruit (bananas, apples, oranges). They also had a waffle station, microwavable breakfast sandwiches, microwavable oatmeal, and hard boiled eggs. Nothing fancy but good enough to provide nourishment for the morning. Staff were all frendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the mall so you have many choices for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Duluth many times but never by the mall. As soon as I walked in I should have turn right back around and out. But I had a 2yr old and no time to find another place. First of all the place is currently under construction which they DID NOT mention at the time of booking. It was completely torn apart and missing vending/ ice machines. Second I asked for a room near the pool and they gave me a second level room. I of coursed switched. Third the pool is not child friendly. The only way in and out are by ladders. Must be able to swim or be tall enough. Last the shower filled up with water while you showered because ut was clogged. Breakfast was decent. Location is good. Room was clean. Price was extreamly high for its condition. And staff was friendly but chose not to go above or beyond unless you made it known. Never again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry you were here when we were redoing the tile in the lobby. I wanted to let you know that our renovations are finished and the place looks great. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Nice staff. Was welcomed with fruit and cookies...yum! But the building was being worked on, so had to deal with that. Ironically they gave us the room at the end of a hall where they were doing construction...While most other rooms were empty. So, I have to take off some points since we could hear the noise. Overall, a quiet hotel. Breakfast was just ok. Didn't have much variety. They didn't even have plain oatmeal. They had everything to blend with the oatmeal, but the plain oatmeal itself. That should be a staple at any continental breakfast. But overall, was a fine hotel for the night. We got good sleep...so we were satisified.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#12 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.