We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would not stay here again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in Duluth many times but never by the mall. As soon as I walked in I should have turn right back around and out. But I had a 2yr old and no time to find another place. First of all the place is currently under construction which they DID NOT mention at the time of booking. It was completely torn apart and missing vending/ ice machines. Second I asked for a room near the pool and they gave me a second level room. I of coursed switched. Third the pool is not child friendly. The only way in and out are by ladders. Must be able to swim or be tall enough. Last the shower filled up with water while you showered because ut was clogged. Breakfast was decent. Location is good. Room was clean. Price was extreamly high for its condition. And staff was friendly but chose not to go above or beyond unless you made it known. Never again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry you were here when we were redoing the tile in the lobby. I wanted to let you know that our renovations are finished and the place looks great. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
15
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Nice staff. Was welcomed with fruit and cookies...yum! But the building was being worked on, so had to deal with that. Ironically they gave us the room at the end of a hall where they were doing construction...While most other rooms were empty. So, I have to take off some points since we could hear the noise. Overall, a quiet hotel. Breakfast was just ok. Didn't have much variety. They didn't even have plain oatmeal. They had everything to blend with the oatmeal, but the plain oatmeal itself. That should be a staple at any continental breakfast. But overall, was a fine hotel for the night. We got good sleep...so we were satisified.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver City, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel has a lot to offer many people, but the service was terrible. I am a customer , who loves Marriott hotels... I couldn't believe that some of them workers got a job in the hotel... I was ready too rip my hair out a few times. Now is time for the main thing people would read: would you go back because of the location: yes. Would you go back because its a nice clean hotel: yes! I'm am hesitant on some of the workers though otherwise I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here because our usual hotel was booked. This hotel is located near all the places we wanted to shop at. It is an average hotel that is showing wear. We didn't use the pool or fitness centre as they were both monopolized by a visiting hockey team. Breakfast was ok. The best thing about the hotel was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful. This isn't my first choice to stay, but would consider it again, if needed.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the parking lot if you are concerned about seeing your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Alberta, Caada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is close to everything! Shopping, dining and the airport. Staff is great. Complimentary breakfast was good enough to get the morning going. This is my location for when I have an early flight out of Duluth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a good place to stay if you want to be near the mall. It is an older hotel and the room shows signs of aging. Fitness center is small. Breakfast was fine. Will stay there again, but it is overpriced for the quality of the room. It is nothing great but certainly nothing horrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is right across the street from the Miller Hill Mall. The continental breakfast is very good with waffles and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. The room is quite small and sometimes you need to wait for a table. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The hallways make the hotel seem old with the carpet lifting and bumpy on the second and third floor. Very small but nice exercise room with new equipment. The pool was freezing cold and we could only sit in the hottub. Our visit was for shopping so the location fit our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_Inn_Duluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for talking about our hotel on TripAdvisor. The Miller Hill Mall and other shopping is one of the reasons that guests choose us. You will be pleased to know that our renovations taking place at the end of this year will be beautiful. Thanks, Ellen Betzold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield
Duluth Fairfield Inn
Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.