We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Duluth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Duluth to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Duluth
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I recently stayed at this Fairfield Inn while visiting family in the area. I think Marriott has done a good job of targeting the budget-minded traveler with this chain. This seems to be a newer property, my room was in very good condition. The room had a flat screen TV with HD channels which was a nice surprise. The front desk and housekeeping staff could not have been more "Minnesota Nice". The price I paid was good value for the money especially compared to the nearby Country Inn which I had stayed at in the past. The only downside with this property is it did not have an exercise room onsite, and there was not a place to hang my full length coat. But this would not keep me from staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIDuluth, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on creating a Minnesota Nice experience for our guests. Exciting news as well, on the installation of a FITNESS CENTER in our hotel, we should have it up and running by January 2012, or sooner. Thank you, E. Betzold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
23
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Nothing fancy, but nice, clean, and well worth the price, especially if you book online... The staff was extremely courteous helpful, from suggestions for eating places in town to researching charter boats, they went out of their way. Even brought out breakfast at 5am for my son and me - and the continental breakfast was one of the best I've seen!
Don't miss the Duluth Diner!!! (featured on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives...)

Room Tip: Book online for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed one night while paaing through Duluth. Good location, close to Miller Hill Mall. Room was okay, noisy air conditioner and the floor actually seemed to bounce when you walked across it. The furniture shook as you crossed the room, honest and I am not that heavy! Beds were very comfortable though. Breakfast was fine. Overall, average. Starting to look a little old.

Room Tip: Stayed in a 3rd floor room, which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Visiting family and wanted to use Marriott points. This hotel is a definite 9 on the Fairfield scale. Front desk check in was pleasant: Tyler was a nice young man who could converse without that annoying "hotel" dialog they use in the industry. The place was clean and quiet and breakfast adequate. We were in and out. We have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ab1465
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while visiting UM-Minnesota for my son. We are Hilton members and usually stay at Hamptons, but the Hampton was $50 more so we thought we'd try this Fairfield. It was all right. Everything was very clean, and there was a nice pool area. However, some of the rooms need some updating (re-painting of walls), etc. When I lifted the cover on the air conditioner to make it cooler, the whole piece came off in my hand (not just the cover!) The breakfast area is not very big- I would try to avoid getting breakfast during the last 60 minutes of the breakfast time frame. The staff were very nice, though. Overall, it was fine for our purposes, and a good value. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you want to stay in Duluth in summer without being charged an arm and a leg, this is the place to go. We had a very good rate from Priceline and this is our second stay in this property.

It's Fairfield Inn, so don't expect anything grand, but everything they do here is efficient and in a friendly manner. Checking in was a breeze, the pool was adequately clean, and the staff was mostly friendly. The free breakfast is definitely a plus for me; nothing fancy, just some muffin, bagel, make-your-own waffle, cereal, juice, milk, and heat-your-own bacon and egg muffin. I have no issues with the Internet here; we even did a video conference with no issues.

I'll definitely stay here again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Only here for a night but at check-in, the desk staff were very friendly and thanked us more then once for staying and reminded us to let them know if we needed anything. Clean comfortable room, average light breakfast, everything fit our needs well. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFIDuluth, Manager at Fairfield Inn Duluth, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, E Betzold General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
3.3 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Duluth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Duluth

Address: 901 Joshua Avenue, Duluth, MN 55811
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Duluth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Duluth hotel is a comfortable, convenient choice among Duluth, MN hotels. Conveniently close to shopping at Miller Hill Mall, and located just 3 miles from Duluth International Airport, each of our contemporary hotel rooms and suites is equipped with a flat screen HDTVs, luxurious bedding, and refrigerators and microwaves. Recharge in our fitness room and relax in our indoor pool, or catch your favorite show with in room HBO. Breathe easy in our non smoking hotel. Just 7 miles from Universities, AMSOIL Arena and Canal Park tourist attractions. Enjoy a trip up the North Shore Scenic Drive or visit the popular Glensheen Mansion, Lake Superior Zoo and Great Lakes Aquarium, just minutes away. We are pleased to provide our guests with complimentary wireless internet access, as well as our complimentary hot breakfast daily. As one of the pet friendly Duluth hotels, we are happy to welcome your furry companions in our first floor rooms. The Fairfield Inn Duluth is an excellent choice for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Duluth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Duluth Hotel Duluth
Fairfield Duluth
Duluth Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Duluth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.