We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the worst hotel to stay in. We booked a pool side room. We arrived and was told we were upgraded to a better room. The "upgraded" room we were put in was horrible. Our tv didn't work in the "upgraded", their solution was to put us in a conjoined room with a loud obnoxious group of teenage girls.
The front desk was able to call and talk to the manager but he refused to talk to us. Oh and maintenance only works til 3pm after that they don't assist with problems in the hotel.
Don't waste your money here, it's not with it. This place is so mismanaged.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    67
    51
    45
See reviews for
133
58
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My husband&our 4kids plus one and others in family(8more)came for two nights on mini vacation. We had 4rooms and they were very accomadating to making everybody comfortable. Younger front desk people during day shift were sooo nice&all housekeeping staff were very friendly&helpfull:) This morning when we were all packing up kids and checking out,there was a younger blond haired gal that just walked up and offered to help my mom and sister carry bags out to van. So sweet and not like any other hotel we ever stayed at. Very impressive! Good breakfast in morning&laundry facilities(for fee)available was nice too:) We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our room location was awful, the beds were uncomfortable, wifi not so good, TV was fuzzy but the staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect for Spirit Mountain. The price to stay here is good for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. We do take issues such as those you mentioned incredibly seriously and our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. We are proud that our attentive staff was friendly and helpful to you and all of our guests. Also, our location to Spirit Mountain and our easy driving distance to downtown Duluth is always a plus for our customers. Concerning the room situation, our top-notch maintenance and housekeeping staff always do their very best to make sure the rooms have the highest degree of comfortableness, but we do apologize for any inconveniences experienced in this regard. If there is anything we can do to help with your next visit please do not hesitate to give us a call.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Canyon Anderson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The stay was very nice. Room was always clean. Staff was very friendly. The only downfall is there was not much choice for the breakfast and where you eat it can get very crowded. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed our overall amenities. Many guests enjoy our free continental breakfast selections, but we thank you for your input, nonetheless. If there is anything we can do to help with your next visit please do not hesitate to give us a call.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Canyon Anderson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the room was nice.hotel staff at on the other hand did not care at all about the fact that hockey teams were running up an down hlls screaming an pounding on the doors.when complained about the kids in the pool after the posted hours for kids the front desk said they have tried to get them to get out because of other complaints but they wouldn't listen an that its only another half hour until it closed for the night.parents down there getting drunk.we mine as well have been sleeping in the pool area itself.so nice when all your kids are woke up repeatedly an you have to be up at 5 am.absolutely awful stay.when I complained at checkout the front desk lady didn't want to hear about it.deffinately will not recommend this hotel to anyone or stay ever again.wifi hardly even worked also.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. We do take issues such as those you mentioned incredibly seriously and our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. We offer by reservation a multi-purpose room for guest use as well as a dining area in the lobby for guests wishing to congregate. However, we have to insist on a 10PM curfew in all public areas for the safety of all of our guests as well as a gradual “quiet zone” for the entire hotel after 10PM. We provide every group a chance to review such guidelines prior to the stay and prior to check-in so there are no surprises in regards to observing hotel policy. We also strive to have our staff be cordial and friendly in every situation even when enforcing policies.

Nonetheless, we do apologize for any inconveniences you mentioned.
We do hope, however, that you would be able to stay with us again in the future.

Canyon Anderson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had a free night stay for the jacuzzi suite. WS told the room goes for $130 a night. Thank god we got it for free as when you walk in all you saw were peanuts on the ground under the couch, dice, and pee stains on bathroom floor in front of the toilet. There was hair in the bathtub, jacuzzi wasn't bad but that was the best part of our stay. I made the reservation and never got an email confirmation like I was told, and didn't get a reciept when we checked out.will be checking my bank statement!!!!!!!!! Bed very uncomfortable we both woke up with bad backs, curtains didn't close all the way, we woke up to light in our room. My husband is also over 6 feet tall and had to limbo to shower. Again? I wouldn't pay this kinda money for them!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. We do take issues such as those you mentioned incredibly seriously and our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. We take care of each room thoroughly after a guest leaves, and each of our excellent housekeepers is expected to clean every room to a degree of excellent quality that is also checked afterwards by our housekeeping inspection staff. Nonetheless, we do apologize for the inconveniences you mentioned.

We do hope, however, that you would be able to stay with us again in the future.

Canyon Anderson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

They are not the best value Inn. We stayed as a hockey team and were charged $36 more per night than other teams. When we asked for the same rate the hotel staff said absolutely not. They were unwilling to listen and/or work with us. It was a dumpy hotel for too much money $115 per night. We would never stay there if given the choice.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, Front Office Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. We do take issues such as those you mentioned incredibly seriously and our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. We provide every group a chance to review their reservation including the group’s contracted pre-negotiated rate prior to the stay so there are no surprises. We strive to have our staff be cordial and friendly in every situation even when enforcing policies.

Nonetheless, we do apologize for any inconveniences you mentioned.
We do hope, however, that you would be able to stay with us again in the future.

Canyon Anderson
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.