We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End of AMBVI properties” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value to your Saves list
Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High End of AMBVI properties”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is the third AMBVI property I've stayed at and it was by far the best of the bunch. Considering this is a lower end chain based on providing a value stay i was very pleased with the setup of our room and the furnishings.

Check in was handled quickly and service was average to slightly above average. Breakfast was the standard fare, and was out early which earned points from us as we had planned to be on the road 30 minutes prior to the normal breakfast start time.

About the only possible negative is the place is on the side of a hill and parking is a bit of a challenge and would be a tough walk in for those with disabilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for luxury, I wouldn't recommend staying here, but if you just need a safe, clean, comfortable place to stay this works. A couple of down sides, a double room comes with two double beds that are smaller than queens, I would almost say 3/4 size. Although the bed was comfortable, the pillows were terrible. The rooms are slightly dated but our room was very clean. The hotel was quiet. I do like that the sink area is outside the bathroom. This was one of the cleanest bathrooms I have ever had a hotel, albeit it was small, but it served the purpose. The room was nice sized with a desk and a nice two person table. They try hard to have the "Up north" feel so it feels like it has a tiny bit of character. The breakfast room is small, although the breakfast is decent: coffee, juice, waffles, bagels, toast, cereal, fruit. You may just want to get there a tiny bit early. The check in staff was nice. The hotel is located on a pretty steep hill, so I wouldn't recommend it in regards to handicap access. There are two gas stations, a subway, a liquor store, and a McDonalds very close. In regards to location, it was super convenient to get to off of I-35. We paid 63.00 for our stay and I would say that was a great value for our accommodations. I didn't check out the pool area, but from the kids at the hotel, I could tell they were enjoying it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank amberbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The pictures of this hotel are very deceiving. Save your money and stay some where else. Everything is old and low quality. The breakfast was gross with only high sugar, high carb options. The beds were uncomfortable and the sheets wouldn't stay on the bed. The rooms were stuffy and had bad air flow. You are so close to the highway and a truck stop gas station that you can hear traffic, trucks, motorcycles through out the whole night. For the money we spent I would have rather stayed downtown or at canal park.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megschmidt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We will use your comments to help our operations in the future. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Johnston, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Rooms are dated, some leaking of the toilet, outlet issues, beds ok, poor pillow options. No irons in the room. Had to check out a small iron and ironing board from the front desk. Air mattresses offered rather than rollaways. The weekend rate is not worth the price. Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice pool/jacuzzi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We will use your comments to help our operations in the future. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Paid extra for a balcony room and got a first floor room with a broken screen door!


Noisy! Dogs barking at 4:30 am!


The only protein visible at the free breakfast was cream cheese! Whoops, peanut butter too!


Thank goodness it was just a place to sleep!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We will use your comments to help our operations in the future. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel needs renovation. Carpet in our room was coming up in the middle of the floor. Most everything in the room was showing a lot of wear and tear. We had a non-smoking room that smelled like smoke. Bathroom wasn't as clean as one would like to see.
WiFi did not work. Breakfast room was too small and understocked.
Only positive thing I can think of was the room had a great view overlooking the bay area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corn_planter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We look forward to and welcome all guest comments whether positive or negative. I do apologize for the concerns you had regarding your stay. We will use your comments to help our operations in the future. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I enjoyed staying here from the time I arrived until I left the next morning. The young man at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable with a Northern cabin-style decor that was different and fun. Being built on the side of a hill as it is could be a bit of a challenge for handicapped folks, but it certainly appeared ADA equipped.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclecofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsminn5, General Manager at Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
6.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
6.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value

Address: 9315 Westgate Blvd, Duluth, MN 55810 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Duluth Spirit Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Duluth Spirit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duluth Sprit Mountain Inn - Americas Best Value Hotel Duluth
Red Roof Inn Duluth
Duluth Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing